We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definately stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Truckee Donner Lodge

Save Saved
You added Truckee Donner Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Truckee Donner Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   10527 Cold Stream Road, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Would definately stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

While planning a road trip from Sacramento, I searched for hotels close to Lake Tahoe. I read reviews about this one and booked it. We arrived very late at night. The hotel was nice in appearance on the outside and was nice on the inside. The desk person was very pleasant as well. The room was very nice...we only stayed one night, but I could have stayed there much longer. I woke to a view of a bright, blue sky and large pine trees from the big window...and I got up to see that there is a stream out back as well.
The hotel was easy to find and very convenient for driving to/from Lake Tahoe. The breakfast area isn't huge, but there is plenty of seating and the hotel offered enough food like any other Holiday Inn type hotel.
No need to wonder about this hotel...for the price, location, and proximity to Tahoe, this is your best bet. I'm working on another trip to Lake Tahoe and plan to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Y. R.,
Thank you too for your great review and comments about our hotel and service. We look forward to seeing you on your return trip and if there is anything we can do to improve our service and value category rating, please let us know. Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    68
    24
    10
    10
See reviews for
59
35
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We come back to the Truckee Donner Lodge every Memorial Day Weekend to enjoy a comfortable place to stay while we produce the Truckee Home and Building Show just a mile down the road. It is so impressive to see the same friendly staff throughout the hotel each year. They truly know how to keep good people. The staff is accommodating, warm and extends themselves during our stay in so many ways. During our recent trip we called for a 3 a.m. wake-up call to get out for an early departure fishing excursion. We were so touched when we came down to the lobby to find that breakfast had been set out early just for us. This is the kind of personal care that has kept us coming back for about six years now. Additionally, the rooms a nicely appointed and very clean. The beds are comfortable. We get good Wi-Fi reception and there is nice working space in our room. Breakfast is great, offering a good selection of hot and cold entrees including fresh fruit. The location is excellent being right on the edge of Donner Memorial State Park for hiking and water recreation, while still centrally located near everything in the Town of Truckee. We enjoy walking along the river that exits from Donner Lake and flows right along the side of the Lodge. On this trip we were able to see a beaver dam crossing the waterway. Being right off Hwy 80, it is quick to head over to Lake Tahoe, up to Donner Summit or even down to Reno.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Pam N,
Wow, thank you for the awesome, detailed review about your recent stay. We always look forward to having you stay with us! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband & I took a train ride to Truckee, on May 2013, & stayed at the Truckee Donner Lodge. We enjoyed our stay over there. It is a good value. The rooms are of good size, clean & nicely decorated. The staff are very friendly & helpful. It is in a good location, right off I-80, and more importantly in spring, it is close to a lot of trail heads. It's, also, close to Donner Lake. They serve a free, good breakfast--eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuit & gravy. The only thing it lacks, which I wished they have, is a restaurant & bar nearby. For this reason, I gave it a a rating of 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Tripper121212,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff works really hard to give our guests a wonderful experience. The restaurants are all in close driving distance but many of our guests enjoy being next to the hiking areas just steps from our front door, We hope when you come back to Truckee, you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just returned from an overnight stay at the Truckee Donner Lodge. This is actually the old Holiday Inn Express. It is very conveniently located right off I-80, and is 2 exits West of the main Truckee shopping / restaurant area.

The hotel is clean and functional, with a decent breakfast (bagels, eggs, cereal, etc...standard Economy hotel fare) and complementary wifi with good connection speeds. There is also a pool and hot tub.

The hotel is very convenient to Sugar Bowl and not too bad for Squaw, etc.

Overall, an excellent choice for overnight stays while skiing, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear VivekSub,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, We are very glad we met your expectations and found us to be an excellent place to stay for Truckee and Sierra activities. We hope to see you again soon.

P.S. We hope you take advantage of all the summer activites in the Sierras!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This lodge is conveniently located near Tahoe Donner Downhill Ski area. The lodge isn’t really what I think of when I think of a lodge. It’s more like a 3 star hotel. The lodge does not have a restaurant or a bar but they do serve breakfast in the morning and the selection is pretty good, they had eggs and bacon along with yogurt, cereal, sweet rolls and bread. The rooms look like they have been recently renovated and they have incorporated some mountain character in the lamps and art work. The paint, furniture and carpet seem to be new and everything was clean. There is a small refrigerator and a microwave. The temperature in the room was great, it wasn’t too cold and it never got too hot. The pillows were too firm but the bed was comfortable. Our room overlooked the forest behind the lodge which was very pretty. The other side of the lodge seems to face the highway; I suggest requesting a room facing the forest away from the highway. The service was friendly and parking was easy. The lodge is also very close to downtown Truckee which is filled with places to eat. The BBQ place right down the road, Smokey’s is really good with a great selection.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear vacationjunkie030,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Truckee Donner Lodge. We are pleased that you like the renovation of our rooms and common areas. We recently upgraded all of our rooms and we have received many positive comments. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Truckee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and our three small children stayed here in March 2013 for the first time and I'm sure we'll be back in the future. Nice staff, clean room, good breakfast service, and a comfortable "lobby/lounge" area. Only took 15 minutes to ski in Tahoe City and less than 15 to get up to Donner Ski Ranch. Overall it was a great value and very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Scott H,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing an excellent value and a location that is central to all things in the Sierra Mountains. We look forward to seeing you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Conveniently located for North Tahoe ski resorts. Breakfast buffet (limited) included. We slept on the second floor and had not issues with noise. Front-desk has map of nearby restaurants. Bathroom and rooms very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear GS0001,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Glad you enjoyed our property and hope you stay with us again. If there is anything we can provide to you on a future stay, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Truckee Donner Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truckee Donner Lodge

Address: 10527 Cold Stream Road, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Truckee Donner Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the town of Truckee amidst mountains, lakes, alpines and meadows, the Truckee Donner Lodge is a warm relaxing space so you can rest and recharge. Our lodge combines modern luxuries and contemporary decor with the traditional amenities and architecture of a country lodge. Whether you are on the ultimate ski vacation, traveling for business or just need a weekend getaway, the Truckee Donner Lodge offers exceptional amenities.Our guest rooms and feature rooms are simple and serene. Each appointed with a large flat screen TV, refrigerator, coffee pot, wet bar and microwave. Complimentary hi-speed wireless access is available throughout the lodge.Share your day's activities with friends in our lobby with fireplace; or, relax your muscles and admire the stars from our Hot Tub. Cool off during the warm summer days in our outdoor pool—the views of the alpines are magnificent.Wake up each morning to a deluxe Hot Continental Breakfast. Our breakfast bar offers a wide variety of choices including hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit yogurt, scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, bacon, bagels, toast, and muffins.It’s all delicious, all complimentary and all waiting for you at the Newly Remodeled Truckee Donner Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Truckee Donner Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truckee Donner Hotel Truckee
Holiday Inn Truckee
Truckee Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truckee Donner Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.