We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
1161 E Tulare Ave, Tulare, CA 93274-4561
559-684-9152
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 92 Restaurants in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were looking for a place for dinner after a long day of driving. We found this place and we were glad we did. The prices were very reasonable and the food was good. The sides and desserts were large portions. They had $9.99 regional specials which was more than enough. We saw that this was a chain restaurant and were hoping to find another during our trip but alas we were not successful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    53
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Get a plate full of great food. Any meal of the day. Chicken fried steak, meatloaf, pot roast, burgers, and breakfast. Deserts too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
449 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
“So good we went back the next day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in Tulare 2 nights. The first night when we went to Black Bear Diner we both had their "little less" meat loaf dinner. When it arrived my husband commented to our server that if this amount was "less" he was glad we didn't order the "regular" size. We had a lovely salad to begin and the entree came with the meat, mashed potatoes, vegetables and a corn muffin with honey butter. I couldn't eat it all - it was a lot of food. It was very good and really "hit the spot". I get tired of sandwiches. Our bill was $21.68 including tax. The next night my husband ordered his favorite - fish and chips - and I asked if I could get a side salad with a grilled chicken breast on top which they agreed to do. I also ordered a corn muffin which we shared "for dessert". Again, really yummy food. Our bill that night was $19.00 including tax. The place is large, and clean, and the staff is friendly. We love Black Bear Diners. They have a wide selection of food at reasonable prices and we have never had a bad meal at any of the locations we have visited.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great find by accident.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great place to stop for a bite to eat. Awesome service. Good food. Good prices. Would go there again without a second thought.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steak & Eggs best value in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Excellent restaurant, nothing to complain about. Food is always plentiful, service is great and staff is pleasant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.