We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takes the hassles out of a day of skiing/boarding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge to your Saves list
Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4001 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
vashon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Takes the hassles out of a day of skiing/boarding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Being steps from the gondola is a huge advantage. Having a ground floor ski locker is another plus. And how about two outdoor jaccuzi's and a steam room? Big kitchen in the condo and interesting restaurant choices very near.
Someone probably paid nearly a million bucks for this condo, (all these different condos seem to be managed by the same company, and some of them are nearer the gondola with more "romantic" views than Iron Horse..our place had a partial parking lot view), but for a reasonable rate, you can enjoy a lot of luxury. The bedrooms are small with incredibly big, comfortable beds (we had a two bedroom), kitchen opulent and bathrooms spacious. There were tiny signs of wear, which is expected, but worn carpets, tiny stains and tears in fabrics keep me from going with 5 stars. I booked through Expedia because I couldn't get a booking person on the phone after several tries and their website showed them full, which was not the case.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We're happy to hear you had a wonderful stay & enjoyed the great ski access from your residence. We hope to see you again this winter!
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here. We love the proximity to the ski slopes and nice village feel location with many shoppes and restaurants. fabulous decor. Only thing that I wish was that they should at least include cleaning service For one day out of the week to tidy up and clean bathrooms. Otherwise, it's perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for your review & feedback, lovesvacation97. We're so glad you've stayed with us twice & we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

we stayed in a 4 bed unit in iron horse south in early January 2013. it was a fantastic experience. the unit had an exceptional fit out and northstar as a family ski destination is perfect. our group included 2 kids under 3, the village location worked really well for them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
We're happy you enjoyed your stay in Iron Horse & hope to see you again soon..
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Staying just 5 days at the Iron Horse in a 2 bedroom 3 bath unit made my 7 year old say he never wants to stay in a different hotel again. We all absolutely loved the unit. We've stayed in many condo-style places before, but the IH was the most comfortable and well-appointed by far.

We especially appreciated the attention to detail, in the room and by the staff. The room had everything we needed including full kitchen tools and amenities, bedroom furniture that included a chaise lounge, ample lighting fixtures, humidifiers, and very luxurious bedding. Truly felt like home. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Not to mention generous with the lobby coffee and hot chocolate for me and my family.

List of other great things: underground and secure parking, access to all Northstar Resort fitness centers and hot tubs/swimming, DVR on main tv, ski lockers, washer & dryer in unit, Northstar Village restaurants and shops, ice/roller skating.

Loved it so much, we're already planning to go back in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much Spaek68 for taking the time to provide a review of your visit with us at Iron Horse Lodge. We look forward to hosting a return visit for you and of course your 7 year old too! So glad he enjoyed his stay as well! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed in Iron Horse - a 1 bedroom, 1 bath condo. It was beautiful and nicely decorated. We were a little dissappointed not all the restaurants were open during our stay. We ate at the wine bar and Mikuni's and both were excellent. Lot's of fun for a weekend getaway with no kids! We looked out over the older condos so the view was not that great but the inside of the room and service when we checked in made up for it. We did not experience the noise level as others did - it was nice and quiet for us. Would definitely stay again and bring kids with us this time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you so much pkimmi for taking the time to provide a review of the Iron Horse Lodge and Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging. I apologize that all of the restaurants in the village were not open during your visit. I will most definitely share your thoughts with the Northstar team. I am glad that you did enjoy the options you had. I too frequent Petra, Mikuni and of course Starbucks for my morning latte and love them all! We hope to see you back soon...this winter we're hoping for some great snow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Have stayed at Northstar several times and highly recommend it. Summer rates are much lower than winter rates so we come up every year to play some golf and the many other activities in and around the lake. We've stayed at both 1 bedroom and 3 bedrooms units in the past. All have similar furniture and amenities. Some units still have tube TV's in the bedrooms, which is not so great, but didn't really watch all that much TV there so I didn't mind it too much.

Several things to consider in the summer, is the Gondola to the Ritz Carlton highlands only runs on weekends at 1:30pm to I think around 10pm. We were there Sat - Tue. It would be great if they had some kind of shuttle to take guests back and forth when the Gondola is not open. Especially since Ritz Carlton charges for parking.

Check in is easy and received a complimentary bottle of wine for being repeat guests!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you EMSF29 for taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. I will share your feedback regarding the gondola schedule with the Ritz Carlton as I am sure they will appreciate that you would have liked to have been able to spend more time there if transportation was available. Your comments about the TV's will be shared with our homeowner liasion. Our guest feedback is highly valued by our owners. We look forward to your next stay with us! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Lodge is absolutely beautiful. The rooms were well appointed and very clean. Staff is very friendly. The concierge answered all our questions regarding local activites and handled our dinner reservations without a glich even when we changed our dinner time and number of people from 8 to 11! The kids enjoyed the skating rink while we sat on the comfy couches and made smores using the fire pits! Very cool! I would stay there again and again and again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for us LeslieH.I am so glad you had a great time during your visit! I truly look forward to welcoming you back again, and again and again! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge

Address: 4001 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron Horse Lodge, slopeside in the Village at Northstar, offers luxurious one, two, three and four-bedroom condominium accommodations. Residences include a complete kitchen (or kitchenette), great room, fireplace (most) and outdoor terrace showcasing expansive views of the surrounding mountains or Village excitement. Located mere steps from the gondola and set among boutique shops and restaurants, Iron Horse Lodge guests have access to a year-round, heated, outdoor swimming pool and hot tubs, fitness centers, steam and locker rooms plus complimentary underground parking and private ski storage lockers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.