We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & great dining next door” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11331 Brockway Road, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
orange county, ca
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great value & great dining next door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here as they were converting to the Best Western branding. The location was very quiet, and the two restaurants next door (Japanese and Thai) were awesome. The hotel's breakfast was generally good, and the daily scrambled eggs, sausage and fruit met Hubby's gluten free needs, even if it did get repetitive. Nice to have the hot tea in the lobby each evening. We occasionally passed dogs in the hallways but otherwise never knew that they were there. We needed to have the desk clerk print our boarding passes as there wasn't a PC for guest use. Overall recommended.

( side note: We did have an annoyance though. We entered our second floor room to find the bathroom fan running... with no off switch in sight! That didn't seem right, for it to be going 24/7 even when no one was in the room, but the woman at the desk said there was nothing they could do. We were supposed to sleep with that noise all night? So engineer hubby took matters into his own hands and dinked with it (his technical term:-) and figured out it had a motion sensor that was set in the permanently on mode so he changed it to detect mode and man, it got so much quieter after that! No one else has mentioned an always-on fan in their review, so I hope it was just the one room and no longer an issue).

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
8
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I travel a lot for work, usually 4 nights a week. This is one of the best places I've stayed. The staff was friendly and had a great sense of humor. I checked in after midnight and they were just as friendly in the morning.

Room Tip: Dress in layers, this is high altitude area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Friendly staff, nice and comfortable rooms. Breakfast was very good, many choices available. The only problem was the remodel and construction noise in the morning. All in all I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We now know there was remodeling going on, but guests should be warned that there will be construction noise. This notification should have also been extended to when making reservations so customers could make an informed decision about where to stay. Trying to sleep in after arriving late was impossible, not happy with that.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your review of the Best Western Plus Hotel Truckee Tahoe. I apologize that you were unaware of the improvements we are making in our courtyard. We are very excited about the changes that are happening and cannot wait to show our guests the final product this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here because they allowed our dog to stay for $15.00. AAA gave us a good discount too. The location is pretty close to Tahoe. The workers were all very nice. The room was attractive for the price. I liked that you had a private sink area in the bathroom. I am pretty fussy with beds because of the one at home, but it was OK. We really liked the complimentary breakfast. the room for the breakfast looked like a little lodge. The scrambled eggs were really scrambled. Not those little phony looking folded over eggs. My husband liked that it included biscuits and gravy. Something different was refried beans too which taste good with scrambled eggs. Nice quiet music was on although there was also a TV.

Room Tip: towards the rear of the building would be better. Looks like they are in the process of building a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your time, reviewing our property. We do want to let the TA community know that our pet fee is a $50 one time charge. If you are bringing your pooch, we recommend staying a few days so they can scurry through the woods and jump in the lakes! We hope you and your family come back to the Truckee area soon.
Until next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All details are considered making Truckee-Tahoe a very nice and comfortable experience. There is a walking path and restaurants nearby. It is away from the downtown area making for a quiet night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are very fortunate to have such wonderful guests! Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad that you found the rooms were comfortable and quiet. We really love our location too, with restaurants next door, and the train far enough away to not bother your sleep. We really hope you visit us again soon.
Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms at the Best Western Truckee Tahoe are tastefully updated with super comfortable beds and linens. There is a big flat screen in the large room and the bathroom had a nice tub shower combo and was very clean. The breakfast was excellent and so much to choose from. Loved the waffle maker. I will definitely book this hotel for my next trip to Truckee. The front desk check people were very nice and it will be even better when the pool remodel is done.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very appreciative of your honest and kind sentiments. We hope you will come back soon and visit us again!
Safe journeys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel

Address: 11331 Brockway Road, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Truckee
#4 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#5 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly remodeled hotel in the heart of the Sierra Mountains. Near several ski resorts and beautiful Lake Tahoe, we are the best choice for accommodations in Truckee. We offer a free full hot breakfast to start your day of exploration off right. Each room is furnished with the most comfortable beds in Truckee, free wireless Internet, a mini-fridge and a microwave. We are conveniently located right next door to three outstanding restaurants. The fun and activities in the Truckee area are limitless, even us locals are always finding new and exciting things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Truckee
Truckee Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.