We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Get-Away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast
10070 Gregory Place, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Midweek Romance Package
Ranked #1 of 5 Truckee B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Get-Away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Donner Lake Inn is a great get-away spot. It is not far from the bay area, but feels a million miles away. It is very peaceful, yet close to skiing, the cute town of Truckee and Donner Lake is a short walk away!
Each breakfast is a treat prepared fresh each morning. It was nice to return in the late afternoon and enjoy some wine and cheese in the great room.
We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Excellent B & B with good access to Donner Lake. The B & B is well maintained with attractive rooms & common areas. The beds are comfortable and the linens and towels are of excellent quality. Thick robes are provided and the rooms are heated with gas burning stoves. There is a new hot tub on the property and we enjoyed it under the stars. The owners (Paul and Mindy) are relatively new owners but are everything you expect from the owners. They were very friendly and helpful and their personalities are great. They provided wine, cheese and crackers in the evening. The breakfast was fantastic and honored Vet's day with Red, White and Blue French Toast as well as other breakfast choices.
We have stayed at many B & B's and this ranks among the best that we have been at.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be comparable in amenities and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I have been the the Donner Lake Inn many times. We have stayed at "The Squirrels Nest" too... Love the hard wood former basketball floors. At the Inn, Tino has done a lot of upgrades over the years. It's always like spending the weekend with old friends. Food is always great.

Truckee is a fun town to shop in. There is a lot of history in the area. Skiing or boating or just a great hike by the lake is fun.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn with my small daughter during the holiday period between Christmas and NY. The place is really nice, Mary and Tino are very warm people and the inn itself is clean, tidy and cozy. Will stay there every time i plan ski vacation in the area

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed here with my wife and four children a couple days before Christmas. My children particularly enjoyed the family room, which was festively decorated. While there was no snow, the kids were able to stay entertained with the countless DVDs and board games provided. My family also enjoyed the homemade breakfast that Mary, the hostess, prepared. The hosts were very welcoming and recommended numerous restaurants for our family to dine in.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This inn is very welcoming. The beds are excellent and our room was quiet with a beautiful view into the trees on the property. The owners are very warm people and provide a lovely common space for reading. The deck off the breakfast/great room is very relaxing and a good spot to bird-watch! The great room is prettier than the photos on the website. This is a perfect place to stay when we want to be near downtown Truckee.

Room Tip: See the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

My husband, myself and 21 year old daughter stayed here for four nights. Mary and Tino are the most cordial owners of any B & B we've ever stayed at. Mary made the
greatest breakfasts and we took the opportunity of take a sunset cruise on Donner
Lake. We brought two friends along and Mary, Tino, my family and friends all had a
wonderful time. Our friends and we are thinking of returning for a week to enjoy beautiful
Donner Lake and Tahoe as well as Donner Lake Inn and the hospitality provided by
Mary and Tino. This is a great place to stay if you are in the Tahoe/Donner area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 10070 Gregory Place, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain lodge across the street from Donner Lake sits on two acres of forest along Gregory Creek, just 2 miles off Interstate 80. Each guest room in a separate wing has a private entrance, gas fireplace, flat screen TV, and private bath. Families will appreciate comfortable public rooms with fireplace, books, games, and large-screen TV, free WiFi, and the year-round hot-tub. Public beach and boat launch are a block away, and major downhill and cross country ski areas are within a half-dozen miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.