We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Lovely wedding.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cedar House Sport Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cedar House Sport Hotel
Save
You added The Cedar House Sport Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10918 Brockway Rd., Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Lovely wedding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just attended a wedding there and the hotel and its staff were all lovely. The couple who own this property takes care of it very well and welcome their guests like they are welcoming people into their home. The hotel is fairly new and the restaurant on site is excellent. Breakfast is usually included in the hotel fee and the rates for the rooms are very reasonable. We had a wonderful time here and would definitely recommend shelling out the extra $20-$30 for the larger suite-type rooms. The town of Truckee is only a 2 minute drive away (definitely drive as the road is dark and there is no sidewalk) and there are some great small town bars and restaurants to enjoy after a long day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    41
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
40
85
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
israel
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great place! You immediately notice that the owner loves his place and want to give his visitors the ultimate experience. The rooms are more than pleasant, the service is superb, the five o'clock tea (no charge) is charming, breakfast is unusually reach and tasty, the architecture is wonderful. We also bought there ski passes in a reduced price to Squa-valley.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very modern architecture. European style bedding and chic room. Excellent breakfast included at their restaurant, Stella. Local staff very friendly in hotel and restaurant.
Just outside historic town of Truckee about three quarters of a mile. Easiest to drive to town rather than walk. Sport oriented. Rates can be a tad high when compared with other hotels in the area. Excellent experience overall.

Room Tip: You don't want to look out upon the trailer park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our kids and grandkids were in the Tahoe area for some skiing and my wife and I decided we'd escape from them for a day or two so we picked the Cedar House Sport Hotel which was just aorund the corner from their house. It was a great choice.

We've traveled extensively through Europe so the bedding, showers and other assorted items came as no surprise. Everything worked perfectly and our hosts were very accommodating to the few requests that we had. The included breakfast in the adjoining Stella Restaurant was a real treat, particularly since we had just spent two nights in one of the inexpensive chain motels that also provide an included breakfast. The only thing in common was the word "breakfast."

Room Tip: Everyting is set back from the road, so there probably is not much difference in the location of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

An amazingly peaceful setting and top drawer service and accomodation, this hotel definitely lives up to the hype ! We picked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews as ranked #1 in truckee area, for the last few years in a row. Located conveniently, it is upclose from the busy historical downtown Truckee for shopping and dining, and within a short 15 minute drive to Northstar Ski resort. We were a bit apprehensive at first, as this was our first time stay ever in Truckee/northstar area, for early-spring skiing. We were impressed the minute we walked into the lobby. Jeff and Patty are terrific hosts, and so are all of their wonderful staff who are exceedingly good at taking a lot of care and attention to details, making their guests feel well looked after and comfortable.
Our small family of three decided to stay three nights during the Easter weekend; we checked-in friday afternoon. Their website's winter special offer, gave us the 3rd night free. This was an icing on the cake. On saturday, there was a wedding booked in the hotel, so most of the rooms & suites were already booked, but we were lucky enough to get the last double queen room, although we definitely wanted the luxury suite. May be next time...
Everything, from their modern european furniture, the tall and high steel beam and wooden structure, to comfy german-bedding, felt all very warm, lovely and welcoming.
On Easter Sunday afternoon, we enjoyed taking a 3-hr. snowshoeing family-tour at the Northstar Ski and Telemark center. This scenic back country tour was a great outdoor workout. The hotel staff at the front desk can assist you with reservations to any nearby activities. They also offer discounted price for the ski lift tickets.
Best of all, they have complimentary full breakfast buffet that was so delicious and had plenty of healthy options. This has to be the best breakfast ever ! at any hotel. We were blown away, how they love to serve the best quality, locally grown and gourmet homecooked food.Their complimentary Hors d'oeuvres in the evening are to die for. The homemade cookies ( yummm), and their homemade Bread's aroma 'n taste are beyond compare.
Lastly, we enjoyed the easter night dinner at their on-site restaurant, Stella. Food & Wine Club famed Chef, Jacob Burton certainly has a menu item for every palate. Can get a bit pricey. But well worth trying. We ordered 3 different entrees. I actually wanted to try chilean seabass or any local caught specialty fish entree, but they weren't serving fish at the time. My lamb entree was a bit dry for a rare-medium cooked rack. All 3 of our entrees also lacked a side of fresh veggies. But we were hooked to their brick oven bread, baked fresh and tasted crusty heavenly. Our teenage son enjoyed the fabulous flourless chocolate dessert oh so very much; the best for the last. The waiter was super friendly and upbeat; before we left, he gave me a loaf of their famous bread and my son three lovely peanutbutter-choco balls with a hint of mint. Now, this is called service with a treat hard to beat !
All in all, this environmentally-friendly facility, that's built green, is also so very comfortable & hip. For making you feel right at home, We say Kudos to Cedar House for attaining such excellent hospitality. We surely will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

the wine in the lobby, the duvet covers, the pet friendliniess, the little jacuzzi, the restaurant, all perfection. Best there is up in Tahoe. We love the games in the lobby, the modern chic decor, the people, warm and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Or darn near. Very friendly and helpful staff and proprietor. Excellent full buffett breakfast at Stella with housebaked breads, porridge, eggs and good bacon. Well equipped liquour and coffee bar in the lounge and tasty cookies in the PM. The site's restaurant, Stella, has some of the finest food preparation we've experienced, but it's rich so be prepared.

Rooms are not large, but nice sized. Lobby decor is "Ski Lodge/Industrial" with innovative trusses and fittings connecting bold timbers. Room decor is "modern mood". Very nice linens with twin duvets on the queen sized bed. If you shop around, you'll find that the Cedar House has competitive rates, especially considering the amenities and service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Second floor is dog free, although the main floor rooms are well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
4.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
4.2 mi away
Northstar Lodge - A Welk Resort
13.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedar House Sport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedar House Sport Hotel

Address: 10918 Brockway Rd., Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Truckee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#4 Business Hotel in Truckee
#4 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cedar House Sport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar House Sport Hotel fuses innovative architecture with the best of contemporary design, creating 42 rooms and suites in a hip European style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cedar Hotel Sport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cedar House Sport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.