We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food At A Good Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
1161 E Tulare Ave, Tulare, CA 93274-4561
559-684-9152
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 92 Restaurants in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Food At A Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We go here most every Friday night. We share a dinner, usually the steak & shrimp ( not on the menu, just have to ask for it ) it comes with soup or salid. I get the clam chowder, that's why we go on Friday's. The servers are great and the meal is always good and hot. We have Ryan's Place in our town ( owned by the same company, both are good ) but we go to Black Bear most of the time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    53
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed this trip.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stop there on my way to and from the Sacramento area and plan my times to make dinner or lunch stop. last night (May 14th) I stopped there about 7:45pm and was seated quickly by the host ad he brought the drink I ordered.. 10 minutes later my server showed up apologizing for the wait.

I questioned her about the senior ribs as I wanted ribs but not the huge portions that they normally bring. She took the order and left. She brought the salad and then about 10 minutes later she confirmed that I wanted the mashed potatoes and veggies. I said no I wanted the baked as I had previously ordered.

Another 10 minutes went by and she brought the order with Mashed potatoes. I did not notice the rest of the order as I was fixated on the potatoes. She returned the plate to the kitchen. On return of the plate another server plopped it down and then left before I had time to tell her I did NOT order the ribs and tri tip which was what I received.

Took me 5 minutes to get another server's attention and she went to get my proper server. She (not my assigned server) returned with another small plate and said she would scrape the tri tip off my plate right there at the table and I would be charged the proper amount. She then proceeded to almost dump the plate in my lap trying to do so on the small table I was seated at.
I then protested and said I wanted the plate returned to the kitchen and the proper order completed, done as I had originally ordered.

The manager then brought the order to me and verified that it was correct. When I asked what went wrong she stated the server plated the wrong order.

When I was finished the manager brought me the slip and stated she charged me for what I originally ordered but dropped off the difference between the tri tip and ribs and the senior ribs plus a couple of bucks for my inconvenience. In other words the original server got my order correct and I was all wet as to what I originally ordered. which was NOT what she told me the first time I asked what the problem was.

This is the first time something like this has happened and I sincerely hope it's the last. Normally I receive outstanding service and food so I understand and hope this is an anomaly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If it's a busy time, they're still worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It was a very busy Saturday, but our party of two was seated promptly. Waitress was very good (Veronica, I think.) I had the open-faced roast beef sandwich. Very tasty. This was a good value. The portion sizes are plentiful. You won't be leaving hungry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Portions! Very good food, and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place was awesome, great atmosphere. Food was great, and well priced. Save room for desert. It looked incredible. If you want to stretch you dollar and still have great food eat here! Great service as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Diner experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was our first stop when we got to Tulare, we were really hungry and this was the diner we found online. The decoration of the place is great, the service and the food. We ordered breakfast and the portions were huge and full of flavor. We liked it so much, we came back the next day for lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.