We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bear -y Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
1161 E Tulare Ave, Tulare, CA 93274-4561
559-684-9152
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 93 Restaurants in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fontana, California, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bear -y Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is our new favorite diner , large portions and great menu. Childers meal had every thing you need and more. The Bear t-shirts are so different . We bought the coffee cups and may not give them as gifts and keep them for our self.
Oh, my the little pies are so good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glory2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Large portions and good hearty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I get to Tulare regularly.....so it was a nice surprise to rediscover this restaurant.
I had breakfast their and it was great. Large portions...fresh ingredients,and good service.
Down home cooking .......

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 101Shp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Black Bear not to be missed if you are cruising on Hwy 99!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a joint! This gem is stuffed with all kinds of collectibles about bears! Stopped by for breakfast and had 8oz Steak and eggs for $5.99! (limited time special) The latter was served with hash browns and toast. My guest had eggs and bacon with a side of Belgian waffles. We couldn't find anything wrong with all the food. Usually Belgian waffles are hits and misses. That one was on target! Not too sweet and tasty. The food is only as good as the service. And the latter was exceptional. No wonder all the locals go there. Ample parking is available. Wish I had this restaurant in my neighborhood!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Quoizimodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stopped here on a return trip from Vegas, and loved it. Had a special of 2 pork cops (and I mean BIG pork chops, and boneless, too), 2 eggs, a large portion of hash browns, and a homemade biscuit that was big enough to be a meal by itself, and all of this was under $10.00. Food was cooked and served quickly, and everything was delicious. I will definite stop here again when I am passing through this area!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank avaryclassylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, Not Fancy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

You'll like the portion size. The quality is above average and the price is reasonable. This a "down home" style of dining, and well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank camusfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing