We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the usual Truckee area hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cedar House Sport Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cedar House Sport Hotel
Save Saved
You added The Cedar House Sport Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10918 Brockway Rd., Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Moraga, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not the usual Truckee area hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The Cedar House was a very pleasant surprise. It is well-located near Truckee and the freeway, but there is not much within walking distance of the property. However, the room was delightful, with a modern European flavor. Also, the restaurant in the hotel was amazing!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    39
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
37
76
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed here with a photography class late summer 2012. The hotel is tucked back off the old highway between Truckee and Lake Tahoe...easy to miss is you are driving by. No real views of the area from the hotel, but they have created a lovely garden experience in the courtyard. The rooms are somewhat spartan...decorated modern Euro style and the linens were soft and luxurious. The hotel is complemented by the associated restaurant STELLA...a wonder in this mountain community. Home made breads and pastries, excellent breakfast choices and dinners were divine....We haven't had food like this since we retired from the Bay Area. Staff is friendly, helpful. We enjoyed the late afternoon tea and appetizers also. Very much recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rough and Ready
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

From check in to check out this was a wonderful experience! We enjoyed the afternoon cookies in the eco gorgeous lobby, and appreciated the lack of charge for water in the room (can't believe most places charge for WATER). Attention to detail is evident in all aspects of this facility. Love the linens and the shampoo/conditioner, provided teas and coffees, but mainly love the excellent service and Stella, the best hotel near Lake Tahoe. Highly recommend this hotel and restaurant. AND it's affordable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. The room was beautiful and very interesting. The grounds are pretty and the view was wonderful. Breakfast was better when we got there earlier on Monday, rather than Sunday, but that's to be expected, I guess. The eggs were very dry and crumbly, but that's typical of restaurant eggs (don't put milk in scrambled eggs and that won't happen!) One problem I could see in the room was the tension pole they use for clothes hanging by the door...one piece of wood juts out and at my height (5'4"), and since it's a light color, it's not visible when you walk over and bend down to put something in the corner...three times I hit my head on it and nearly cut my scalp because it's sharp. That was not fun and made me pretty mad. Also, the refrigerator actually kept me awake with the very loud buzzing and whooshing noise it made. Sounded like a dishwasher, so I had to get up several times to turn the thermostat down so it would stop, but it was only temporary. Queen bed...not the same size as a US Queen, seemed like a Full (I bet it doesn't measure 60" across, probably 54" like a Full, mattress only, not the platform.
Dog treats and toys were great, dogs loved them, which is unusual because they are very picky about treats, but they gobbled them up. One dog bed had a large hole chewed in the cover, so I had to report it, to make sure they knew my dogs didn't do it.
We do appreciate how dog-friendly this place is and will definitely come back and stay, maybe next time in a King room or a suite, but this time was last minute, so that's all they had. Still a nice place to stay, even with the problems. The staff were super nice and friendly.

Room Tip: European beds are very small, try to get a King, since the Queen is more like a full. Too small for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Cedar House Sport Hotel combines the simple elegance of European design with a very attentive and friendly staff to ensure your stay there is terrific. The venue is exceptionally clean and well-kept. The grounds are meticulously maintained. Their onsite restaurant, Stella, crafts mouth-watering meals and desserts. Definitely a place to put on your must-stay list!

Room Tip: The hotel is dog-friendly but you must call ahead to confirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just attended a wedding there and the hotel and its staff were all lovely. The couple who own this property takes care of it very well and welcome their guests like they are welcoming people into their home. The hotel is fairly new and the restaurant on site is excellent. Breakfast is usually included in the hotel fee and the rates for the rooms are very reasonable. We had a wonderful time here and would definitely recommend shelling out the extra $20-$30 for the larger suite-type rooms. The town of Truckee is only a 2 minute drive away (definitely drive as the road is dark and there is no sidewalk) and there are some great small town bars and restaurants to enjoy after a long day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great place! You immediately notice that the owner loves his place and want to give his visitors the ultimate experience. The rooms are more than pleasant, the service is superb, the five o'clock tea (no charge) is charming, breakfast is unusually reach and tasty, the architecture is wonderful. We also bought there ski passes in a reduced price to Squa-valley.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cedar House Sport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedar House Sport Hotel

Address: 10918 Brockway Rd., Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Truckee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#4 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cedar House Sport Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar House Sport Hotel fuses innovative architecture with the best of contemporary design, creating 42 rooms and suites in a hip European style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cedar Hotel Sport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cedar House Sport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.