We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1021 North Blackstone, Tulare, CA 93274-7376   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Camino
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrific Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Left SoCal late on Saturday and decided to split 500+ mile drive to Sac into 2 days. Stopped at Tejon Pass Rest Area and picked up the free hotel coupon books. Halfway point was Tulare and they had several hotel/motel coupons. Checked BW first and was disappointed. Went next door to Comfort Inn with an even better coupon and the reception was very helpful in finding King room on ground floor at coupon price.

Room was good size, clean with nice closet. Only negative was the A/C. It worked well but was not on a thermostat so it had to run continuously. Buffet breakfast good but they didn't have a microwave. Good location for Highway 99 access and plenty of places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: Get a hotel coupon book at a Rest Area while in route.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    35
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
21
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We checked into this hotel because it was close to Sequoria Natl Pk. The temperature at the time was triple digit (100+) and the AC in the room was not on when we checked in and it never did adequently cool the room down to a comfortable level. One of the reasons is probably because they do not run the air conditioner in the hallway. The hallway was miserable. PLEASE be aware that there is no elevator and if you are disabled you may be out of luck here. We were told there were no rooms available on the first floor (even though we checked in at 3 in the afternoon and the parking lot was almost empty). If you have trouble walking or with stairs, you'd better look for another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvin, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The property has been updated. I was told the carpet had recently been cleaned. Some areas where wet. Breakfast was adequate and well stocked. I booked room through Priceline which made it worth the price.The fitness room was hot.

Room Tip: A/C works very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights using it as a base to look at the murals in both Tulare and Exeter as well as a trip up to sequoia NP. All well worth a visit . The motel was good in all respects everything well located, plenty of power points etc. Breakfast was one of the better ones for this price range. Don't forget to visit the at machinery exhibit while in the area as well

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed for one night. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. We felt very safe in the area. The breakfast was very good with more choices than similar hotels. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Employee theives . Left my phone charger plugged in room. We called and they said the room had not been cleaned and they would hold it for me. When i got there to pick it up, not only did i get the run around (housekeeping took keys home and can't check cleaning carts). When i insisted and wanted to talk to manager then finally room was checked and somehow was able to check carts. Yet they don't know where my charger is. Im to call back the next day. I have know dought that someone on their staff took it. NO MISTAKE it was left in the room. I would not recommend staying there if you do not want to find your valuables to go missing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kev3LosAngelas, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Guest did leave charger in the room, and returned later in the day to pick it up and it could not be located. Guest was impatient and could not wait for staff to locate the item which was in a maid cart and could not contact the manager on sunday and would not leave a message. Item was located after the guest left Sunday and when Mailed out for Free the Next Day. Our Staff prides itself on being responsible and professional, We ask that our guest to take a moment a give the staff a few minuets to check with other staff.

We Thank You for Business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolville, OH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Tulare and sayed at the Comfort Suites. The location was very convenient. I traveled with a group and we paid for 4 rooms with 2 queen beds beds but were upgraded to suites with 2 queens and a hide-a-bed. There was always plenty of coffee in the lobby, the staff was friendly and courteous, and the breakfast wasn't bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1021 North Blackstone, Tulare, CA 93274-7376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Tulare
Comfort Suites Tulare
Tulare Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.