We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Truckee Donner Lodge

Save Saved
You added Truckee Donner Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Truckee Donner Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   10527 Cold Stream Road, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Modesto, Ca
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“No Complaints!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over 4th of July. Hotel was busy, however service was very efficient. Rooms are clean and beds are super comfy. Nice and close to Donner Lake and downtown Truckee. We did not use the pool area. It did look very nice and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Memoies,
Glad you had a wonderful stay! Our staff really works hard to give our guests the best experience. Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    71
    25
    10
    10
See reviews for
60
38
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, arrived late at night, the older lady at the desk was so very helpfull to our family. She brought extra towles, pillows for our family at 2 am in the morning, she ialso very informative about the local area. The rooms were clean, the breakfast filling... We will be back as long as Lisa is at the front desk!
Joan and Jack from Michigan

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Brenda H,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our lodge! Our staff team is very guest focused and we are glad that they exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. Truckee is a wonderful area and hope you were able to enjoy all we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I originally picked this hotel for the price and was not expecting much. But was pleasantly surprised it was so clean and quiet. Not a lot of amenities as far as gym or spa etc. But the pool was clean and peaceful. It is right next to the freeway and we heard NO freeway noise. The breakfast was simple but filling. You can walk to the State Park next to the hotel and to store and food. A bit of a walk but not far. Hotel was quiet. Did not hear a lot of noise from other guests. I would highly recommend and will be back to stay again. Great value for families.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Neenach1,
Thank you for staying with us and our pleased that we exceeded your expectations. Our goal is to provide our guests with a great stay and accommodations. Being next to the State park is one huge benefit to our guests. They have excellent trails which is just footsteps from our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Check out our website at www.truckeedonnerlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

all rooms are clean and quiet. Over the years we have stayed on all floors and all sides of the motel and haven't found a spot that wasn't quiet. There is easy access to the freeway and it is an easy walk to Donner Lake .

Room Tip: I don't think that there is a bad room. The quietest might be the meadow side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Barbara C,

My sincere thanks for your wonderful review. I am so glad that our lodge has become your "home away from home." Our staff works really hard to provide each of our guests with a great stay. We look forward to your return stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shasta Lake, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were reccomended this motel to stay in as my cousin was getting married in Truckee. We paid $100 for the night. It was the cheapest and best looking motel that I found in Truckee. They let us check in early since the wedding started at 230 which was nice. The room was really clean and beds were comfortable. It was really quiet. We got down for breakfast late, only 10 min till it was done. But there was still good cereal, yogurt, fruit and coffee.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Jeanie W,
Thank you for staying with us at the Truckee Donner Lodge. We are pleased that you had a five star stay with us and we are so appreciative of your review. Congratulations to your cousin on getting married. We hope to see you again when you travels bring you back to Truckee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The staff were very pleasant and,helpful We had some guest over to the pool and the girl at the counter, saw them arrive and brought out extra towels for them.Helped us plan our days with helpful hints as to where to go for the best scenery for the time we had that day. The rooms were very big and the beds I have a bad back , were very comfortable.Breakfast was included, I have a dairy intolerence, so items were limited to me,but I did not go hungry with what they supplied. Chris from RI.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Christine M,
I am so pleased you had a great stay with us. Our staff works extra hard to provide each and everyone of our guest with a great stay. We believe in the little touches that make us different from the larger chains. If your travels ever bring you back to truckee, please know that you are welcome at the Truckee Donner Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay while exploring Donner Pass and the Pacific Crest Trail. This was a great location just off highway 80. The hotel is clean and comfortable. We arrived at 2am after flying into Sacramento and the night clerk was very friendly.

The included breakfast was pretty minimal but I would say average for this price point.

I would stay here again on my next Truckee/Tahoe visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear GaPeppy,
Thank you for staying with us and hope you had a great time exploring Donner Pass and the Pacific Crest Trail. There is so much to do and see in Truckee in each of the four seasons. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Truckee Donner Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truckee Donner Lodge

Address: 10527 Cold Stream Road, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Truckee Donner Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the town of Truckee amidst mountains, lakes, alpines and meadows, the Truckee Donner Lodge is a warm relaxing space so you can rest and recharge. Our lodge combines modern luxuries and contemporary decor with the traditional amenities and architecture of a country lodge. Whether you are on the ultimate ski vacation, traveling for business or just need a weekend getaway, the Truckee Donner Lodge offers exceptional amenities.Our guest rooms and feature rooms are simple and serene. Each appointed with a large flat screen TV, refrigerator, coffee pot, wet bar and microwave. Complimentary hi-speed wireless access is available throughout the lodge.Share your day's activities with friends in our lobby with fireplace; or, relax your muscles and admire the stars from our Hot Tub. Cool off during the warm summer days in our outdoor pool—the views of the alpines are magnificent.Wake up each morning to a deluxe Hot Continental Breakfast. Our breakfast bar offers a wide variety of choices including hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit yogurt, scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, bacon, bagels, toast, and muffins.It’s all delicious, all complimentary and all waiting for you at the Newly Remodeled Truckee Donner Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Truckee Donner Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truckee Donner Hotel Truckee
Holiday Inn Truckee
Truckee Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truckee Donner Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.