We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with a great price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1183 N. Blackstone Street, Tulare, CA 93274 (Formerly Tulare Days Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place with a great price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I was very happy with this place. I like the decor a lot. Very comfortable bed and the lady who checked me in was very nice. Only downside was I couldn't connect to the interenet but it was late anyway and I needed to sleep. Definitely use the do not disturb sign or housekeeping will come in not once but twice. Love this place and will be back again :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Falynn89;

Red Roof Inn we strive to make every stay the best stay. Let me appologize for the internet connection, I will be sure to have our maintenance department follow up with that, we'd love to have you back soon !

Best Regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    5
    6
    15
See reviews for
13
9
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I booked this hotel for $35 a night and the review is based accordingly.

The hotel was recently updated and was very clean. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and the room was very spacious.

If you are wanting something much nicer than this, be ready to pay close to double. This is one of the nicest $35 a night hotel I have ever stayed in. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof T, Public Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm over our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your business! Please come back and see us soon.

Jennifer G.
Admin Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We traveled from Arizona and booked 3 rooms for a family function. This hotel is in serious need of an upgrade/renovation. Our room was not clean (hair in the bath tub, dirty towels in the room, trash on the floor), the light fixtures were broken and the towel racks were coming out of the wall. The other two rooms had similar issues. The staff was VERY nice, so it made the trip bearable. We will never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof T, Public Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for being so honest in your review. I do sincerely apologize for the condition that your room was in. Please know that this was not up to our standards and we are doing our best to find solutions so that this does not occur again in the future. We hope that in the future you will rethink giving Red Roof Tulare another chance to serve your needs.

Jennifer G.
Admin Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

The room was spacious, neat, tidy and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The sink area was large so very handy to put your stuff there. The free wifi in the room was a bit weak, in the lobby it was much better. The hotel staff was very friendly. The free breakfast was simple but ok. The hotel lobby is pretty large and modern. Overall very satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori M, Internet Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
First, I want to thank you again for choosing our hotel! I appreciate your comments, and hope that you choose us again in the future! I did forward your comments on to our maintenance staff so that should you return, it will not happen again.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review!

Lori Mann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I always go here with my girlfriend on the weekends, an the reason why I always fin myself going back is because of how friendly the front desk is. I have been helped by the same person every week that I have stayed here. Her name is Vanessa and she always checks me into my room. What caught my eye the first time was that unlike other places I was immediately greeted with a smile and everything that I needed to make my stay here even better Vanessa made sure that it was taken care of. I come here every weekend and I always come back because she has built a client relationship with myself and I know that every night is going to be like the first, and she is the reason we always come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori M, Internet Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel. I appreciate your comments and we are very thankful to have Vanessa as an employee. We strive to make every guest feel like you did during their visit. We may be an economy hotel, but we strive to give four star service.

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel,

Lori Mann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockeysville, md
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

It was inexpensive, but not the least in the area. They said they had high-speed wireless in the room -- not. However, I was moved to a room above the lobby were I could get wireless. They seem nice and try to be accommodating, but don't really seem to know and understand the hospitality business. They were going to let me leave over fixing a relatively minor problem...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori M, Internet Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
First I want to thank you for your business. I also want to thank you for your comments, as it is reviews like yours that keep us getting growing and learning.

I talked to the Guest Service Representative that I believe helped you, she remembered your situation, and asked her to make sure when helping a guest to make sure to go the extra mile, and to make sure they feel like we want the guests business. I also informed her manager to make sure she more customer service training and to make sure a situation like this does not happen again.

I apologize that they made you feel like we were willing to let you leave unhappy, that is not our goal. We want guests to leave satisfied and happy with their stay.

Thank you again for your input,

Lori Mann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

It appears that this older property is trying to get better. But, in the meantime, the room is decorated with old furniture that looks like it has been painted with a brush--all black. None of the furnishings remotely resemble the usual, standard Red Roof furnishings.
Here's what happened when I checked in with my wife and daughter, two rooms. 1) the key would not unlock the door 2) the desk clerk came and was unable to unlock the door, so she changed rooms 3) the other room in the reservation was not made up--no sheets on beds, a mess 4) the desk clerk changed the room. This was just at check in. When I moved the bath mat from the tub to the floor, a small roach was on the bath mat. I killed it and did not see any more.
The motel is old, beat-up, and out-dated. A real downer if you are expecting a Red Roof Inn experience.

Room Tip: There are better choices in the neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori M, at Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your criticism and I apologize that you had such a unsatisfactory experience.

I have talked with the desk clerk in question and she has been trained now to make sure that she chooses appropriate rooms. We have also worked with the Head of Housekeeping to make sure that rooms that are marked clean in our system are clean.

We are currently renovating and going through the rooms to update the furniture. The owners are in the process of buying the appropriate items for the brand, but unfortunately they take awhile to arrive, and to order since Red Roof Inn is a growing brand.

The property has a contract with a local exterminator, and when we called this about this they came and sprayed. Our last visit was yesterday August 27th 2012. We informed him of the bug issue that was found so that this will not happen again.

I want to apologize again for your bad experience, and I want to thank you for reviewing. It is comments like yours that help us learn and become a better property.


Thank you,

Lori Mann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds

Address: 1183 N. Blackstone Street, Tulare, CA 93274 (Formerly Tulare Days Inn)
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds is conveniently located alongside Highway 99. Red Roof Tulare is close to downtown Tulare, Tulare District Hospital, the Tulare Fairgrounds, and the Greyhound Terminal. Lemoore Air Force Base and the Amtrak Station are only 25 miles away, and Visalia Airport is just 10 miles away. Tulare hosts the annual Agricultural Expo. Sequoia Park, Fresno International Airport, and Three Rivers are located approximately an hour’s drive from the property. Shopping malls, outlets and restaurants are within walking distance from the property.The Red Roof Tulare - Downtown / Fairgrounds features a sparkling outdoor pool (open during the summer months), a newly renovated lobby,24 hour Hot Coffee Service,Fresh Apple and Orange juice served daily in the morning, high speed wireless internet throughout the property, plenty of free parking for cars/trucks/vans, and a coin operated guest laundry. All guest rooms feature expanded cable TV, hair dryers and in-room coffee. Deluxe rooms also feature microwaves and mini-fridges. Irons and ironing boards are available at the front desk. Our friendly bi-lingual staff speaks both English and Spanish. If you’re hungry at odd hours, we have surrounded by several great restaurants and we also have a snack vending machine at Red Roof Tulare in the Lobby. One well-behaved family pet is welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Tulare
Tulare Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Tulare-Downtown/Fairgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.