We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you want a nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1183 N. Blackstone Street, Tulare, CA 93274 (Formerly Tulare Days Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Tulare
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stay here if you want a nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Pros:
Clean, safe and quiet
Has a few restaurants such as KFC, Burger King and Denny's right next to the hotel. You would have no trouble grabbing a bite late into the night
Looks good from the outside
Has microwave and fridge inside the room

Cons:
Furnishing in room looks very old.

Kings bed room has no table - what's the point of having a microwave when there is nowhere for us to eat our meals?

Shower is broken. Water sometimes cold, sometimes hot. It couldn't stay at a constant temperature.

Power socket does not work. Hair dryer was broken.

We inadvertently left our glasses at the hotel. We called back and the front desk told us to call back the next day cus the housekeeping had gone home. What kind of system/service is this? They could have called the housekeeping and help us out. In the end we had to drive all the way back and stay for one more night so that we could check with the housekeeping. Further, we were misrepresented. They said they could check with the housekeeping at 9am in the morning - the time they check in for work. So the next day, we waited at 9am. Nobody came in for work. We asked the front desk, and she told us they only come at 10am cus it's a Sunday. Another hour wasted! Bad service; bad system.

Bath tub floods like crazy - see photo.

Breakfast stops at an ungodly hour of 9am. Not only that.. you better rush down way BEFORE 9 cus the more edible stuff like cereal runs out earlier than that. Also, the spread is nothing fanciful. be prepared to make do with muffins and bread.


Having said that, to be fair, the housekeeping (specifically Lala) deserves many praises. She found my glasses and gave them back to me. She even rejected my tip! Very honest and down-to-earth person.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonC464, Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Holyarmer, Thanks for all your feedback. Your constructive comments regarding the condition of the hotel are acknowledged as well, we do very much respect your opinions and will share your experience with our maintenance and housekeeping staff to better improve the condition of the rooms. I'm delighted that Lala was exceptional during your stay, and apologize for the issues you experienced in getting your glasses returned to you, this is not indicative of the service I expect from my staff. I am unsure as to whom was working the desk at the time, but assure you that this type of service will be addressed.

I sincerely hope the next time you are in the Tulare area, you will give us the opportunity to have you as our return guest. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us, it truly is greatly appreciated. Safe Travels.

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    5
    5
    13
See reviews for
13
7
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

You guys are doing good and the best motel I ever been and service excel ant And staff are very friendly and also the breakfast was grate.and also we had a problem with the tv when we call the office they send the. Maintenance guy he was very friendly and he fix the problem on seconds that's awesome

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonC464, Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Tito32655 Thank you so very much for your positive response, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay that your issues were met with prompt responses and you were pleased with your experience with us in Tulare.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We came from las Vargas to Tulare for a function it was late night. We never believe that we are in motel that's look 4 star service. And thank you guys' we had a excellent stay.And also we had a good breakfast the rooms are so clean

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonC464, Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Tito32655

As a repeat guest, we thank you sincerely for your positive feedback and delighted In the fact that you continue to allow us to welcome you as our guest.

All the Best, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I left my camra on the back of the blue chair checked out at 11 and by that afternoon it was gone the sad thing is my wifes 50th brithday pictures from vegas. they left my camra bag and no chips thanks red roof inn i will always remember my stay and so will everyone i talk to .

Room Tip: watch out farm show
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Shelly P;
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Tulare, CA Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Bare wires hanging out of the ceiling where the smoke alarms was not. Holes in the carpet, light fixture hanging by the wires over the vanity. Nearly impossible to shower due to the water changing from freezing cold to scalding hot (could not put my 2 year old in, too dangerous). I did stay in what i thought was a non-smoking room. After our dinner we returned to the room and could have sworn someone was smoking in our restroom. The ladies were awesome when checking in, but the next morning they wouldn't give me the time of day or even talk to me for that matter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Jerry K,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Tulare, CA Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconveninces.

I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. At Red Roof, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Recently refurbished. Was in town for one night and could not have been happier with the stay - staff was friendly and rooms were clean. For 40 dollars per night, this is a great deal. Would definitely come back and stay. Great deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Alan001000;

Happy to hear your stay was a plesant one !! We will see you on your next visit to Tulare !

Warmest Regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

we just come to tulare for my dads funeral and we stayed in this motel, its very clean like 4 star hotel and staff are very friendly and we will be coming again to this motel,and also its in a good location.

Room Tip: room facing the pool side look grate,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
tito32655;

We are very sorry for your loss. Glad we were able to meet your needs, hope to have you back soon, on under better sircomestances.

Best regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds

Address: 1183 N. Blackstone Street, Tulare, CA 93274 (Formerly Tulare Days Inn)
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds is conveniently located alongside Highway 99. Red Roof Tulare is close to downtown Tulare, Tulare District Hospital, the Tulare Fairgrounds, and the Greyhound Terminal. Lemoore Air Force Base and the Amtrak Station are only 25 miles away, and Visalia Airport is just 10 miles away. Tulare hosts the annual Agricultural Expo. Sequoia Park, Fresno International Airport, and Three Rivers are located approximately an hour’s drive from the property. Shopping malls, outlets and restaurants are within walking distance from the property.The Red Roof Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds features a sparkling outdoor pool (open during the summer months), a newly renovated lobby,24 hour Hot Coffee Service,Fresh Apple and Orange juice served daily in the morning, high speed wireless internet throughout the property, plenty of free parking for cars/trucks/vans, and a coin operated guest laundry. All guest rooms feature expanded cable TV, hair dryers and in-room coffee. Deluxe rooms also feature microwaves and mini-fridges. Irons and ironing boards are available at the front desk. Our friendly bi-lingual staff speaks both English and Spanish. If you’re hungry at odd hours, we have surrounded by several great restaurants and we also have a snack vending machine at Red Roof Tulare in the Lobby. One well-behaved family pet is welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Tulare
Tulare Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.