We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1183 N. Blackstone Street, Tulare, CA 93274 (Formerly Tulare Days Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Was OK for an economy priced motel. Comfortable beds with a decent sized room. Fridge and microwave were furnished. But, as stated by other reviewers, the shower water temperature was not satisfactory. Temperature cycles between too hot and too cold depending on usage elsewhere in the facility. Indicates inadequate water piping - but re-piping whole complex is probably cost prohibitive. Problem could perhaps be reduced by installing temperature-self-adjusting shower controls (a lower cost option). Overall, the whole complex is in need of serious renovation in order to bring it up to a better standard than just that of a low-cost facility. But I did not find evidence that would justify the terrible ratings submitted by some reviewers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent at at our Tulare property. We are happy to read that you found us to your liking and we greatly appreciate all the feedback you provided so we can improve on it. I assure you that I will bring your comments to management so that we can start to improve some of the areas were improvement is needed. We hope you will give us another chance at staying with us on your next trip to Tulare.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    5
    7
    19
See reviews for
17
10
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Charged $410/night during the Tulare Farm Show for a room with patched holes in the bathroom door, patched holes from prior towel racks, towels that were the size of hand towels and as abrasive as sandpaper, a TV that made howling noises and wouldn't pick up stations, beds that were like a pile of lumps. Red Roof Corporate should be ashamed to be associated with this type of price gouging.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel completely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback on our property. We have gone over your comments with management and the condition that the room was rented to run is unacceptable. We will work hard on improving every aspect of the room that was given to you so that events like the one you experience do not happen again. We hope that on your next trip to the city of Tulare you will be able to reconsider staying with us so that you can see all the improvement we have made since your last stay at our property.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I don't recommend anyone to stay here. The room was dirty, little water pressure, bedspread had stains and holes, took over 5 minutes to get hot water, no shampoo, coffee maker or glasses/cups. The pool needed attention as well as the property

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at our Tulare property, and please apologize us for all the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We will retrain our housekeeping team so they can be more careful when cleaning a room; in particular we will ask them to pay special attention to room amenities so that every room cleaned by them can be fully stocked with amenities. We will also work on improving the condition of the pool area and the entire property in general. Please consider staying with us on your next trip to Tulare.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

What a horrible experience. This place is a terrible transient hotel with sketchy people. The lobby smells of urine. The staff is helpful but the manager is argumentative and hostile and less than accommodating.

The rooms smell of smoke. My door appeared to have been pounded in. Their were holes in the walls. Floor had not been vacuumed.

After arrival, I immediately requested a new room. I viewed 2 others that were also terrible. As a single female, I did not feel safe staying here and would not recommend this hotel to women travelers.

This would be a perfect hotel if you are renting by the hour, doing drugs or participating in other illicit activities.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I strongly DO NOT recommend this hotel.. STAY AWAY! My friend and I booked for one night after a long drive from Yosemite National Park. The front desk staff was rude. There was drug dealing in the parking lot, and the elevator and room smelled like cigarette even though we asked for a non smoking room. There were stains on the bed sheets. Not to mention that this is completely false advertisement; we did NOT have a flat screen tv like it mentioned that we would get. We instead had a big box tv with only 3 working channels. We tried to make the best of it since we were only staying there for one night. My friend then noticed BIG roaches when getting out of the shower. We then inspected the room and found about 6 more roaming the room. Scared that they would go in our luggage, we grabbed our stuff and notified the front desk clerk. She did not seem surprised when we told her that there were roaches in our room. She did offer another room for us, but at this point we were just done with this hotel! We booked a room at Best Western. For ten dollars more we got a nice CLEAN room and good breakfast. The only good thing about this experience is that I did get my full refund.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I need to let You know first and foremost that I had a very bad experience almost a year ago when I tried to rent a room here and didn't plan to ever come back ,I am so glad that I gave it one more try because thanks to the new People working here Especially Kimberley I can say not only will I be coming back I will be recommending the Red Roof Inn to all My Friends as well.Your rooms where the cleanest and comfortable too

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The room we stayed in was very clean. This is by far, one of the best hotels I have personally stayed in. The manager, Kimberly, was very courteous, and helped us find the best room for my family. We will certainly stay here again!!!

Room Tip: exellent,i would recommend all to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds

Address: 1183 N. Blackstone Street, Tulare, CA 93274 (Formerly Tulare Days Inn)
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds is conveniently located alongside Highway 99. Red Roof Tulare is close to downtown Tulare, Tulare District Hospital, the Tulare Fairgrounds, and the Greyhound Terminal. Lemoore Air Force Base and the Amtrak Station are only 25 miles away, and Visalia Airport is just 10 miles away. Tulare hosts the annual Agricultural Expo. Sequoia Park, Fresno International Airport, and Three Rivers are located approximately an hour’s drive from the property. Shopping malls, outlets and restaurants are within walking distance from the property.The Red Roof Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds features a sparkling outdoor pool (open during the summer months), a newly renovated lobby,24 hour Hot Coffee Service,Fresh Apple and Orange juice served daily in the morning, high speed wireless internet throughout the property, plenty of free parking for cars/trucks/vans, and a coin operated guest laundry. All guest rooms feature expanded cable TV, hair dryers and in-room coffee. Deluxe rooms also feature microwaves and mini-fridges. Irons and ironing boards are available at the front desk. Our friendly bi-lingual staff speaks both English and Spanish. If you’re hungry at odd hours, we have surrounded by several great restaurants and we also have a snack vending machine at Red Roof Tulare in the Lobby. One well-behaved family pet is welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Tulare
Tulare Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.