We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1183 N. Blackstone Street, Tulare, CA 93274 (Formerly Tulare Days Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Tulare
1 review
“Poor customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Poor customer service. Our room was on the 2nd floor, the people that stayed on the 3rd floor was very noise. Call the front desk 8 times and they kept on giving the same excuse that they have called upstair to ask them to calm down. The phone was working and I told them about it but never came to fix it. They want us to move to another room in the middle of the night because they couldn't control they other guest and they want to move us to a smoking room when we reserve for a non smoking room. By the way, they wouldn't even let you finish your sentences and hung up the phone on their guest. I would never stay here again and if anyone want a good night sleep, don't come to this hotel. Service was not good and I end up get bites from sleep on this hotel bed.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for informing us of the events that occurred to you during your stay at Red Roof Inn Tulare. We greatly value all the feedback that our valued guest provide for us, because it is with their honest feedback that we improve in the quality of service we provide to every guest. Please know that we will work hard on retraining our team members so this never happens again. And we do hope that you can provide us with another opportunity at staying with us in the near future.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    5
    5
    15
See reviews for
13
8
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well this place advertizes $49.99 a night but it should only be $19.99 a night. The place is very broken down and needs a lot of repairs. Nothing wrks, ice macine would give u one cup of ice, tv reception was poor. R room had horribly patched holes in the walls and r room was halfway cleaned two times. I could go on and on but because we were on a tight budget we stayed but never again. It says its a two star Hotel it should be a 1/16th of a star.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at Red Roof Inn Tulare. And thank you for the feedback you have provided us with on our property during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as it will help us improve in those areas where improvement is needed. We will take into great consideration all the things you have mentioned when we start our remodeling process. We just hope that once our remodeling is complete, you will be able to come stay with us one more time and see how nicely we have improved our property.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A lot of flies (more than 20) stayed on the bed when we entered the room. The hotel sprayed pesticide but still some flies there. After that, we found the mattress was wet and all the pad and quilt were wet too. Plenty of unknown liquid over the mattress (probably that's the reason of flies). We contacted the front desk and they gave us new pads and requested us to replace them on our own. The bathroom faucet kept leaking all the night. The only compensation for it is only 15% off discount for "next" Red Roof Inn stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for informing us of your experience while staying at Red Roof Inn Tulare. And let me say that the action that was taken by our team members about giving you new linen so that you could change them yourself, was unprofessional; as what you experience at our Tulare property is not something you will experience on a daily basis. We will retrain our team members so that in case something similar occurs at the hotel, we can properly take care of the situation. Again, please accept our apologies and again thank you for letting us know of your experience at Red Roof Inn Tulare.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed here for one night, while passing through on a road trip. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. For the price, it was well worth it! I would definitely stay here again, though I don't know about the location because there didn't seem to be much to do around there. But definitely a great place to stay on your way somewhere because the beds were so comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guest with your feedback on your recent stay at Red Roof Inn Tulare. We are very happy with the feedback you have provided so that future guest can have an easier choice of deciding which book they want to book when visiting city of Tulare. Yes, our room rates are of reasonable price when compared to other hotels of the same quality. We hope you can consider us on your next road trip.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Laurie at the front desk was so helpful! Check in was easy and the room was nice-clean-comfy bed. Pool is great and location is close to grocery store, fast food, restaurants,etc! Thanks for being pet friendly!! This is nice red roof inn, well lit and safe.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are happy to hear that you loved your stay at our Tulare Red Roof. And thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review. Thank you also for the compliments you have regarding our comfortable beds. As you were able to see, we are located many shops, restaurants, and stores. We are also pet-friendly and are open twenty-four hours. Thank you again for the wonderful review.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My sons and I had a very wonderful extended stay. The pool is pristine. Our maids were friendly professional. Our rooms were spacious, with microwave, coffee maker, and refrigerator. Best of all is they are pet friendly. You may bring one well behaved pet, at no extra charge. Just notify the office at check in. Kimberly

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you very much for providing is with your feedback on your stay at our Tulare property. And thank you also for giving us a five-star review. We are glad to hear that our front desk team members shined for your during your stay, as well as our housekeeping team. Yes, we are a pet friendly property and what makes our property even better is that we do not charge an extra fee for our four legged friend. We also maintain our pool as clean as possible, because we know that a quick swim in our pool is what one needs to relax from the long day at work. Thank you for the wonderful comments once more and we hope you will be able to consider staying with us on your next trip to the Tulare area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The people working there were friendly and helpful, but the physical building is ridiculous. The rooms that obviously been remodeled, but no one had given any thought to the design. The light switch for the toilet tub area is outside and behind the door, so that if you turn on the light at night to use the toilet you light up the whole room. Add to that the world's loudest bathroom fan and you have a very annoying night. Also, the closet is essentially hanging over the sink. They've added an armoire for the TV and a chest of drawers, but it's too big for the room and makes maneuvering around the room very difficult. The Wi-Fi was problematic throughout our stay. The rooms were clean, but that doesn't make up for the deficiencies.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your stat at Red Roof Inn Tulare. We will try to oversee the outlay of the rooms so they can better fit the room and they can be of a lesser disturbance when it comes to lighting a specific area of the room. I will talk to our maintenance person so they can take care of the issue with the fan. We will work hard of fixing those issues you have mentioned, and we really hope to see you again on your next visit to the city of Tulare.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds

Address: 1183 N. Blackstone Street, Tulare, CA 93274 (Formerly Tulare Days Inn)
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds is conveniently located alongside Highway 99. Red Roof Tulare is close to downtown Tulare, Tulare District Hospital, the Tulare Fairgrounds, and the Greyhound Terminal. Lemoore Air Force Base and the Amtrak Station are only 25 miles away, and Visalia Airport is just 10 miles away. Tulare hosts the annual Agricultural Expo. Sequoia Park, Fresno International Airport, and Three Rivers are located approximately an hour’s drive from the property. Shopping malls, outlets and restaurants are within walking distance from the property.The Red Roof Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds features a sparkling outdoor pool (open during the summer months), a newly renovated lobby,24 hour Hot Coffee Service,Fresh Apple and Orange juice served daily in the morning, high speed wireless internet throughout the property, plenty of free parking for cars/trucks/vans, and a coin operated guest laundry. All guest rooms feature expanded cable TV, hair dryers and in-room coffee. Deluxe rooms also feature microwaves and mini-fridges. Irons and ironing boards are available at the front desk. Our friendly bi-lingual staff speaks both English and Spanish. If you’re hungry at odd hours, we have surrounded by several great restaurants and we also have a snack vending machine at Red Roof Tulare in the Lobby. One well-behaved family pet is welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Tulare
Tulare Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.