We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Black Bear Diner
1161 E Tulare Ave, Tulare, CA 93274-4561
559-684-9152
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 89 Restaurants in Tulare
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were looking for a place for dinner after a long day of driving. We found this place and we were glad we did. The prices were very reasonable and the food was good. The sides and desserts were large portions. They had $9.99 regional specials which was more than enough. We saw that this was a chain restaurant and were hoping to find another during our trip but alas we were not successful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    42
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Get a plate full of great food. Any meal of the day. Chicken fried steak, meatloaf, pot roast, burgers, and breakfast. Deserts too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“So good we went back the next day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in Tulare 2 nights. The first night when we went to Black Bear Diner we both had their "little less" meat loaf dinner. When it arrived my husband commented to our server that if this amount was "less" he was glad we didn't order the "regular" size. We had a lovely salad to begin and the entree came with the meat, mashed potatoes, vegetables and a corn muffin with honey butter. I couldn't eat it all - it was a lot of food. It was very good and really "hit the spot". I get tired of sandwiches. Our bill was $21.68 including tax. The next night my husband ordered his favorite - fish and chips - and I asked if I could get a side salad with a grilled chicken breast on top which they agreed to do. I also ordered a corn muffin which we shared "for dessert". Again, really yummy food. Our bill that night was $19.00 including tax. The place is large, and clean, and the staff is friendly. We love Black Bear Diners. They have a wide selection of food at reasonable prices and we have never had a bad meal at any of the locations we have visited.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great find by accident.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great place to stop for a bite to eat. Awesome service. Good food. Good prices. Would go there again without a second thought.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Steak & Eggs best value in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Excellent restaurant, nothing to complain about. Food is always plentiful, service is great and staff is pleasant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.