We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cedar House Sport Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cedar House Sport Hotel
Save Saved
You added The Cedar House Sport Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10918 Brockway Rd., Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was our second time here and it was even better than the first time. The room is cool, the breakfasts included in the room rate, delish. Its in a great location if you want to get to Reno, the I-80, North and South Lake and skiing resorts.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than a couple of days, splurge a little to get the extra kitchen/sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    39
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
37
77
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We just love the hotel! The staff was great, the rooms very modern/ new age, the beds were comfortabe and all you could smell was the cedar - Just wonderful! We arrived 2 1/2 hours early and they let us check in and when my son need an iron he got it right a way. Everyone at the hotel had smiles -- It's a wonderful place to stay! I just wish the wedding we had to attend had been at this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is an eco friendly and pet friendly hotel with well appointed rooms, plush bed linens, an excellent restaurant on site (Stella) and some of the best customer service I have ever experienced at a hotel. Staff was thoughtful, thorough and prompt. When we needed some additional items brought to our rooms and when we asked to have excursions booked, the staff here took care of everything in a matter of minutes. The only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars is due to the fact that the property is located right on a very busy road travelled on by lots of large rigs and trucks and was really noisy throughout the night. I’m not normally very picky about that kind of thing but we like sleeping with the windows open for a bit of fresh air and even with them closed it was very noisy. Otherwise this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My son's "destination" wedding was incredible and the entire experience was flawless! The most beautiful wedding ever! The planning, service, food, venue all PERFECT! Patti and Jeff went over and beyond to ensure our "eco-wedding" was a success. Our guests are still talking about it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

A walk in booking and what a find! A very nice eco-friendly hotel that walks the talk. They have gone to a lot of trouble to build an environmentally conscious hotel that still provides top notch accomodation and service. Terrific bed and all the llinens were first quality. Afternoon snacks and hot breakfast included in the price. The room was exceptionally clean and quiet. Would definitely go to again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here in the summer, for two nights. The room (Queen Designer) was very nice, clean & modern. Strangely there was no wardrobe space but that didn't bother us. Bathroom was very nice and spacious. Balcony was also nice. WiFi connection was good. Reception staff extremely helpful. Breakfast (included) was very good, much better than usual considering it was buffet style. The restaurant (Stella) was booked out for a private function on the Saturday night, so we went on the Friday and while it was expensive, it was worth every cent. It was a fantastic meal. I would definitely recommend this place and I hope to stay there again some day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My wife and I stumbled upon this place randomly in October, 2010 and it quickly became one of favorite little getaways from the Reno area. Modern furnishings, excellent staff and a phenomenal restaurant make it a gem. Great spot for a romantic getaway and a base for exploring the Truckee/Tahoe outdoors.

Room Tip: Stayed here twice and Staed in two completely different rooms both of which were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cedar House Sport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedar House Sport Hotel

Address: 10918 Brockway Rd., Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#4 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cedar House Sport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar House Sport Hotel fuses innovative architecture with the best of contemporary design, creating 42 rooms and suites in a hip European style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cedar Hotel Sport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cedar House Sport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.