We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
1161 E Tulare Ave, Tulare, CA 93274-4561
559-684-9152
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 92 Restaurants in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
norwalk ca
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

we have eaten at other ones in the chain and have been happy so we keep our eyes open for if there is one nearby

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    53
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

they are within walking distance from the motel.
the usual reliable menu I enjoyed in Northern c
California. The food was well prepared and service was friendly.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good! Wish we had one in San Diego.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We read up on this before heading to Tulare and were not disappointed. I had the bear paw (lite) chicken fried steak (lite...hah!) My husband had the full order. The food filled the huge plates that were more like platters. Everything was great including the friendly staff. Hint...if you are staying at the Best Western in town, show your room key for 10% off. We only wish there was a location close to home in San Diego area. Will make a point to stop here anytime we are in the Tulare area!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good home like cooked food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This restaurant is good food & plenty of it. Good price for amount of food you get. Staff is very nice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best breakfast in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Black Bear Diner has a great variety of hearty and light meals for breakfast. You can hardly finish your plate and the food is delicious. Their lunch and dinner menus are good. Their bacon cheeseburgers are excellent and so are their pies. More of a down home cooking dinner menu (meatloaf, turkey, etc)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.