We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee
11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Windsor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was a lovely place but the service was excellent! Very polite, helpful and courteous. I had asked the lady at the desk if they might happen to have any milk to sell. They had lots of other drinks including beer and wine but no milk and I needed it to take some pills. She asked me to hold on a minute and she went and got me a cup of milk at no charge. I very much appreciated it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dee,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and tell of the fine service you received.

I think we have a great team here, who understand people and look to take care of them. This is a perfect example- and "a lovely place" as well.

We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    76
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
98
81
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The room was very worn and tired. The bed comforter was lumpy and the pillows rumpled and should have been thrown out. The bathroom towels could have been in better condition. We were pleased with the breakfast and the quality of the options to choose from. The service was great. Don't get a room next to the elevator a bit noisy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Jacque B-

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvirsor.

We appreciate your notes regarding the service and the breakfast and options. We have tried to make something available for all. Our team is service oriented and they truly want to please- I will pass on your praise.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations especially in regards to the bedding. The insets to the comforters are replaced regularly if not, they become lumpy. We also replace towels and pillows constantly- but obviously we had not in your room.

Please feel free to contact me. I would like to talk to your personally to make things right.

Again, thank you.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This place exceeded my expectations ten fold. The lobby doesn't look like your typical hampton inn. I had a jr. suite that was a decent size and had a timed fireplace. The beds were amazing. good beds are hard to find in ski towns. This hotel is only about 15 minutes away from Squaw or Alpine Ski resorts. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for the great review. Somethings hotels and hoteliers forget that we provide beds first and foremost. We think ours have the right firmness and the comforters are light but warm. We're happy you enjoyed your night with us.

Thank you too for pointing out that you received a great value. Ours is not a cheap hotel but most agree you pay for what you receive.

We hope to see you again soon and again thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write of your experience.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Convenient location for NorthStar ski trip with the family (teenagers). We were close enough to go into Truckee for dinner, but had a decent complimentary breakfast before driving 5-10 minutes for skiing the next morning.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom room, which was perfect for the 3 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Mr.Craw-

Thank you for the very nice review.

Since opening we have worked to make our Hampton friendly hotel, where all are welcome especially families. The two room suites are especially appreciated as they have 2 TVs and a bath and a half.

We hope to see you soon or next winter.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for a first time trip up to Tahoe/Truckee with our 5 yo. We liked the Hampton Inn because we get a great breakfast, and they have full suite rooms so kids can sleep in one room while mom and dad stay up nearby. We all slept great in the beds. The breakfast server Mayra made us great waffles every day, and they cleared our table and checked on us during breakfast. It was not cheap but we felt like welcome guests and it beats staying in a beat up ski lodge. Also, the location was easy to find, about midway between Hwy 80/the town of truckee and Lake Tahoe, and the Hwy it is on has enough traffic that the snow is cleared. We loved the 24 hr hot chocolate and coffee, and it was nice that there are a few games and puzzles in the breakfast area to pass time if the weather is too bad to go out.

Room Tip: Full suite rooms have double doors, which cane be opened for a huge room feeling, or closed to let k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello South Bay Dad-

Thank you taking the time to write a review and a great one at that!

Unfortunately for us, Mayra is taking some time to be with her new baby, we hope she returns soon. As you pointed out she does a wonderful job- but we think our whole team does. I will pass on your comments when I see her.

We will continue to have chocolate and coffee and will update our games and puzzles in the lobby for summer.

Please say hello on your next visit.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having never stayed at a hampton in before, we were very impressed with the nice rooms, the style of the hotel, the friendly service and the complimentary breakfast. The hotel was not too far from Sugar Bowl where we were snowboarding the next day, and very close to a small town with restaurants and a movie theater. They also had a Jacuzzi outside which was a great touch!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello in Montrose-

We appreciate the especially nice review. Thank you so much.

And thank you for trying Hampton and hopefully you make us your hotel of choice from now on. We do take pride in our service and breakfast as well our rooms. So, your comments are truly valued.

We hope see you again soon and checkout Northstar and Squaw next time you're here.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have been staying here year round for a couple of years now. The Inn is run in a very professional way with the front desk staff being very helpful. I noticed this past week that the general manager was walking around in a suit asking guests how they were doing. I don't see this at hotels I stay in around the country for business!
The rooms are decorated quite nice and are very clean and organized. All of the employees seem to be quite well trained.
If you need anything at the hotel or a suggestion for dinner, ask the front desk. They will even arrange cab service into downtown Truckee.
Breakfast is included in the price, which is above average for a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Tom C-

Thank you for the great review.

Hiring the right people can be a challenge especially in a small mountain town. But we agree with you that we have a strong, professional team that does the big things as well as the small things right.

We appreciate your comments and will pass them on.

Thanks again.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Address: 11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee Hotel Truckee
Hampton Inn Hotel Tahoe
Hampton Inn Truckee
Truckee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.