We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and accomadations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge to your Saves list
Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4001 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Reno, Nevada
1 review
“Amazing staff and accomadations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed in Iron Horse South. The staff was amazing from reservations through check out. The room was immiculate and fully stocked with everything we would need during our stay. The village supplied numerous activities for young and old alike. We will definitely be back for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete this review and for joining us this summer at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging. It's great to see another local from our backyard (Reno) enjoying themselves in the Village at Northstar. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed at Iron Horse South for our February break, and everything was perfect. The location - right in the village - is ideal. We got a few feet of snow during our visit, and getting into the car would've been impossible. However, all of the shops and restaurants in the village were open and within easy walking distance. Also, with underground parking, we didn't have to scrape 5 feet of snow off of our car! The gondola to the Ritz only shut down once due to high winds late in the evening, and a shuttle was provided instead. The ski and snowboard school were easily reached and stayed open throughout the storm - the kids loved it! The condo was luxurious - so well decorated and very well-thought out appliances. Very nice dishes, and great brand-new washer/dryer. We stayed in a 3-bedroom condo. We loved kicking back by the gas fireplace at night. We can't wait for our next visit. Safeway is only about a 10-min drive - and worth the view of the lake. You can also buy quick meals and supplies at a couple of the shops in the village.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

we had a three bedroom with full kitchen service, i must say that the kitchen had everything that we needed to make home away from home relatively comfortable.
the queen/tween bed were a bit small. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Great room, location, and ski resort staff were awesome.
Only complaint is the lack of jets in the bath tub. Just an ordinary tub...
How about some bubble bath also?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, KS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed at the Ironhorse Lodge South room 203. It was beautiful! Beautiful woodwork, granite, and cookware. A TV and DVD player in each room. Large bathroom with soaking tub separate from a large glass shower, and shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and ceramic ionic hairdryer provided . The bed was very comfortable with excellent linens. A humidifier was provided and we used it! The air was drier than I am used to, so the humidifier was a life saver. Good sized balcony too. Only complaints would be that there isn't really a view from that room and you can really hear people if they are outside and yelling (i.e. kids in the day or drunks at night). This would not deter me from staying in this exact room again though.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Our family of 3 adults, 3 children stayed at the Iron Horse Lodge over Labor Day weekend.. Our unit was very modern, however, did not have a good view. (If you stay at the Iron Horse, request the South Bldg closest to the Fitness Center).. Lots of activities for children and we all particularly enjoyed the gondola and chair lift rides up the mountain to hike... Friendly staff, modern updated kitchen and baths.. Great resort- Great Vacation!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

The service of all the staff we dealt with was great. Accomodations were very clean, modern and had everything we needed. So many on-site activities that we didn't get a chance to do it all in the week we spent there!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge

Address: 4001 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron Horse Lodge, slopeside in the Village at Northstar, offers luxurious one, two, three and four-bedroom condominium accommodations. Residences include a complete kitchen (or kitchenette), great room, fireplace (most) and outdoor terrace showcasing expansive views of the surrounding mountains or Village excitement. Located mere steps from the gondola and set among boutique shops and restaurants, Iron Horse Lodge guests have access to a year-round, heated, outdoor swimming pool and hot tubs, fitness centers, steam and locker rooms plus complimentary underground parking and private ski storage lockers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.