We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee
11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Farmers Branch, United States
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Many Hampton Inns have undergone upgrades over the past few years. I'm not sure if this one was upgraded or if it's just a brand new place but this particular hotel was top notch. The rooms were nicely appointed. There was little, if any, outside noise. The lobby was very comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was as good as any Hampton I've stayed in. Great job!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Timothy,

Well, we opened almost 8 years ago, but many guests think we are new. Thank you for the compliment.

We try to make our hotel comfortable and inviting- from hiring the right welcoming staff to making the lobby and breakfast area at great place to relax and feel at home.

"Great Job"- thank you!

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    88
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
108
90
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel seemed brand-new, although I was told it is 8 years old. Very clean. I hate pillows that are thick and spongy, which I find at most hotels, but this hotel's pillows were perfect. Also, it was nice to have a night light in the bathroom to help navigate the room in the dark. However, I kept using a single elevator and was never sure whether or not it was the service elevator. The complimentary breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Ron-

Thank you for the taking the time to write a review and a great one at that.

We added the night lights in certain rooms because of the navigation issue which was brought up by a guest. I am glad to hear that you liked the pillows and the breakfast- both very important.

But mostly I am glad to hear that you found our Hampton very clean.

Thank You again.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This property is attractive from the outside and from within. It is located 5 minutes from Truckee, a surprisingly attractive small town, just off I-80 in the Sierra Nevada. It is in a quiet spot, surrounded by tall evergreens. For the second time in a week, we have found a Hampton Inn that takes the typical Hampton operating approach and upgrading it to fit a ski area clientele (Jackson Hole was the other).

The public areas are attractive, with furnishing to suit the mountain vibe. We had a large room with a king size bed, sofa and fireplace…all very sophisticated.

Good value for money in the summer.

Restaurants are all really a car ride away. There is a convenience store next door, but most choices will involve a 5 minute journey. We chose to eat at Moody's in Truckee and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Contributor-

Thank you for recognizing the efforts, time and money we have put into our hotel. You are absolutely correct that we use the tested Hampton standards and procedures to operate but go beyond the expected.

Of course we love Truckee and the Sierra and have therefore tried to match the area and environment, we are glad you like it result. That you found our hotel to be a good value is also appreciated.

Thank You.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel had a very rustic exterior appearance. When you walked in you felt as if you were in an alpine environment down to the fire place in the lobby and the room. The service and ammenities were excellent. We would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear George S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and pointing out the features you appreciated.

We are glad that you found our service and ammenities to be excellent and that you would use our hotel again.

We appreciate the great review, thank you.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great place to stay. Beautiful area. Staff and hotel were great. Within walking distance of the airport. Fresh cookies in the evening. Not to far from downtown Truckee and the restaurants. Beware of a delivery driver in a 26ft white truck with a bad attitude. He forced me into the woods and was within inches of hitting my car. He was cursing and calling me names for no reason other that I was in his way even after I backed up 2 times on the left and right side of the driveway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hampton stays are always fantastic but this hotel exceeds my expectations. Beautifully appointed, clean, great hot water pressure, wonderful amenities, close to Northstar, on the outskirts of Truckee so no train noise. Always love the free breakfast and the oatmeal is wonderful! Even had a fireplace in room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great location, Nice hotel, Front desk needs customer service training. unable to get any answer by phone from front desk when I did get some one on the phone they said they were unable to help me at that time and would call be back in my room "Still Waiting"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Gene V,

I am so sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide perfect service- 100% of the time. I apologize that we failed you.

Hopefully over the 3 days you were staying with us we were able to help you. If you get the chance please call me to discuss the situation

Thank you and I look forward to your call.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Address: 11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#1 Best Value Hotel in Truckee
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee Hotel Truckee
Hampton Inn And Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Hampton Inn Hotel Tahoe
Hampton Inn Truckee
Truckee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.