We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Not Fancy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
1161 E Tulare Ave, Tulare, CA 93274-4561
559-684-9152
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #4 of 87 restaurants in Tulare
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Pasadena, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good, Not Fancy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

You'll like the portion size. The quality is above average and the price is reasonable. This a "down home" style of dining, and well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    37
    38
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tulare, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great service, excellent special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The service is just great; sometime when you walk in, someone is waiting to show you to a table and you don't even slow down on your way to a table. The waitresses are knowledgeable about the menu and very friendly and competent. The steak and egg special for $5.95 is so much better steak than you would expect for the price!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APPLE VALLEY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First timers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a chain but it was our first time to try it. Homestyle food was good and the portions plenty. The meatloaf and mashed potatoes were very good, the french dip needed better bread. The service was friendly and quick. The locals seemed to be eating here as the staff knew their names. We took homemade blackberry pie to our hotel for breakfast the next day. It was great!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Cal.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Another So-So Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I previously (years ago) really like these chain of diners. In the last few years they are very consistent bad. I was travelling and decided to try this one and as usually, average quality food that was poorly prepared. This seems to be the norm now. The only exception is the restaurant in Mt. Shasta City; that location still prepares the food to a much higher standard. I am not sure why that is. I have been to several of their locations: Medford, Mt. Shasta City, Lake Havasu, Tulare, Bullhead City, etc. I wouldn't recommend if well prepared quality food is your desire. If your looking for quantity only, then this is your place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Serving staff keep busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

One of the first things to strike you at Black Bear is how busy the serving staff keep themselves. On the Friday evening we went there, two young guys never stopped - didn't pass a table without checking all was well and when nothing else was happening they wiped tables down.
The pot roast was served in a portion big enough for two and my companion was very happy with his burger. If I search for a criticism it is that green beans come fresh in this part of the world - they should not be out of a can.
Recommended - I'll visit again after I've checked out other restaurants in town

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Black Bear Diner to your Saves list