We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serving staff keep busy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
1161 E Tulare Ave, Tulare, CA 93274-4561
559-684-9152
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Serving staff keep busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

One of the first things to strike you at Black Bear is how busy the serving staff keep themselves. On the Friday evening we went there, two young guys never stopped - didn't pass a table without checking all was well and when nothing else was happening they wiped tables down.
The pot roast was served in a portion big enough for two and my companion was very happy with his burger. If I search for a criticism it is that green beans come fresh in this part of the world - they should not be out of a can.
Recommended - I'll visit again after I've checked out other restaurants in town

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    49
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Go to Wimpy Burger's Instead”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The burger: really not sure it was meat! The hot turkey sandwich: pressed loaf, overly salty, bad. Service: slow, inattentive, and the manager was more into socializing with the waitresses who had come off their shift and were sitting at the counter, counting their TIPS, and doing their paperwork! Really poor form. Would not go back again. Will avoid other Black Bears for fear of getting caught in another time-consuming and non-palatable experience. Go across the freeway to Wimpy Burgers where the service and the food as well as the attitude is welcoming, delicious and appreciative.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were looking for a place for dinner after a long day of driving. We found this place and we were glad we did. The prices were very reasonable and the food was good. The sides and desserts were large portions. They had $9.99 regional specials which was more than enough. We saw that this was a chain restaurant and were hoping to find another during our trip but alas we were not successful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Get a plate full of great food. Any meal of the day. Chicken fried steak, meatloaf, pot roast, burgers, and breakfast. Deserts too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
420 reviews 420 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
397 helpful votes 397 helpful votes
“So good we went back the next day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in Tulare 2 nights. The first night when we went to Black Bear Diner we both had their "little less" meat loaf dinner. When it arrived my husband commented to our server that if this amount was "less" he was glad we didn't order the "regular" size. We had a lovely salad to begin and the entree came with the meat, mashed potatoes, vegetables and a corn muffin with honey butter. I couldn't eat it all - it was a lot of food. It was very good and really "hit the spot". I get tired of sandwiches. Our bill was $21.68 including tax. The next night my husband ordered his favorite - fish and chips - and I asked if I could get a side salad with a grilled chicken breast on top which they agreed to do. I also ordered a corn muffin which we shared "for dessert". Again, really yummy food. Our bill that night was $19.00 including tax. The place is large, and clean, and the staff is friendly. We love Black Bear Diners. They have a wide selection of food at reasonable prices and we have never had a bad meal at any of the locations we have visited.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.