We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and no elevator” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1021 North Blackstone, Tulare, CA 93274-7376   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hot and no elevator”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We checked into this hotel because it was close to Sequoria Natl Pk. The temperature at the time was triple digit (100+) and the AC in the room was not on when we checked in and it never did adequently cool the room down to a comfortable level. One of the reasons is probably because they do not run the air conditioner in the hallway. The hallway was miserable. PLEASE be aware that there is no elevator and if you are disabled you may be out of luck here. We were told there were no rooms available on the first floor (even though we checked in at 3 in the afternoon and the parking lot was almost empty). If you have trouble walking or with stairs, you'd better look for another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    35
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
21
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvin, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The property has been updated. I was told the carpet had recently been cleaned. Some areas where wet. Breakfast was adequate and well stocked. I booked room through Priceline which made it worth the price.The fitness room was hot.

Room Tip: A/C works very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights using it as a base to look at the murals in both Tulare and Exeter as well as a trip up to sequoia NP. All well worth a visit . The motel was good in all respects everything well located, plenty of power points etc. Breakfast was one of the better ones for this price range. Don't forget to visit the at machinery exhibit while in the area as well

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed for one night. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. We felt very safe in the area. The breakfast was very good with more choices than similar hotels. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Employee theives . Left my phone charger plugged in room. We called and they said the room had not been cleaned and they would hold it for me. When i got there to pick it up, not only did i get the run around (housekeeping took keys home and can't check cleaning carts). When i insisted and wanted to talk to manager then finally room was checked and somehow was able to check carts. Yet they don't know where my charger is. Im to call back the next day. I have know dought that someone on their staff took it. NO MISTAKE it was left in the room. I would not recommend staying there if you do not want to find your valuables to go missing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kev3LosAngelas, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Guest did leave charger in the room, and returned later in the day to pick it up and it could not be located. Guest was impatient and could not wait for staff to locate the item which was in a maid cart and could not contact the manager on sunday and would not leave a message. Item was located after the guest left Sunday and when Mailed out for Free the Next Day. Our Staff prides itself on being responsible and professional, We ask that our guest to take a moment a give the staff a few minuets to check with other staff.

We Thank You for Business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolville, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Tulare and sayed at the Comfort Suites. The location was very convenient. I traveled with a group and we paid for 4 rooms with 2 queen beds beds but were upgraded to suites with 2 queens and a hide-a-bed. There was always plenty of coffee in the lobby, the staff was friendly and courteous, and the breakfast wasn't bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, Cal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a value-priced facility that provides a very comfortable environment for a short or a long stay. The rooms are clean and well-appointed; the property is well maintained; the hot breakfast is excellent; staff is well trained and very accommodating. We stay here each year for three nights when attending a sports event in Visalia (short 10 miles away).

Room Tip: Back side may be slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1021 North Blackstone, Tulare, CA 93274-7376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Tulare
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tulare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Tulare
Comfort Suites Tulare
Tulare Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.