We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the spacious, clean villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Old Greenwood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Old Greenwood Resort to your Saves list
Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Old Greenwood Resort
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   12915 Fairway Drive, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Loved the spacious, clean villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in a 3-BR villa and loved it. The large back patio facing the driving range and large hot tub were a great place to relax. The villa had large, comfortable rooms and tons of closet space. Our only small complaint would be that it was quite dark; even the existing lights seemed to be fitted with low-wattage bulbs which seemed kind of odd. But small complaint; overall the place was excellent. One night we had problems working the DVD player and within minutes a friendly person from property management was at our door to help us. The pool and fitness center is just across the street from the villas, and the workout facilities were large and only had a handful of people using them no matter what time of day I showed up. The family pool was crowded and loud with screaming kids when we were there, but there was also an adult pool which seemed to only have 2-3 people using it during our entire stay. A poolside restaurant was also a nice and convenient amenity. Overall this place isn't cheap, but I left feeling like I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Old Greenwood Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
We're so glad you had a great stay at Old Greenwood, Pinot118. Please come again & enjoy!
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I highly recommend Old Greenwood as a perfect place for rest and relaxation in the mountains. The resort is located outside of Truckee, away of the Tahoe/Truckee tourist crowds. The resort has all modern conveniences in its cabins and townhouses, but set on an idyllic, tree-filled mountain property - including a beautiful golf-course. The clubhouse has pools, spas and children's game room. You won't regret choosing this location for your next mountain vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We just returned from our 8th summer week at Old Greenwood. This resort has it all. There is no reason to leave. The cabins are 1st class with all bedrooms having there own baths. pool table in the loft and hot tub on the deck looking out at the golf course. There is a world class
golf experience. The activities pavilion has a large gym with great equipment and classes for all
interests. There is a spa to indulge yourself. While you are working out the kids can go to the
activities room or crafts room. They love it! There are two pools, one for families, with a slide.
and one for adults. Plenty of room for all.
We have had a shared ownership cabin here for 8 years and we love it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Wonderful cabins. Great workout facilities. Cool pool. Views to die for.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Old Greenwood Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review for your stay in our cabins at Old Greenwood! I totally agree with you about the views, my favorite is the view from the 16th hole of the Old Greenwood golf course. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We went to Old Greenwood for a family reunion this summer. Tahoe is beautiful in the summer. It's got a quiet, lazy and peaceful vibe to it different from the snowy winters, which is also beautiful.
Someone in the family has a fractional ownership - and loves the place so much that we all ended up there. Each family rented their own townhome or villa.
We loved that each townhome has its own driveway and parking garage. They actually are built to feel like you're in your own separate house. The proximity of other property to each other is well spaced, so it didn't feel cluttered at all. We stayed in a three bedroom 3 bedroom, 3 1/2 bath townhome. We loved the high ceilings, the high end kitchen appliances and materials. It's beautifully decorated to match the mountain theme. We had a great view of a natural pond off the golf course. Apparently it's a good place to go fly-fishing in the morning.
I agree with another post about how easy it is to get to. It's right off of the I-80 just past downtown Truckee. Once you exit, you go down a small street and you're immediately thrust into a feeling of privacy and seclusion. They developed this area and maintained its natural setting.
Big kudos for the water feature for kids and the swimming pools. The largest pool is a zero entry swimming pool meaning that it has a gradual entry. GREAT for young kids! We loved that and more importantly so did our toddler son. We also loved the water slide. It landed you in shallow water.
Food and service was decent at the pool. It had nice clean bathrooms and showers. Towels were readily available. We loved that it wasn't that crowded there. Much better than staying in a hotel. Of course weekends are much busier - Monday was even more quiet and much more pleasant.
Old Greenwood also has a spa and the gym looked great. They have some exercise classes that you can take. It's a beautiful resort and we never even left while we were there. Looks like we will be here again. It's a great place for families and it's close to everything!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Old Greenwood Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the townhomes at Old Greenwood! I am happy to hear that your family had a fantastic reunion and that you were able to enjoy the residence itself as well as many of the facilities that are available at Old Greenwood. I say it quite often, but Old Greenwood is a special, gathering place for friends and families and I truly believe that your review is just another testament to that. I hope to see your entire extended family back at Old Greenwood soon but if it's just you and your immediate family, that would be wonderful as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

My aunt has a time share here & this is our 2nd trip out for a week. We really enjoy it. Great for the kids. Spacious & well equipped unit & beautiful pool. Good food & reasonably priced at the pool.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Old Greenwood Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Welcome Back to Old Greenwood and thank you for taking the time to review our resort and properties. Without a doubt, you and your family are aware that you have found a hidden treasure in North Lake Tahoe. You all have done a fantastic job enjoying so much that Old Greenwood offers our guests. I too love the pools! I truly hope this is just the beginning of a family tradition for you all and look forward to seeing you here again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

My family, extended family, and friends from all over the country have been coming up to OG for over 5 yrs now and I wanted to write a review because this place is fantastic, and the staff deserves kudos for sure!
They have truly thought of everything when they built this place.
To start off, the resort is very easy to get to and it is close to downtown Truckee, shopping, and restaurants. It is also a 10 minute drive to Northstar, 40 minutes to Reno airport and if you want to gamble you can hit the Hyatt at King's Beach about 35 minutes away. Our family usually comes during ski season but summertime is fantastic too. The cabins are very nice, great kitchen, king size beds, fireplaces etc.
They have 3 great swimming pools, one for the kiddies, a community pool with a water slide and lifeguards on duty, and a lap pool in a more secluded area if you want to chillax.
They have waiters at poolside bringing you drinks and food, and if you want to eat inside they have a very cool little cafe inside the pavilion.
They also have great tennis courts, and you can sign up for a lesson ( my 10 year old son took a group lesson and loved it) The instructor was a very upbeat, enthusiastic lady who was great with the kids. I don't golf but my Father in law is an avid golfer and said the course is "first rate".
If you have kids , they also have a" kids club" in the pavilion with a game room, and computers and a pool table, and they also offer "movie night"(dinner included) , so you and you're husband can drop off the kids and go out to dinner and they take care of everything else. They also have a smaller "kids club" for the younger kids with an attached playground. There is also a little store in the pavilion if you need to pick up some groceries but don't feel like driving into town. They also have a shuttle service that runs daily to Northstar if you don't want to drive. The Alpine Club, Schaffer's camp and the Wild goose are just some of the things that are so fantastic about OG, it is really hard to beat!
OG also has a GREAT gym and spa and the ladies locker room has a wonderful steam room. I will tell you that a few of the lockers were not working but they had others that were so it wasn't a big deal.
The staff at the front desk are friendly, competent and helpful. The maintenance staff has ALWAYS been great as well, if anything was broken or not working properly they are on it. Every year we have 2 full cabins full of friends coming to visit, simply because OLD GREENWOOD is a beautiful place with so many great amenities, a stellar staff and a top notch vacation experience!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Old Greenwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Old Greenwood Resort

Address: 12915 Fairway Drive, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Old Greenwood Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Greenwood is a vibrant four-season resort, set amidst an award-winning Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course. Nestled on 600 pine-studded acres, Old Greenwood offers mountain living at its finest, with three and four-bedroom villas, cabins and town homes, and custom estate homes. Each property includes a chef's kitchen with slab granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances, great room with natural stone fireplace, two-car garage, private deck showcasing golf and mountain views. Some residences also have a loft with billiard table and private hot tub. At the center of this community is Old Greenwood Pavilion, featuring a fitness center, tennis courts, family and adult swimming pools, kid's water park and slide, basketball and bocce courts, a game room, spa, Bearfoot Bar & Grill and more. In the winter enjoy complimentary shuttle service throughout the day to Northstar California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Old Greenwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Old Greenwood Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Old Greenwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.