We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, warm hosts good location for skiing at sugar bowl” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast
10070 Gregory Place, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Truckee B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good place, warm hosts good location for skiing at sugar bowl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn with my small daughter during the holiday period between Christmas and NY. The place is really nice, Mary and Tino are very warm people and the inn itself is clean, tidy and cozy. Will stay there every time i plan ski vacation in the area

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed here with my wife and four children a couple days before Christmas. My children particularly enjoyed the family room, which was festively decorated. While there was no snow, the kids were able to stay entertained with the countless DVDs and board games provided. My family also enjoyed the homemade breakfast that Mary, the hostess, prepared. The hosts were very welcoming and recommended numerous restaurants for our family to dine in.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This inn is very welcoming. The beds are excellent and our room was quiet with a beautiful view into the trees on the property. The owners are very warm people and provide a lovely common space for reading. The deck off the breakfast/great room is very relaxing and a good spot to bird-watch! The great room is prettier than the photos on the website. This is a perfect place to stay when we want to be near downtown Truckee.

Room Tip: See the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

My husband, myself and 21 year old daughter stayed here for four nights. Mary and Tino are the most cordial owners of any B & B we've ever stayed at. Mary made the
greatest breakfasts and we took the opportunity of take a sunset cruise on Donner
Lake. We brought two friends along and Mary, Tino, my family and friends all had a
wonderful time. Our friends and we are thinking of returning for a week to enjoy beautiful
Donner Lake and Tahoe as well as Donner Lake Inn and the hospitality provided by
Mary and Tino. This is a great place to stay if you are in the Tahoe/Donner area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Everything was well arranged, and the innkeepers were fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Inn in the "Sanford Court" room. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a smile. Mary and Tino are very warm and accommodating innkeepers. The room was quiet, clean and cozy and the breakfast was spectacular. Though I have no other B&B experience to compare it to, I am almost afraid to try another elsewhere in fear of disappointment. The Inn is easy to find and very close to downtown. It’s within walking distance to Donner Lake and many restaurants. I would definitely stay again and again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

My husband, 3 year old son, and I had a memorable stay at the Donner Lake Inn over the Easter weekend. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted so warmly from Mary, she offered us drinks and snacks right away and really succeeded in getting my family to unwind in her home! After chatting with Mary that first night, my husband and I returned to our room feeling like we've known Mary for years, like she was part of our family!
We stayed in the Kensington Room, which was cozy, especially liked the gas fireplace in the room.
Breakfast was delicious! Pancakes from scratch, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, it was all good.
The location was great, easy Hwy 80 access, and very close to downtown Truckee.
Somehow the Easter bunny managed to find us at Donner Lake Inn, the eggs were waiting to be found at 7:30 in the morning! Our son was so delighted-he has not stopped talking about his "hunt"! (Thanks, Mary)
We were so pleased with our stay, we can't wait to go back and create new family memories-the Donner Lake Inn will be included as part of our annual snow trip tradition!

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 10070 Gregory Place, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain lodge across the street from Donner Lake sits on two acres of forest along Gregory Creek, just 2 miles off Interstate 80. Each guest room in a separate wing has a private entrance, gas fireplace, flat screen TV, and private bath. Families will appreciate comfortable public rooms with fireplace, books, games, and large-screen TV, free WiFi, and the year-round hot-tub. Public beach and boat launch are a block away, and major downhill and cross country ski areas are within a half-dozen miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.