We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel experience in the Truckee area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sf, United States
1 review
“Hotel experience in the Truckee area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Hampton Inn is probably the best hotel in the Truckee area. I am impressed by how well the hotel has been kept up. We usually stay at the queen suite and we love the interior decor, space and furniture, although we wish the mattress could be more comfortable for our back after a day of skiing. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel for a family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Jialine-

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the recommendation.

We glad that your appreciate the effort we have put into maintaining the property and the detail which went into the design of the hotel and furnishings.

Hopefully, we get some more snow soon so you can return for some more skiing.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    97
    22
    8
    7
See reviews for
126
99
20
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Pretty hotel, fitting in to its mountain surroundings. Great room: large and with a fireplace. Service excellent: manager and front desk crew extremely helpful and attentive, and all the staff most courteous. When I found the gym too warm, the manager came himself and lowered the temperature .. Constant cookies and cider, perfect for skiing weather. For added fun: watch out for the bear that lurks in the nearby woods!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest-

We appreciate you staying with us and your great comments about our hotel and staff.

This summer we started to serve ice tea at checkin and we needed something for the winter. Most our guests love the hot apple cider after a day on the slopes and it goes well with the cookies.

I'll let the bear know that you will be coming back, but we don't expect to see him or her until the fall.

Thank you again,
Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
navarre, fl
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

One of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. Maybe it was Christmas? Maybe it was because of the skiing at Sugarbowl? Maybe it was Dianne at breakfast? Maybe it was the desk staff or the manager? Whatever it is, they have it. Clean rooms, great service and awesome care is given to everything they do. AWESOME. I may plan trips to come here on purpose now, not just because of the skiing.

This is a must stay Hampton, and other than one I stayed at in Charlotte, probably the best one for multiple reasons.

Keep it up, you set the example for others to follow.

Room Tip: Get the junior suite, lots of extra room, fridge, microwave and roll out. We were in 301, bit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer-

Thank you so much for the wonderful review especially pointing out the great service you received from our staff.

Of course any hotel needs to be clean but we need to take care of our guests, afterall you are our guest. Its a matter of pride that we provide a high level of service which you appreciated.

Again, thank you and we look forward to that next visit.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great Hotel. Stay there for business about every 6 weeks, nice clean rooms, rooms smell fresh, a friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast in the morning, it's close to the highway (80) and just a few minutes to downtown Truckee. Can get booked up fast if there is something going on in town & snow season. I have stayed at a couple other hotels in the area, just one time to check them out, came back to the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Eric H-

Thank you so much for such a great review, especially from a business traveler who has checked out the competition.

I agree with you about our staff, friendly and helpful, we are lucky to have them.

We appreciate your business and please say hello on your next visit.

Rick Rucker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed on the 2 room suite and it was very enjoyable and comfortable. The fireplace and 2nd bathroom were a surprise. The beds and bedding were especially comfortable. The staff including the manager could not have been more courteous, helpful and attentive. We hated to leave the next day and will certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Joanne J-

Although we take pride in all of our accomodations, the 2 room suites really are special. As you mentioned most have a fireplace and great views of the Carson Range.

I'm glad that you found our staff courteous, helpful and attentive as well as a comfortable bed. We are selling a good night's sleep after all.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Rick Rucker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I would really like to commend Kathryn ,she went above and beyond her job.I stay at the hotel a lot the whole staff and management have always been very helpful whatever your needs they try to accommodate you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Jack C-

First of all thank you for staying with us. And thank you for pointing out what a great job Kathryn is doing. She is new to our team and we hope she stays, well forever!

We also appreciate that you mentioned the staff as being helpful.

We look forward to your next vist.

Rick Rucker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We travel extensively and this Hampton Inn in Truckee was recommended by our daughter. Not disappointed in the least. Clean, quiet, with a courteous staff. Definitely would stay again on our next visit to Truckee.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Annette-

We appreciate the very nice review, especially as you travel extensively.

Finding our accomdations clean and quiet is great, and its great to hear your found the staff courteous too. We have a good team who are willing to please and eager to serve. I'll make sure they see your review.

A big thank you to your daugher too.

We look forward to your next visit.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Address: 11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Truckee
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee Hotel Truckee
Hampton Inn Hotel Tahoe
Hampton Inn Truckee
Truckee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.