We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but located away from downtown area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee
11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel but located away from downtown area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Friendly staff and clean, quiet rooms. Breakfast service friendly and the staff was attentive. Hotel is located out by the airport so you need to drive to get back into the center of Truckee to get to restaurants and other shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear David-

We appreciate the favorable review, thank you so much.

Sometimes hotels forget what we are really selling, rooms. We're glad your found ours to be clean and quiet, exactly what they should be.

Again thank you and hopefully you will be staying with us again soon.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    90
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
109
92
18
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merced, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was my first time at a Hampton Inn and it was great! I will be staying at them from now on. The room was very nice, the breakfast was awesome. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. It's a little hidden gem in the mountains of Truckee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Traveler-

Thank you for the great review and acknowledging our staff. I too think we have a great team that are indeed friendly and take care of our guests as if they are guests in their own home.

Hopefully, we a not a hidden gem for too long, your review will help.

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is not you're everyday chain hotel!. Nestled in the mountains outside of Truckee, you'd think you were in a mountain lodge. This Hampton had a very homey feel. The staff was somewhat laid back but that's the way we like it. Although staying right in town has its convieniences, we were not wanting for anything. When we found ourselves up late, we spent time in the eating area which felt like a 'great room' at any mountain retreat. There was fresh coffee, snacks and even a shelf with many board games and books. The room was large and comfortable. Although the pool was closed, the outdoor hot tub was a real treat; and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Traveler-

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel, and such a great review at that.

We have strived to make our hotel standout, and be unique as a Hampton but still have the Hilton amenities. We are happy you recognize what make us just a little bit better, be it books in our great room or a somewhat laid back staff. (but not too laid back, I hope).

Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit now that our pool is open.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

most Hampton Inn's have a common-modern aricture...this location is a look of wood timbers, leather, fireplaces-just the right feel for TAHOE...room's are spacious and relaxing...breakfast is something to look forward to...the front desk made me feel special...I look forward to my next stay at Hampton-Truckee

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Joseph B-

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are gratefull for all feedback but when its positive its really appreicated.

We are glad you liked the decor and surroundings, we agree that our Hampton needed to reflect the Tahoe area- nothing too mundane.

We look forward to your next visit, so that we may make you feel special once again.

Thank You.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Best value, excellent room & breakfast, great manager & staff...

This was our second stay at this hotel. We chose the Hampton Inn Truckee because of its easy access to the many ski resorts in the area. The suites are huge, the in-room hot tub fabulous, and the breakfasts are varied and substantial for skiers. I cannot agree with negative posts about bedding comfort and decor; we found the decor lovely and the bed decadent!

We did have a noisy upstairs neighbor, but the manager, Rick Rucker, remedied the situation. He verified the next morning that all was well with us and sent us a complimentary bottle of wine for our trouble. He must be a good manager since all of the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest-

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and singing our praises!

Hopefully the wine helped your sleep the next night, we are sorry about the noisy upstairs neighbors. We are also glad to hear you like our beds and the decor.

We look forward to your next visit, the summers are lovely too you know.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
del ray ,fla
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We usually stay at Hampton Inn's and expect the same quality at each one. This one had a very nice lobby. The breakfast servers and front desk were exceptionally nice! However we did encounter some problems.
1- The beds seemed not to be the ones that we are accustomed to
2-The bathroom door when opened jammed into the main door
3-CORRIDOR NOISE!!!!!! I was awakened several times during the night by loud people in the hallway. Another person staying there opened his door and asked them to" KEEP THE NOISE DOWN! " Later on more noise woke me up several times with a couple arguing and cursing . The night manager did try to locate where it was coming from but was unsuccessful due to locating where the noise was coming from.Eventually we got the room number and shared it with the night manager who did knock on the door and addressed the problem.
SUGGESTION: If this happens get the room number right away and share it w/the night manager. They are very happy to address the problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Traveler,

I apologize for the problem you encountered during your stay with us. I'm glad to hear our Night Manager tried to address the noise and was eventually successfull.

Thank you for pointing out that the front desk and breakfast team were "exceptionally nice", I will pass on the praise.

Please call me regarding the noise issue. I would like to discuss it further and see if we can do something for you.

Thank You.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our stay was fabulous. The staff was wonderful, our room was emaculate and quiet. Breakfast was fabulous with a wide variety of food including fresh fruit. Could not have found better even at the Ritz!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Traveler

Thank you for posting such a great review.

I agree about our staff- but its most important to have clean and quiet room. Most find our breakfast a step above the standard fare but its always nice to hear.

Again we appreciate the praise- and hope that you find yourself in Truckee again soon.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Address: 11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#1 Best Value Hotel in Truckee
#3 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee Hotel Truckee
Hampton Inn And Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Hampton Inn Hotel Tahoe
Hampton Inn Truckee
Truckee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.