We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11331 Brockway Road, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Fine Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A fine place to stay. Pool/Hot tub, laundry, WiFi & restaurant on premises. Friendly staff & svc is great. Value is good $84.00 night. Breakfast was a hit. Lots to choose from, food was hot & svc. was great. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Stayed on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    94
    34
    6
    7
See reviews for
71
67
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Comfortable, conveniently located, contemporary room for the price. Probably my only issue and it is a small one was how lackluster the staff is. My family and I went to the bar after check in and the server could not possibly have been more bored and removed. The staff at the front counter wasn't much different. If you can overlook that then staying here was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Formerly the Larkspur Inn, this hotel was a pleasant surprise on our trip through California Gold Country and the Lake Tahoe region. We spent a total of 6 nights on the road; this spot was the perfect location for our Truckee visit. The lemon and lime ice cold water at check in was such a nice colorful touch. White thick towels at this hotel were a welcome sight after a few nights of seeing thin and tattered towels at other places. The in room coffee was great, and the breakfast was far better than average. Staff all seemed friendly and they did their best to honor my request for a quiet room away from as much noise as possible. The room rate did not seem exorbitant and we will definitely return on our next visit to the Tahoe area!

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room they will try their darndest. Just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi Steven,

Thank you so much for the glowing review of our hotel. Your warm sentiments are definitely appreciated! We look forward to your return!

Kate Mendez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced and offers many
amenities like free wi-fi, parking and breakfast,
plus they have yummy cookies in the lobby and
also sell the items most often needed while traveling,
Like Hall's tablets, aspirin, and other assorted items.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to
friends. The jacuzzi was very relaxing and the
atmosphere was welcoming.

Room Tip: Book directly if you have AARP or AAA as then you'll get 10% off. I don't think this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a terrific night at the Larkspur. Without planning in advance we showed up around 9pm and luckily they were able to accommodate us and our dog - even a special little squeaker toy for our pup. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helped with some late night dinner recommendations. The bed was comfortable and the room large.
Thanks for the great service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are always striving to improve and your feedback allows us to focus on what our customers want most.

Please keep us in mind when your travels bring you back to beautiful Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The room was clean, not very quiet. You could hear running water from the showers upstairs and noise in the hallway. Ask for an upstair exterior room for better view. Breakfast was included and had the normal faire.

Room Tip: Thought the cost was a bit high for the location, season and accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I usually stay at 3 hotels consistently when going skiing in Tahoe; Squaw Valley Lodge, Hampton Inn and Plumpjack Inn at Squaw.

Being that is late season and the ski conditions aren't so good I wanted to stay at the lowest price hotel since it was a quick 2 day trip and I was alone. The location of this hotel is prime, being centrally located in Downtown Truckee and within a 15 minute or so drive to Squaw, Alpine and Northstar.

The rooms were clean and reasonably nice. The king size bed was very comfortable and there is a great desk in the room for your laptop. The Internet is free and quite fast.

The TVs in the room are very old and quite small however. These could be easily updated for a low cost 32 inch flat screen.

The one thing that I noticed in the room was that there was a towel that looked a bit old, which stood out to me since hotel towels are always so clean and white.

The pool and hot tub area is so so and is nothing to rant about.

The gym seemed to be very nice although a bit small however it is in proportion to the size of the hotel.

Overall this hotel is pretty good value. The staff was generally friendly, especially the younger gals. There was one front desk woman who was a bit cold which is unusual in such a friendly town.

If your looking for a cheaply priced hotel for a quick weekend ski trip then this place will do. Hampton Inn is substantially nicer however it is a bit more expensive.





  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi KeepSquawBlue,

Thank you for sharing your stay at the Hotel Truckee Tahoe. I am very happy to inform you that we will be upgrading several of our amenities, including our televisions this season. Our hotel is going through several exciting changes right now, all to enhance our guest experience. We hope you get to take advantage of them when your travels take you back up to Hotel Truckee Tahoe!

Kate Mendez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel

Address: 11331 Brockway Road, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Truckee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly remodeled hotel in the heart of the Sierra Mountains. Near several ski resorts and beautiful Lake Tahoe, we are the best choice for accommodations in Truckee. We offer a free full hot breakfast to start your day of exploration off right. Each room is furnished with the most comfortable beds in Truckee, free wireless Internet, a mini-fridge and a microwave. We are conveniently located right next door to three outstanding restaurants. The fun and activities in the Truckee area are limitless, even us locals are always finding new and exciting things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Truckee
Truckee Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.