We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Euro-Funk at un-funky price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cedar House Sport Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cedar House Sport Hotel
Save
You added The Cedar House Sport Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10918 Brockway Rd., Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Silicon Valley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Euro-Funk at un-funky price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Good: everything and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Room was ready for checkin. Staff very efficient/helpful. Good value breakfast buffet included.

"Not good" (not "bad" either, but noteworthy):

(While I've been around the US and Asia for leisure and business travel, I am not exactly a World Traveller enough to know what a Euro-Funk accommodation would really be like. But if I could imagine such a place, this property would be it for me. I imagined a weird stream of consciousness with an Austin Powers movie scene, a Hammer Film, and the long haired blonde guy in the TV commercial for the Swedish coffee)

So if you want a clean place to sleep in a great and convenient location, helpful staff and the most elegant and comfortable bed/bedding combo you can imagine, this is your place.

Moreover,

If you remember to bring your own creamer since the in room coffee making stuff didn't include any;

If you don't mind bathing in a tub that's too shallow to immerse your inflamed knee;

If it's no biggie for you to lug baggage to your upper floor room via an outdoor staircase (that may be icy in the ski season) because there's no elevator;

If you're comfortable sitting in a "hard" chairs or metal stool that look like Euro-funk to me to rest your tired legs after hiking or skiing;

If you don't need a closet or wardrobe;

If a vanity in the bathroom that's so low it'd be at the perfect height for your pre-schooler also works for you;

If you don't need space in the small room to place your ski boots, snowboards/skis without tripping over them;

If you can drive yourself to the slopes in your own vehicle;

If you know ahead of time to bring your own bar of soap for bathing/showering(*);

If you don't care about finding the provided towels neatly folded in a basket on the floor instead of on racks or shelves, and are OK with draping them on hooks on the wall instead of on racks;

If you remember to close the lid on the toilet before you make the flush that is so powerful that a little bit of water may splash from the bowl to the nearby basket of clean towels that's on the floor;

then this place is the place for you!

During most ski seasons we spend a night at a property in that area on our way to the slopes.

We pay about the same price, for a more "non-Euro-funkish" accommodation that's more practical for skiers/snowboarders, and with touches that are more amenable to un-hip/un-cool workaday Americans like us. Even though we're SF Bay Areans, we're not so Cool and Hip enough as to "get it". If we want Euro-funk, we'll do budget travel to Europe some time.

(*) The tub/shower combo has wall mounted dispensers labeled for shampoo, conditioner, and some other liquid that I could not figure out what it was (what is didn't say was "liquid soap"). The vanity had a wall mounted liquid dispenser that said "soap". When showering, I had to open the curtain, get out of the shower, step over to the vanity, dispense some liquid soap, back to the shower, etc. For my showering this involved three such "round trips", lotsa water on the floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    41
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
38
84
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very European style hotel. It's kind of a great mix of spartan (i.e. no closet) and luxury but still very quiet and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful and made sure we felt welcome. The hotel is located within five minutes of downtown Truckee in one direction and less than ten minutes from the Northstar ski resort in the other direction. It's also not far from Lake Tahoe.

The included breakfast was one of the best I've seen with lots of healthy options as well as the usual eggs, potatoes and bacon. The onsite restaurant, Stella, is fantastic for a special dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My Birthday & our 29th Wedding Anniversary Getaway surprise from my husband! We absolutely loved the hotel! The hotel room, hot tub, restaurant and customer service was all incredible. It's like a cozy mountain cabin with 42 rooms and friends who want to make sure you have a food time. We WILL be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I wasn't sure of what to expect with this hotel, as it seems I had booked one of the last rooms in the city (for a hotel that takes dogs). The room was spotlessly clean. They made us feel immediately welcome and even left a dog treat and a dog toy for our lab.

The only reason for not giving this a 5* is because the insulation between floors seemed a little thin as we were able to hear the person above us walking around most of the night. That said: we did not hear anyone in the rooms next to us, so the insulation in that regard seemed pretty solid.

I was also a little disappointed in the breakfast buffet, which looks phenomenal in the pictures, but disappointing in person (on the same scale as a 2* hotel: eggs in the warming tray, oatmeal, coffee, a couple of breads). We ended up eating breakfast in town both mornings instead of having the breakfast.

While breakfast was a disappointment, the "happy hour" was fantastic! No free wine, but great wine selection and nice anti-pasta choices (as well as cookies that were far too addicting!).

We will definitely return to this location if we are ever find ourselves back in the Truckee area.

Room Tip: If you don't have a pet, ask to be on the top floor (pet owners are on the ground floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Loved our stay. We made our reservation the day before our stay and upon arrival were upgraded to a nicer room. We were in a second floor king overlooking the inner courtyard which was very nice, I couldn't have picked a better room. Because our reservation was last minute the hotel's restaurant was booked for that evening. Instead we decided to go with pizza since we had just mtn biked for 4+ hours and were ready to just hang out. We were given a great recommendation and got a pizza to go and hung out in the lovely courtyard and had a quiet mellow evening. Although with so many great dining options in Truckee it felt a bit decadent just hanging out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved the place, dog friendly, owners always around and really care for the beautiful buildings. paintings from local artists, furniture is European, almost Swedish, coffee in am and wine in . Amazing restaurant on the property, Stella's. we loved our weekend stay and recommend to our friends. Rooms are nice size and quiet. Take a look at the architecture and all the building materials. Very unusual.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

4 nights at the Ritz, ended up staying one more day and needed a place to sleep. We'd been to Stella earlier in the week (fantastic restaurant located on hotel property)and remembered the hotel had a cool vibe. Luckily, someone was cancelling their reservation on the other phone line at the same time we called. Score! We arrived just before 10pm to smiling faces at the front desk. They offered us water and power bars, and showed us to our room. Rooms are small, but efficient, with a super comfy bed! We enjoy the European style of duvets rather than sheets, but if you don't, they will gladly supply you with sheets. Great water pressure in the shower and nice snacks in the mini-fridge. The total bonus was the morning breakfast served in Stella! I enjoyed steel cut oats topped with an abundance of fruit, fresh baked brioche and some tasty sausage. Hubby had eggs, a veggie and potato hash, fresh squeezed OJ and several cups of coffee. We would return to this hotel again and again for the friendly atmosphere throughout!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Cedar House Sport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedar House Sport Hotel

Address: 10918 Brockway Rd., Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Truckee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#4 Family Hotel in Truckee
#4 Business Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cedar House Sport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar House Sport Hotel fuses innovative architecture with the best of contemporary design, creating 42 rooms and suites in a hip European style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cedar Hotel Sport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cedar House Sport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.