We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great road trip value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charter Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Charter Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Charter Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
922 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
“Great road trip value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was the perfect stop on our CA road trip near the National Parks. Not sure if it would be wise for actually visiting the parks but we stopped here on our way back home. Clean, simple, big rooms and good breakfast. Great choice for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    39
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
59
54
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is the second time our family has stayed here. I was in a regular room. My folks in a handicapped room. Wonderful in both cases. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast and the appetizer bar in the evening was very nice... We will stay here again! Thanks

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Georgia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Great beds. Very nice breakfast. Excellent coffee. Nice happy hour. Superb service. Brandon is an asset to the hotel

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I find myself in Tulare (on business) about once a month. I always find a place to stay by bidding on Priceline. I am always sent either to the Best Western or to Charter Inn. One plus for both of these places is the free breakfast, including make-your-own waffles. At Charter Inn, they also provide free dinner on Tuesdays and Thursdays. The dinner is average at best, but if you're hungry and not too particular, what the hay!

Rooms are spacious with a flat screen TV and a bunch of channels. The free WIFI is spotty. On multiple visits, I have had to call the front desk and have them reset their router(s).

Compared to the Best Western, the Charter Inn is my second choice. Nonetheless, a pretty good place to stay. Convenient to Hwy. 99.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street ale a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDDING
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We booked this hotel based on others' reviews..... we were not disappointed. If you're traveling on hwy 99, stop at this hotel. It's special. Our room was spacious, bed comfortable - breakfast - surprisingly good - scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, waffles, etc. All good! Nice staff. GREAT price! We'll stay on our return trip north to our Redding home.

Room Tip: We went to La Fiesta Mexican Restaurant for dinner - amazing food for what I'd call lunch prices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We chose to stay in Tulare, CA for 1 night in June because it was a good waypoint on our trip back to Santa Monica from Sequioa National Park. We chose this particular hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. We weren't disappointed. The location was convenient and safe. The facility was spotless, the pool was clean, the room was simple but spacious and in perfect repair. The included breakfast was more than adequate, and very convenient for our early departure. And the price was under $100. It was probably the best bargain of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We decided to stop off on our long drive from southern to northern California and chose the Charter Inn and Suites because of the favorable reviews. I am so glad we did. This was an excellent hotel and a nice break from similarly priced motor lodges we have stayed in on other trips. Most of the previous reviews are correct. The room we had was enormous. Two queen-sized beds, a chair and a large bathroom. We only stayed the one night and left early but it was a great room and the beds were comfortable. A little mini-kitchen with microwave, refrigerator, sink, etc. was there for convenience but not necessary for us because the free hot breakfast was the best we have ever had!

We had planned at eating at a local restaurant but skipped it when we saw the bacon, potatoes, eggs and fruit available. They also had English muffins, bagels, toast, pastries and all the toppings including peanut butter! Make-your-own waffles with syrup, strawberries and whipped cream were popular with my kids and they had several types of coffee, many choices of tea and hot chocolate. The juice was delicious not watered down and you could choose from apple, orange, cranberry or lemonade. I even saw different types of cereal and oatmeal available. We all had a great breakfast and grabbed a hot drink in a to-go cup for the road.

I have to also say the staff was very friendly and really made it seem like they were glad to have us. I was a little worried about leaving our stuff in the car because we didn't want to unload everything and it was packed with Black Friday purchases and other items we were bringing home from our holiday visit. The parking lot was well-lit and we had no security issues at all. We took Hwy 99 instead of I-5 just to stay at this hotel and it was well worth it. 99 was a much better road, less traffic this Thanksgiving holiday weekend and better conditions. We are a Hwy 99 family from now on!

There is also a pool at the hotel which we did not use because November isn't swimming weather for us and the hotel is right next to some outlet stores if you need to shop for anything. We were on the road before anything opened so I can't speak about their quality. This was a great place to stay, I would defiinitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulare
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tulare
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 13 in Tulare
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Sequoia Area
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter Inn & Suites

Address: 1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Charter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter Hotel Tulare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charter Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.