We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Truckee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee
11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Loved Truckee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at this Hampton for one night. It is a large hotel with ski lodge styled public rooms. Basic Hampton guest room seemed a little dated but it was clean and comfortable, typical Hampton breakfast. It is close to Truckee (lots of fun places to eat and stroll) and main highways. Front desk personnel very helpful and friendly. I would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello Daetime,

We appreciate you review and of course that you stayed with us.

Yes, Truckee is great little town- or as some say "the coolest town in America" and yes it does cool off in the winter.

And we are glad you liked our hotel and found our staff friendly!

We look forward to your next visit.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    75
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
97
81
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a nice property, clean, good breakfast, no where near lake tahoe. We were attending a wedding and needed an early check in to dress and make the wedding on time (It was a 2 1/2 hour drive from our home). I requested an early check in online, but when I had not received any word on it, I called the day before. They could not find my reservation and told me to call back the next day to see if it was possible to check in early! I called just before we were to leave and a different woman was able to find my reservation AND said a room would be ready for me. Don't know what we would have done if they had said no... Other than that, had a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Vtown Girl-

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel.

I am glad we were able to accomodate your request for an early check-in. For the most part hotels, including the Hampton, will gladly check you in if you arrive early. But, it's dependant upon the guests who stayed the night before and when they checkout. If someone does not checkout of the type of room you reserved our hands are tied.

I am glad oyour found our property to be nice, clean, and having a good breakfast.

Thank you, again.

Rick Rucker
General Manager



This is a nice property, clean, good breakfast, no where near lake tahoe. We were attending a wedding and needed an early check in to dress and make the wedding on time (It was a 2 1/2 hour drive from our home). I requested an early check in online, but when I had not received any word on it, I called the day before. They could not find my reservation and told me to call back the next day to see if it was possible to check in early! I called just before we were to leave and a different woman was able to find my reservation AND said a room would be ready for me. Don't know what we would have done if they had said no... Other than that, had a nice stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Truckee inn is well run, friendly staff, managers on site are helpfull. The breakfast is fine and saves the expense of going off the property and is a nice expention of the stay. Room was comfortable. The lobby breakfast room is actually an ok place to hang if your other half is still sleeping. Good stay.

Room Tip: Gound floor worked well for us. No real pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear David in Clio-

We have been able to attract and retain our management team for some time now. I am glad you found us/them helpful. I try to have some one more senior on site most of the time to ensure things go well and our guest needs are met.

Thanks for mentioning our lobby. Most guest find it warm and inviting and easy to "hang out" in.

We hope to see you again soon.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Hotel was clean. Its easy to get to and is pretty centralize to many of the activities around Lake Tahoe (for Summer) and in the Mountains (for Winter). The staff is courtesy and helpful whenever you have any questions. The Breakfasts foods are hot (thank you for the Waffle Maker) and plentiful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Jerry W-

Thank you for your review and finding our hotel to be clean. That fact can never be over stated.

I am also happy that you found our staff couteous and helpful, our breakfast plentifull and our waffle makers took care of you and your family.

Again, thank you.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you don't want to shell out for the Ritz-Carlton or Hyatt at Northstar, then this is the next best thing. It has all the nice Hampton touches (free WiFi, breakfast, etc.) in a location that's near the water and mountains (for play) and downtown Truckee (for food, services). A previous reviewer said it had a "mountain lodge" feel to it, and that's accurate. You should be able to score this for $99-$199 depending on the season. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
David-

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and especially in such a favorable light.

We are not cheap, and who would want to stay at a cheap hotel anyway? But without the fees, as you say for WiFi, Breakfast and parking we think we provide a good value. Thank you for pointing that out.

We look forward to your next stay in our "mountain lodge", see you then.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

room was very comfortable and met our family needs. Breakfast was good with fresh fruit to take away for later snacks. location was great for access to Lake Tahoe and various places to hike, plus to old town Truckee and various restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Cathy Paul,

Thank you for the very nice review.

At the Hampton we try to appeal to all. Business traveler as well families, especially on weekends find us, like you did, welcoming and comfortable. Our proximity to Old Town Truckee and Lake Tahoe make us convenient as well as quiet.

We appreciate you staying with us and writing such great review, again, thank you.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

An excellent Hampton Inn - quiet wooded location, easy access, pleasant staff, clean and comfortable rooms. No surprises at all, would gladly return.

If you fly into Truckee, you can actually walk from your aircraft to the hotel - it's about a 15 minute walk, no taxi or rental car needed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello SoloTraveler-

Holiday Inn advertised many years ago, that "the best surprise is no surprise" which is always a good thing. I'm glad you found our rooms clean and comfortable with a pleasant staff, without any surprises.

However, I should note that the Truckee Airport is not a commercial airport. The closest commercial airport is in Reno, about 35 minutes away.

Thank you for the persuasive and concise review. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Address: 11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee Hotel Truckee
Hampton Inn Hotel Tahoe
Hampton Inn Truckee
Truckee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.