We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tahoe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee
11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
“Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great stay close to all activity, lake golf, shopping and skiing. comfortable, clean and has great views. Staff was helpful and very pleasant. Large rooms well equipped and comfortable. the breakfast could have had a meat product but the waffles were fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Michael-

Thank you for your review of our hotel and the area.

As the interest in golf wains in most areas, its popularity here in the mountains grows every year. With designs by Weiscoff, Nicolous, Fazo and Johnny Miller we are blessed to have some spectacular courses nearby.

We're glad to hear you appreciated the staff and rooms- key elements, indeed. We do offer a meat selection at breakfast most days, let us know when you return and we will ensure that we it available.

Thank you.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    94
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
110
96
18
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed one night during Ironman Lake Tahoe. Hotel was on the bike route for the race so perfect location to watch that portion of race. It was also very close to Squaw Valley. Rooms very very comfortable. Great breakfast assortment in the morning. Would definitely like to go back during ski season!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer-

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and especially in such a favorable light.

Sounds like you had fun during the Ironman competition. Truckee really embraced the race and we look forward to its continued success.

As importantly, we appreciate your comments about our "very, very comfortable" rooms and the "great breakfast assortment"

We will see you again when the snow flies!

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Loved the location would love to come back in the snow! Lake Tahoe just down the road about 10 minutes a nice scenic route. Right of interstate 80 about 30 mins from Reno! Bed was super comfortable! Loved how the breakfast had green onions sprinkled on top great flavor!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Lorena-

We would love for you to come back for the snow, too! We sell discounted ticket to Squaw, Northstar and Sugar Bowl.

Having a comfortable bed makes or breaks a hotel. We're glad you liked ours.

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the great review.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with a very friendly staff!!!! One of the better hotels I saw in the area. The only downside is the closest restaurant is .7 mile with no easy way to walk. I would certainly stay here again. The hotel is in great condition

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Advisor-

Thank you for your wonderful review and of course for staying with us.

You are correct, the closet restaurant is not really close. We do have a ToGo's on the same site, which will do in a pinch but is not a sit down restaurant. And I think you are correct that we have a very friendly staff.

Again, thank you.

Rick Rucker
General Manager

Great hotel with a very friendly staff!!!! One of the better hotels I saw in the area. The only downside is the closest restaurant is .7 mile with no easy way to walk. I would certainly stay here again. The hotel is in great condition
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hampton in Truckee has the best group of people working there. They take care of everything. They're all very personable and helpful. I have enjoyed my many stays here and will definitely return on vacations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Shirley-

Its always great to see your smiling face and I am glad to hear that we are a little be of the reason.

Its also rewarding to hear that you find our team personable and helpful and the "best group of people." Thank you for your kind words.

Hopefully, you can make it our way with your family soon for a relaxing vacation, so we can take care of them as well.

Thank you again,

Rick Rucker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OR
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Having read other reviews I am wondering if I stayed in the same hotel! It is true that the location to adjacent ski and tourist facilities is good but this property is definitely not addressing those who come to the area on business trips. The check-in process was efficient but completely void of interaction between the desk person and the customer; no verification of Honors membership, no offer of water for Honors member, no explanation of breakfast hours.
The mattress in the room was perhaps the most lumpy I have ever experienced. As is true for the majority of Hampton properties cookies were available at the desk but in many cases those are gone by the time a 9pm check-in takes place. Here they were available and as soon as bitten into there was ample reason why the plate was till full. The cookies were old and when I checked out in the morning there still were cookies there.

The included breakfast was very late, way past opening hours and was hardly edible. The eggs were granular and tasteless and not much else was available other than cold cereal.

From my experience here I would suggest driving another 35 miles and stay at a Hampton in Reno.
Ram1500

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ram-

I am sorry to hear of your experience at our hotel, indeed it as you said is not typical of the guests which stay with us.

Our breakfast always has two hot items, sometimes three. We have oatmeal; cook to order waffles as well has granola, yogurt, cut and whole fruit. Our baked goods include whole wheat bread, muffins, pastries, bagels and English muffins. We buy our eggs from the same company as all other Hampton and add to the mix. Our breakfast hours, are the same as all Hamptons, 6AM to 10AM. I am sorry that we were late to open the day of your checkout.

I apologize that our staff didn’t do a great job at check-in. They should explained breakfast hours, as well as acknowledging you as a Silver HHonors member. Unfortunately, however Hilton doesn’t offer Silver Honor members water, only Diamond and Gold status. We bake our Otis Spunkmeyer cookies, the Hampton standard, daily. I am sorry you found them unsatisfactory.

Please give me a call I would like to apologize and invite you back to our hotel.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
530 587 1197
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the check in to departure the hotel experience was wonderful. We visited during a slow time and they automatically upgraded our room. The rooms were very nice, nice firm bed. Complimentary breakfast was very nice and included a couple of hot dishes. The staff was very nice. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello Dave-

It's great to hear of your wonderful experience!

We try to keep the transaction aspect of hotel to a minimum, so checking and out is quick and efficient, one is renting a hotel room not buying a house.

Thank you for pointing out that you liked our rooms, breakfast and the staff was very nice. It will be passed on to the staff.

Again, thank you and we can't wait for you to come back as well.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Address: 11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee Hotel Truckee
Hampton Inn Hotel Tahoe
Hampton Inn Truckee
Truckee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.