We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great for Mexican food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chilitos Casa Grande

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chilitos Casa Grande
727 E. Prospect Ave, Tulare, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 89 Restaurants in Tulare
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Telephone # (559) 686-2445
Restaurant details
Description: Telephone # (559) 686-2445
Tulare, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not great for Mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Iv tried this place a couple of times and its OK for Americanized canned Mexican food but nothing close to being authentic or calling fresh. The place is pretty nice and convenient but there are better options for Mexican food around town or across the bridge from the freeway.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulare, California, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Chilitos here in Tulare is very near our home, we have eaten here for years. It was better before being sold to a new owner. I rate it as average Mexican cuisin, nothing to rave about but good average food for satisfying your Mexican craving... You can also order to go, and pick up at their drive through window.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

What a nice, local restaurant. Close to the Hampton Inn & Suites. And their chicken fajita's was the best ever!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Stopped into this place and had an awesome meal. Sat at the bar, staff were attentive and food came out pretty quick

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Upon entering this Mexican / Seafood restaurant we immediately had to push our way thru a group of really loud people at the bar to get to the eating area. The music and noise was so loud we could not carry on a conversation at our table. It was impossible to get away from the noise because there is no separation between the dining room and the bar area.
Before ordering the crab enchilada, I asked, and was assured that it was not imitation crab meat, but meat from the claws of crabs. For starters, they deliver a basket of chips, salsa and refried beans w/ cheese. The main course was a plate with two very small enchiladas containing a small amount of IMMITATION CRAB MEAT, a little lettuce on the side, and a small squirt bottle with ranch dressing. The tortilla was like eating paper, and that was the best part.
Service was very poor. I was unable to get my glass of water refilled. The best service occurred when they presented the bill. My main regret was leaving a tip.
If you are looking for loud noise, tasteless food, and zero service, this is the place. You would be better off at Taco Bell.

    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilitos Casa Grande also viewed

 

Been to Chilitos Casa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilitos Casa Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.