We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop along the way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charter Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Charter Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charter Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Tulare
Milwaukie, Oregon
1 review
“Perfect stop along the way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Wonderful experience from check in to check out. Friendly, helpful employees. Spacious clean rooms. Yummy full breakfast with many difference food choices.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    30
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
46
39
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We spent one night there and were pleasantly surprised by the hot breakfast. Eggs, bacon, potatoes and waffles. The room was clean with a large tub. We definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We (aunt, uncle, and several adult cousins) recently spent a weekend in Tulare to celebrate a family event and all stayed at the Charter Inn. I rented the rooms based on the excellent tripadvisor reviews...and we were not disappointed. The rooms were great (big comfy beds and pillows), the breakfast was delicious and the staff couldn't have been more welcoming. And an outstanding value to top it off!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We travelled with 3 children and grandparents. We stayed at this hotel one night on our way from Las Vegas to Yosemite. We booked 3 rooms. They were able to offer us a very good price for the rooms which were spacious and clean. After a long day driving from Las Vegas we were thrilled to be offered complimentry dinner on arrival. Complimentry breakfast was also served in the morning. It was a full hot breakfast with the best Waffles ever! The hotel manager was extremely helpful. We left the hotel fully rested and fed. This hotel is an absolute Gem!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

stayed here for the first time after reading tripadvisor reviews. this hotel although very busy with railway personnel staying overnight was exceptionally quiet with oversize room with a seating area and comfortable beds. our room was on the ground floor close to the parking lot by choice and was very well soundproofed. front counter staff was pleasant and checked us in quickly. very good hot breakfast. will stay again when travelling through as our first choice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Just spent 2 nights (Tues and Wed) and I wanted to let everyone know about this motel. Located near Highway 99 and the outlet stores. Not only did we have outstanding breakfast fares but a nice little dinner each night. Mexican one night and Italian the 2nd.
Very friendly staff and it is not a chain but is owned by a local person. Price was right especially when it included 2 meals each day, I highly recommend this motel if u are staying a few nights or just driving down Highway 99,

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
335 helpful votes 335 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Stayed here for two nights while visiting Sequoia National Park. At a rate of less than $70, it was an excellent value. HUGE rooms with a sitting area, fridge/microwave, and large bathroom. Everything was immaculate and appeared fairly new. There was even a ceiling fan in the room, which I had not seen in a roadside hotel previously. Three floors with interior corridors and elevator.

Parking was free and ample. Plenty of dining options around and wal-mart is practically next door, which is nice. Staff were friendly and helpful. The area is busy, but very convenient to the highway (99 I believe it was)...just right off of the ramp.

There was a wifi issue on our second night, but I suspect this was an isolated issue. Otherwise, it was free and strong. Excellent free breakfast in the AM included sausage, waffles, etc. Snacks (cheeses, etc) in the evening and I believe they have a pizza/pasta dinner free on certain weekdays, although we weren't there for that.

Outdoor pool and hot tub looked nice, but we didn't use it...fairly busy the weekend we were there. Large flat screen TV with leather sofas, etc off of the lobby great for relaxing outside of the room.

If visiting Sequoia, this is 45 mins or so away and an easy drive. Value for the $$, I would recommend this place highly...would not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charter Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter Inn & Suites

Address: 1016 East Prosperity Avenue, Tulare, CA 93274
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Charter Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter Hotel Tulare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charter Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.