We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Setting and service make this a "Hampton Plus"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee
11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Setting and service make this a "Hampton Plus"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Near, but not right in the Tahoe activity hub. Because it's in a resort area, it's priced higher than the typical urban/suburban Hampton Inn. We couldn't imagine a more welcoming setting after driving for hours from Sacramento through the magnificent mountains. The property is unobtrusive and the rooms are spacious and very clean. The room included breakfast, with fresh fruit and yogurt among other items; it was more than satisfactory, and the eating area was very clean (kept so by an active attendant). Parking was free and convenient. We were delighted to be able to use a guest washer and dryer, rather than search for a laundromat. Desk staff were friendly and provided restaurant suggestions (we found a place on our own--Morgan's Fish Market--counter style eating with fresh fish flown in from Maine daily) and other helpful info. The nearby (but not within walking distance) town is nice for strolling, eating, browsing. We would definitely return to this hotel when in the area. Note: There's a fuel station at the hotel property entrance (not part of the hotel) with the highest gas prices we'd seen during our week-long trip. Suggest tanking up before you arrive in Truckee.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    94
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
109
95
18
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hampton Inn is the only hotel I will use when I travel in the future. The rooms work well for my husband who is wheelchair bound as well as my two children. It is difficult to find accessible rooms furnished for a family and I have always found one with Hampton. We all enjoy the complementary breakfast when we stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hidden Valley Lake, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our stay was for one night only. My wife and I had an excellent stay at Hampton Inn and Suites in Truckee Ca. The staff was professional courteous. The in room internet worked flawlessly. The room was clean and the bed was more comfortable. The complementary breakfast was a nice added feature. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, MT
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We SO enjoyed our visit to this particular Hampton Inn & Suites. Friendly people greeted us and were very professional at check in. Recommended a great sandwich grill for us. Cookies, flavored water, and coffee in the lobby. We ride a motorcycle and husband washes it every night. The front desk happily supplied him with soft rags. The room was VERY clean and well appointed. Wifi worked great. The room was so quiet (even though the facility was completely full up) and the beds were so comfy we actually overslept, even though we're retired and it didn't matter. Breakfast was generous and tasty. Upon check out front desk inquired if there was anything they could have done to make our stay better and they were serious with their question. That must be how they keep improving on their service. Easy five stars!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear MontanaBorn47,

As a Top Contributor to Tripadvisor we truly appreciate your heartfelt review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe!Truckee. Thank you.

I'm glad we struck the right cord with you between being friendly and professional. In the hospitality business one needs to respond to each guest as an individual and treat them not as we expect to be treated but how the guest wants to be treated. This is always our goal.

We are so glad you liked our breakfast and the amenities but most importantly you found your accomdations to be clean and comfortable.

And yes, we do want to improve and take all comments seriously.

Thank you again

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I received quick check in. Staff offered to help with my luggage. The room was incredibly nice and peacefully quiet. I slept well on a comfortable bed and great TV selections and reception. Internet access was good and consistent. I enjoyed the variety and freshness of the breakfast selections.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Tami M,

I'm glad to hear that it sounds like we met your expectations and maybe a little more.

We appreciate the wonderful review and of course for you staying with us. We hope to see you many more times in the future.

Thank you so much.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at this hotel for a ski weekend at Squaw. The price was pretty reasonable for a March ski weekend and the service and pleasantness of the staff was really good. The property is not large, but well designed and is appointed very nicely and the room was comfortable and well done.

The whole experience was very comfortable with friendly service, a nice looking property and not a bad location for skiing in the area. It is much better positioned for North Star, but it's just a short ride down the road and on the highway to get towards Squaw, so I would definitely plan on staying here again for a Squaw/Alpine ski trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
TripShawn,

Thank you for singing our praises!

Yes, our proximity to Northstar means most of our guests ski there. But this past year we saw many more headed to Squaw, hopefully the word is out.

We have been receiving quite a few great comments about our staff. We have some terrific individuals working at the Hampton Inn- I'm very proud to work side by side with them.

We look forward to your visit next ski season and again thank you.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The staff at this Hampton are exceptional! They go above and beyond to provide you with whatever you need during your stay! This is a beautiful hotel in a relaxed mountain setting. We will be back! We will tell others!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Kathy-

Thank you! I agree with you that we have an exceptional staff and they make our hotel hum. What we try to do is anticipate our guests needs and then provide.

We will be looking forward to your next stay, and thank you for spreading the word!

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Address: 11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#3 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee Hotel Truckee
Hampton Inn And Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Hampton Inn Hotel Tahoe
Hampton Inn Truckee
Truckee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.