We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it's a busy time, they're still worth the wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Black Bear Diner
1161 E Tulare Ave, Tulare, CA 93274-4561
559-684-9152
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 89 Restaurants in Tulare
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Visalia, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If it's a busy time, they're still worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It was a very busy Saturday, but our party of two was seated promptly. Waitress was very good (Veronica, I think.) I had the open-faced roast beef sandwich. Very tasty. This was a good value. The portion sizes are plentiful. You won't be leaving hungry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    42
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice Portions! Very good food, and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place was awesome, great atmosphere. Food was great, and well priced. Save room for desert. It looked incredible. If you want to stretch you dollar and still have great food eat here! Great service as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Diner experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was our first stop when we got to Tulare, we were really hungry and this was the diner we found online. The decoration of the place is great, the service and the food. We ordered breakfast and the portions were huge and full of flavor. We liked it so much, we came back the next day for lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Food and service were fast and with a smile. We will be back here soon. Quick on and off freeway access.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

have eaten at other Black Bear's that are better. was not impressed with this Black Bear at all. Seemed like there food was not up to par. Will not eat there again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.