We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for winter sports.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge to your Saves list
Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4001 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Palo Alto, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great base for winter sports.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Loved this place. The accommodations were large and extremely comfortable, well stocked. Staying during the week made it a great value. Convenience to slopes and restaurants and after-slopes fun like skating couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

My boyfriend and another couple stayed in a 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom condo at the Ironhorse Lodge for 4 night in February 2010. The condo consisted of a kitchen (granite and stainless steel), a large dining / living area with a fireplace, and two bedrooms and two bathrooms. One of the bedrooms is larger, with an en suite bathroom. The other bedroom is small, and the bathroom is across the hall. It would have been better if there were two master suites. The condo was very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was very helpful. And, there is convenient, underground parking.

Also, each condo comes with a storage locker on the ground floor where you can store your equipment. The location is great - less than a 5 minute walk to the gondola. We would definintely return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

This is a nice place to stay. It looks great, new, modern, and it's an easy walk to the gondola. We needed to be close to the slopes so we could trade off babysitting duty for our 10-month-old. It worked! If you go and are planning to cook-- make sure to BYO salt and pepper-- all they have for this are little cafeteria packets. Otherwise, the kitchen was quite well-equipped and a pleasure to cook in, as it was spacious and full of new appliances.
One issue we encountered in the booking-- we booked through "The Lodging Company" and ended up getting "foreign transaction fees" on our credit card statement, as apparently they bank out of Canada! Who knew! All our invoices were in US $ and there was no disclosure of this-- apparently they are not required to tell us! For our credit card it amounted to 3%, which was significant as we paid about $4K all told for the week's stay and lift tickets. We are complaining about this-- but just wanted everyone to know in case there are other booking agents... I think there are.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Looks like a great place to stay if you can get over the arrogant staff in reservation and the deceptive rate schedule on the website. They compare themselves to the airline industry and adjust their rates as they please which can be a bit challenging when trying to plan air travel and other arrangements at the same time. The intolerable however comes when you finally encounter a very unprofessional Manager, Tamy who hangs up on her potential customer due to her inability to give a comprehensible reason to their sudden rate changes. What a shame......

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Management is sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with the rate integrity of the Iron Horse Lodge. Due to the overwhelming popularity of our property it is necessary for us to manage our rates based on availability. The initial call you made and the prices quoted were based on what was available on the day you called, you had the opportunity to book your lodging at the price quoted that day but chose not to. When you called back on a later date the property availability had changed dramatically and there were few residences available for you to book which is why you were quoted a higher rate. The property does decrease rates and increase rates based on availability which is why our reservation team suggests that all callers book lodging as soon as possible to ensure they receive the best rates available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Ca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

Just a quick update to my previous review. We were back in late July and had 3 condos for my family (sister, brother, grandma/pa and all the kids).

The village in the summer is great. New shops have opened and the roller skating rink is a huge hit. We took the free gondola rides with the kids at least 6 times. The main places we spent our money (other than the condos) were food as the village is a bit expensive and the bungee jumping with trampolines that the kids had to do over and over. We did make a lot of food in the condos and with the large group, we brought our food outside to the village as there are many very nice tables set up all around. We didn't grill, but there is a grilling area available for cooking also.

The main change was that the Village Swim center is up and running. They provide all the towels (swim and/or shower), shampoo, etc in the locker room. The pool has 3 main areas: 1) main pool with nice large stairs area going around about 1/3 of the pool and then a lap area on the side for adults. There is a mickey-mouse shaped hottub and a 12ft round or so 1ft deep "baby pool" off to the side and out of the way. They don't have any food at the pool, so bring you own from the village.

The trip was fabulous.

  • Liked — The village is amazing and the condos are located right inside the village
  • Disliked — The cost is high
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

Wife and I, along with three kids, ages 10, 7, and 3 stayed four nights at Ironhorse. Arrived late around 9pm with snow and blizzard winds. Underground heated parking was priceless.

Our 2-bedroom unit was finished off very nice. Large bathrooms, comfortable beds, granite counters, plasma in every room, very high ceilings and gas fireplace. Washer/Dryer was a nice touch. Kitchen included toaster, wine chiller bucket, cork screw, lots of dishes, etc, etc.

Our "south" building was fartherst from gondala, and still not over 150 yards away. For some reaon our unit didn't inlcude ski lockers as advertised, but it worked out for the best as you can store your ski's for free right next to the gondala so you don't have to carry them. Twin hot tubs were behind the lodge. We enjoyed them one night and had them to ourselves.

We stopped at Safeway in Truckee before arriving and stocked up on drinks, snacks, breakfast foods. We are not big breakfast people, so typical day was quick morning snack, hit the slopes, eat lunch on the mountain, then dinner out. Not much nightlife around so if that's your thing I'd go someplace else. We were wiped out after skiing and with kids it was perfect for us.

We used the ski school daily for the 3 year old. Second day she woke the family up begging to get her to ski school. It is exspensive but we felt very comfortable with the set up.

We used the ice rink one afternoon after skiing. Its very large. Skate rental is $5.00. Rink is surrounded by outdoor bar and cheesey and cheap furniture. Cushions kept sliding off the chairs, would of made a funny blooper film. There were only five fire pits, one was surrounded by filming equipment, but knowone was around. Another was roped off like it was reserved for someone. Couldn't get near the others to make the much advertised smores' for the kids. Overhead heater wasn't working. We made the best of it with a bottle of wine and cheese while the kids skated and had a great time anyway.

We had carryout from Pedro's. Pizza was good, spagetti was awful. Both older kids said it tasted spoiled or rotten and I verified by smell something was a foul. Timbercreek food was good, service was poor. Waitress forgot to bring second round of drinks after repeatily reminder her. Waited a long time for the check. They did comp the second round of drinks which was nice.

We drove into Truckee one night and tried the American Pub. I'd pass on this place. Both steaks ordered medium arrived burnt. I kept mine because I was starving, wife sent her's back. Next round arrived looked like a burnt hockey puck again. Waitress was upset at the cook and we all had a good laugh over the situation. It was removed from the bill. What's strange about this place is that half the place is advertised as a gourment restaurant with chef's from around the world. I can't remember the name used, but once inside other half is the American Pub, with the same menu. I'd say an overpriced tourist trap at its worst.

Overall, stay was wonderful. Northstar is great place to ski. Very family friendly. Restaurant at the top of mountain has great food, views are beautiful. We would go back to Northstar again, however be prepared that overall restaurant selections are very limited and quality & service need some help.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

After a 5 year absence from Northstar at Tahoe, we decided to return for another spring break ski week. I booked the Ironhorse Lodge after viewing the website. I booked a 1 bedroom condo.

From the start, the staff was awesome. Prior to arriving, the conceirge called to see if they could be of any help with our upcoming vacation. They were quick to make reservations at afew of the local restaurants and also recommend a ski rental place that came to the condo the first day we arrived! (That was the best - they came and fitted us for our skis and returned at the end to pick them up!!) They arranged for a massage therapist to come to our room during our stay (a nice touch after skiing all day).

Upon arriving, we entered the front desk area. We were promptly shown our condo and the start of one of the nicest visits to Northstar commenced! There was heated underground parking for our car - nice touch in bad weather!

The condo was luxorious and wonderful. The kitchen was granite topped and full of everything you would need to a gourmet meal (not that we did alot of cooking with the great new restaurants). There was plenty of closet space for all our gear and also a washer/dryer combination right inside the condo. The bathroom was huge - large shower and separate tub. The interior design was pleasing to the eye. This condo was a HGTV designer dream. We overlooking the walkway to the gondola - it was festive and fun at all hours.

The condo was a short walk to the gondola and also the all important Starbucks. The weather was warm and the skating rink was a great place to hang out in the sun. The village is a huge upgrade from the former Northstar village.

About the only thing that was a problem was the internet access. It was spotty at best - but then again - it was a nice vacation to really be away from the office and emails! Perhaps that was a good thing. My wireless card from Verizon worked when I needed to communicate with the outside world.

Northstar's new village is awesome - I'm looking forward to next year to see afew more restaurants and shops. Iron Horse Lodge just brought the whole mountain up a notch - totally 5 stars! We will definately return next March!

  • Liked — Great condo within walking distance to gondola.
  • Disliked — Wireless access was spotty.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge

Address: 4001 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron Horse Lodge, slopeside in the Village at Northstar, offers luxurious one, two, three and four-bedroom condominium accommodations. Residences include a complete kitchen (or kitchenette), great room, fireplace (most) and outdoor terrace showcasing expansive views of the surrounding mountains or Village excitement. Located mere steps from the gondola and set among boutique shops and restaurants, Iron Horse Lodge guests have access to a year-round, heated, outdoor swimming pool and hot tubs, fitness centers, steam and locker rooms plus complimentary underground parking and private ski storage lockers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.