We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but bad odor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 Hillman Street, Tulare, CA 93274   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Lithia, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good stay but bad odor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was friendly except for the refusal of taking cash payment up front and holding the incidentals on credit card, this is not a chain wide issue but a place by place issue, the other Visalia location did take cash in advance and held security on my credit card but 10 miles away not the same story, either way the place was clean and neat and quiet and the ceilings were Large like 10 foot or maybe even 12, giving the room a large feel, the bathroom doors are not intelligently placed, they open out into the way of the room entrance door and hit each other and block the way it is listing and keep opening into the room meaning you must keep it shut and thus the cause of a bad mildew odor in the bathroom, other than that it was a good night stay, the breakfast was also good with the exception of the meat was in the gravy so unless you wanted biscuits and gravy you got no meat, but it was still very good!

Room Tip: check for odors first
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
13
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our short stay. Went up for a family party, that was held in their conference room. Everyone was so nice. Room was great. Beds Comfortable. Everyone was friendly from when I called to book the room, when we checked in and while we were there. They met all of our requests. Will definitely stay whenever we are in Tulare.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phx, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Room comfortable, had fridge and micro which are essential as I stay 8-10 days at a time. Only issue is that the bathroom door is either closed all the way or standing half open in the middle of the entrance in to the room. When getting up in the dark it could be dangerous.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Visit begn wirh the news that our reservation was for yesterdayt! Because it was booked with points, I had to call for help. In 5 minutes we were fixed and all was well. the room was fine, great bed, good pillows, just right/
Brakfast was fresh and generous. We were completely satisfied

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

We loved our room, even though the bathroom sink faucet was broken off and barely usable. It makes me wonder how much cleaning the housekeepers do, since a housekeeper cleaning the rooms would have noticed and reported it before we were placed in that room. Other than that, the room was very spacious and comfortable.
But, the main problem is that Tulare smells like it's in the heart of cow country, and the smell of manure was disgusting. Luckily indoors, we didn't smell it.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Freeway noise was somewhat distracting,plastic utensils @ the comp breakfast need much improvement!! would be nice also to have some type of spring on the room doors so that every door thats closed night and day doesn't wake you up!!! thats the bad. Everything else was very nice.close to restaurants,gas,etc. would stay again

Room Tip: I believe the even number rooms are across the hallway meaning they are further away from the freew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

My room was very nice, but I was surprised to see no microwave or fridge, which Fairfield Inn usually has.
Also, when I called to confirm the room before I arrived, the girl who answered the phone was less than professional and kept telling me that I may not get my floor request depending on occupancy, even though the room was blocked. It became an argument back and forth, so I spoke to the manager about it, and she came across as very professional. After I checked in, I went to the front desk for something, and nobody was there. I stood there for awhile, then said, "hello?" Still, no response. Finally, the phone rang, and the girl finally came out front to answer it, but had ignored the fact that someone was standing there. I've stayed at Marriotts from coast to coast, and they almost always have very professional front desk people, but some at this location need to learn better customer service.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare

Address: 1225 Hillman Street, Tulare, CA 93274
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening in February 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Visalia Tulare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.