We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent, solid palce to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Truckee Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Truckee Tahoe to your Saves list
Hotel Truckee Tahoe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11331 Brockway Road, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
SF Bay Area, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A decent, solid palce to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I were traveling with our daughter, her two children, and two dogs. There is a small extra fee for the dogs. The rooms were typical motel rooms. You can esaily walk to serval restraurants, and ther is a small one on the premises. The complimentary breakfast was satisfactory. We choose to stay at Truckee instaed of the crowded Reno area with all of its casinos, and this place worked out well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    83
    30
    5
    6
See reviews for
59
59
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A fine place to stay. Pool/Hot tub, laundry, WiFi & restaurant on premises. Friendly staff & svc is great. Value is good $84.00 night. Breakfast was a hit. Lots to choose from, food was hot & svc. was great. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Stayed on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Comfortable, conveniently located, contemporary room for the price. Probably my only issue and it is a small one was how lackluster the staff is. My family and I went to the bar after check in and the server could not possibly have been more bored and removed. The staff at the front counter wasn't much different. If you can overlook that then staying here was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Formerly the Larkspur Inn, this hotel was a pleasant surprise on our trip through California Gold Country and the Lake Tahoe region. We spent a total of 6 nights on the road; this spot was the perfect location for our Truckee visit. The lemon and lime ice cold water at check in was such a nice colorful touch. White thick towels at this hotel were a welcome sight after a few nights of seeing thin and tattered towels at other places. The in room coffee was great, and the breakfast was far better than average. Staff all seemed friendly and they did their best to honor my request for a quiet room away from as much noise as possible. The room rate did not seem exorbitant and we will definitely return on our next visit to the Tahoe area!

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room they will try their darndest. Just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K M, General Manager at Hotel Truckee Tahoe, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi Steven,

Thank you so much for the glowing review of our hotel. Your warm sentiments are definitely appreciated! We look forward to your return!

Kate Mendez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced and offers many
amenities like free wi-fi, parking and breakfast,
plus they have yummy cookies in the lobby and
also sell the items most often needed while traveling,
Like Hall's tablets, aspirin, and other assorted items.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to
friends. The jacuzzi was very relaxing and the
atmosphere was welcoming.

Room Tip: Book directly if you have AARP or AAA as then you'll get 10% off. I don't think this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a terrific night at the Larkspur. Without planning in advance we showed up around 9pm and luckily they were able to accommodate us and our dog - even a special little squeaker toy for our pup. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helped with some late night dinner recommendations. The bed was comfortable and the room large.
Thanks for the great service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie I, Manager at Hotel Truckee Tahoe, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are always striving to improve and your feedback allows us to focus on what our customers want most.

Please keep us in mind when your travels bring you back to beautiful Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The room was clean, not very quiet. You could hear running water from the showers upstairs and noise in the hallway. Ask for an upstair exterior room for better view. Breakfast was included and had the normal faire.

Room Tip: Thought the cost was a bit high for the location, season and accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Truckee Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Truckee Tahoe

Address: 11331 Brockway Road, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Truckee Tahoe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In Truckee? Grab your skis or snowboard and hit the slopes. Strap on some ice skates and practice your figure eights. Or maybe some sledding with the kids. Rustic and rich with history, the town of Truckee hums with activity all year round. Its spirited surroundings in the Lake Tahoe area are home to beautiful ski resorts, peaceful fishing spots, countless hiking trails, flowing rivers ideal for rafting excursions, and more-and at the heart of it all is Larkspur Hotel Truckee-Tahoe. With a location near Donner Lake and the Truckee River, at the base of the picturesque Sierra Nevada mountains, the hotel's proximity to some of Northern California's finest ski resorts makes it the perfect winter destination for enthusiasts of all levels and its closeness to Lake Tahoe draws families looking to soak up everything its pristine waters have to offer during the summer months. Travelers who appreciate outdoor activities and warm, authentic lodging will agree: There's no better place from which to enjoy the vast surroundings and activities that the Sierras have to offer than the Hotel Truckee-Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Truckee Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Truckee
Truckee Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Truckee Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.