We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cedar House Sport Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cedar House Sport Hotel
Save Saved
You added The Cedar House Sport Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10918 Brockway Rd., Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Modern Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for a week at the Cedar House in Truckee.

The Room: nice size room and very chic. It had a day bed for seating and extra bed and a desk. The bathroom is large and very clean. Large walk in Shower, no tub. We had a spacious deck with chairs and a table. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were great- nice and soft. The room has a small fridge and they provide two bottles of water each day as well as a coffee machine. Two complaints: the room was dark and not enough storage space for our stuff.

Service: wonderful, helpful staff with information about the area, activities, etc.

Breakfast: absolutely great breakfast. We stayed for a week and they didn't repeat the changing entree once. They always have yogurt with fruit and granola and cereal, oatmeal and eggs. The restaurant pastry chef makes the breads x the bagels. Fresh food prepared on site, it's a real treat.

Lobby etc: nice, modern space with lots of wood creating a warm welcoming environment. The outdoor space looks nice (we were there in winter). They have a full bar in the lobby and serve a nice snack in the afternoon. The hotel is not far from town and it is walkable though much of that is along the side of the road without a sidewalk. There is a bike path across the street.

I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Truckee.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    39
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
37
76
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during our recent ski trip to Lake Tahoe. The accommodation is comfortable and adequate as a base for a ski trip. We skied at NorthStar which was a comfortable 10/15 minutes drive.
I found that the hotel has very little storage space and the bathroom was tiny, so navigating around a family of four was sometimes difficult.
The restaurant was the highlight. The food was very good with an excellent wine list and service to match.
I'm not sure if I'd stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times during ski season over the past 2 winters. I haven't written a review before because it's my secret go-to hotel for a fabulous European style stay at affordable prices. Prices are reasonable, even during ski season and I love the European style decor of this hotel. The entire staff are professional and very helpful with special kudos to the front desk staff who stayed past midnight waiting for me to arrive during a horrendous snowstorm during one of my visits. Prices include a good buffet breakfast and evening hors d'ouvres. One of the best restaurants in the area, called Stella, is also onsite.

My only complaint is that due to the eco-construction/design of the hotel, the rooms naturally retain a lot of heat. So much so that the rooms are too hot at night and the air gets unbelievably dry, which made sleeping/breathing very difficult. We had to leave the balcony door slightly open (even though it was winter with snow falling) to cool the room and try to get some moisture in the air. They should provide humidifiers in the rooms. And while you are very close to Northstar, it does take at least 30-45 minutes to get to Squaw Valley, even without traffic.

Room Tip: Reservations are a must if you want to dine at Stella, their onsite restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Good: everything and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Room was ready for checkin. Staff very efficient/helpful. Good value breakfast buffet included.

"Not good" (not "bad" either, but noteworthy):

(While I've been around the US and Asia for leisure and business travel, I am not exactly a World Traveller enough to know what a Euro-Funk accommodation would really be like. But if I could imagine such a place, this property would be it for me. I imagined a weird stream of consciousness with an Austin Powers movie scene, a Hammer Film, and the long haired blonde guy in the TV commercial for the Swedish coffee)

So if you want a clean place to sleep in a great and convenient location, helpful staff and the most elegant and comfortable bed/bedding combo you can imagine, this is your place.

Moreover,

If you remember to bring your own creamer since the in room coffee making stuff didn't include any;

If you don't mind bathing in a tub that's too shallow to immerse your inflamed knee;

If it's no biggie for you to lug baggage to your upper floor room via an outdoor staircase (that may be icy in the ski season) because there's no elevator;

If you're comfortable sitting in a "hard" chairs or metal stool that look like Euro-funk to me to rest your tired legs after hiking or skiing;

If you don't need a closet or wardrobe;

If a vanity in the bathroom that's so low it'd be at the perfect height for your pre-schooler also works for you;

If you don't need space in the small room to place your ski boots, snowboards/skis without tripping over them;

If you can drive yourself to the slopes in your own vehicle;

If you know ahead of time to bring your own bar of soap for bathing/showering(*);

If you don't care about finding the provided towels neatly folded in a basket on the floor instead of on racks or shelves, and are OK with draping them on hooks on the wall instead of on racks;

If you remember to close the lid on the toilet before you make the flush that is so powerful that a little bit of water may splash from the bowl to the nearby basket of clean towels that's on the floor;

then this place is the place for you!

During most ski seasons we spend a night at a property in that area on our way to the slopes.

We pay about the same price, for a more "non-Euro-funkish" accommodation that's more practical for skiers/snowboarders, and with touches that are more amenable to un-hip/un-cool workaday Americans like us. Even though we're SF Bay Areans, we're not so Cool and Hip enough as to "get it". If we want Euro-funk, we'll do budget travel to Europe some time.

(*) The tub/shower combo has wall mounted dispensers labeled for shampoo, conditioner, and some other liquid that I could not figure out what it was (what is didn't say was "liquid soap"). The vanity had a wall mounted liquid dispenser that said "soap". When showering, I had to open the curtain, get out of the shower, step over to the vanity, dispense some liquid soap, back to the shower, etc. For my showering this involved three such "round trips", lotsa water on the floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very European style hotel. It's kind of a great mix of spartan (i.e. no closet) and luxury but still very quiet and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful and made sure we felt welcome. The hotel is located within five minutes of downtown Truckee in one direction and less than ten minutes from the Northstar ski resort in the other direction. It's also not far from Lake Tahoe.

The included breakfast was one of the best I've seen with lots of healthy options as well as the usual eggs, potatoes and bacon. The onsite restaurant, Stella, is fantastic for a special dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My Birthday & our 29th Wedding Anniversary Getaway surprise from my husband! We absolutely loved the hotel! The hotel room, hot tub, restaurant and customer service was all incredible. It's like a cozy mountain cabin with 42 rooms and friends who want to make sure you have a food time. We WILL be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I wasn't sure of what to expect with this hotel, as it seems I had booked one of the last rooms in the city (for a hotel that takes dogs). The room was spotlessly clean. They made us feel immediately welcome and even left a dog treat and a dog toy for our lab.

The only reason for not giving this a 5* is because the insulation between floors seemed a little thin as we were able to hear the person above us walking around most of the night. That said: we did not hear anyone in the rooms next to us, so the insulation in that regard seemed pretty solid.

I was also a little disappointed in the breakfast buffet, which looks phenomenal in the pictures, but disappointing in person (on the same scale as a 2* hotel: eggs in the warming tray, oatmeal, coffee, a couple of breads). We ended up eating breakfast in town both mornings instead of having the breakfast.

While breakfast was a disappointment, the "happy hour" was fantastic! No free wine, but great wine selection and nice anti-pasta choices (as well as cookies that were far too addicting!).

We will definitely return to this location if we are ever find ourselves back in the Truckee area.

Room Tip: If you don't have a pet, ask to be on the top floor (pet owners are on the ground floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cedar House Sport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedar House Sport Hotel

Address: 10918 Brockway Rd., Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Truckee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#4 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cedar House Sport Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar House Sport Hotel fuses innovative architecture with the best of contemporary design, creating 42 rooms and suites in a hip European style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cedar Hotel Sport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cedar House Sport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.