We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Cherries Coffee House

Wild Cherries Coffee House
11429 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-0441
530-582-5602
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 99 Restaurants in Truckee
Restaurant details
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Full of Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Just fell in love with Wild Cherries Coffee House. Had lunch there twice and just coffee once. The last time we had lunch there, we had the tuna melt. Shared that with my husband and it was plenty of food. My only disappointment was that each time they were out of scones. Never got to sample those. The coffee is great. This is the place you want to go to if you want to see some the locals also enjoying their coffee and food. There's outdoor seating, as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to get a vegan latte!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

While visiting friends in Soda Springs we took a drive into Truckee looking for the small downtown area. We couldn't find it and so pulled into Wild Cherries before heading out. The coffee shop is located in a busy parking lot with a view of busy Donner Pass Drive otherwise I would have given it a 5. They offer three different non-dairy milks for lattes. It is great to have options. The coffee was also very tasty. They also sell local pastries from Whole Treats which offers almost all gluten-free treats and several vegan, gluten-free pies and treats. I am glad we found it by accident!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wild Cherries Coffee House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

While on our recent trip to California, we were told of a restaurant called Wild Cherries Coffee House in Truckee. The friend who recommended it is also gluten intolerant and said "You have to check this place out." So we did. Wild Cherries offers a wide variety of baked goods, baked fresh daily, including pies, cakes, cookies, breads and more. In addition, Wild Cherries has daily-made breakfast and lunch specials, savory quiches, lasagne, enchiladas, and much more.

The food was excellent. The club sandwich that I ordered was approximately 3" to 4" in thickness and on gluten free bread. Instead of potato chips, the restaurant serves freshly made tortilla chips and salsa. My companion ordered the Yogi Salad, which is a high protein Salad. She said that it was an excellent salad made with fresh ingredients. Visitors to the restaurant also have the option of eating inside or outside and the prices are reasonable.

If you are in Truckee, California, it is well worth stopping and dining at Wild Cherries Coffee House. It is an excellent place to eat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Cheaper than Starbucks and much much better in every single way! It was a hoppin' place---very eclectic. Great energy. Great coffee and food and extremely reasonable prices especially for the area.


Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Local Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Very casual local spot for good coffee, light breakfast and/or lunch. Don't expect a "Euro" experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Cherries Coffee House also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Wild Cherries Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Cherries Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.