We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good steaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cool Hand Lukes

Cool Hand Lukes
1470 Cherry Court, Tulare, CA 93274
559 686 0825
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 90 Restaurants in Tulare
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Porterville, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“good steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

they have good steaks here - though they can be a bit pricy
fun western decor in the place too
the waitrons are good at attending to the customers and are able to articulate the menu choices without difficulty

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, CA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cool Hand Luke needs to clean up!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We took my mother-in-law to Cool Hand Lukes on 12/9/12 for a birthday lunch. The good - the waitress could not have been more accommodating and friendly. She took our orders promptly and provided fast friendly service even bringing a birthday sundae. The bad - the place was not clean. I could write my name in the dust around the booths. Bread plates had to be replaced, because of crusted on food. The prime-rib was tough and the hamburgers tasted as if they were frozen burgers. The chicken-salad had mushy tomatoes and the chicken was really bland. This is our 2nd poor visit - probably won't give them a 3rd shot!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best steaks ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

This is by far the best restaurant in Tulare. The ribeye and skirt steak are excellent, as well as the calamari. Great dinner salads and rolls. We go here every month. Treat yourself.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ok Food But An Excellent Tume”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

The atmosphere was very good. It took awhile to get in even though I called ahead and made a reservation.

Our server was Excellent! She made the evening. The good was flavorful but I wasn't impressed with the quality of the meat.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Rib-eye steaks and Prime-rib dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I always enjoy eating at this Cool Hand Lukes restaurant. The service is very good. The bar seems to always be busy during football season as several televisions broadcast the games. There is a happy hour nit to be missed. The best part is the great food. The beans and sourdough bread appetizer nearly fills you up before your main course arrives. The prime rib and rib-eye steaks are cooked to perfection and if you can squeeze a desert down, they have some of the best. Prices range from $12.00 for a dinner and up depending on what you order. It is a good family restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cool Hand Lukes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cool Hand Lukes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.