We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel , Greater Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee
11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel , Greater Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This place exceeded my expectations ten fold. The lobby doesn't look like your typical hampton inn. I had a jr. suite that was a decent size and had a timed fireplace. The beds were amazing. good beds are hard to find in ski towns. This hotel is only about 15 minutes away from Squaw or Alpine Ski resorts. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for the great review. Somethings hotels and hoteliers forget that we provide beds first and foremost. We think ours have the right firmness and the comforters are light but warm. We're happy you enjoyed your night with us.

Thank you too for pointing out that you received a great value. Ours is not a cheap hotel but most agree you pay for what you receive.

We hope to see you again soon and again thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write of your experience.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    75
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
97
81
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Convenient location for NorthStar ski trip with the family (teenagers). We were close enough to go into Truckee for dinner, but had a decent complimentary breakfast before driving 5-10 minutes for skiing the next morning.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom room, which was perfect for the 3 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Mr.Craw-

Thank you for the very nice review.

Since opening we have worked to make our Hampton friendly hotel, where all are welcome especially families. The two room suites are especially appreciated as they have 2 TVs and a bath and a half.

We hope to see you soon or next winter.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for a first time trip up to Tahoe/Truckee with our 5 yo. We liked the Hampton Inn because we get a great breakfast, and they have full suite rooms so kids can sleep in one room while mom and dad stay up nearby. We all slept great in the beds. The breakfast server Mayra made us great waffles every day, and they cleared our table and checked on us during breakfast. It was not cheap but we felt like welcome guests and it beats staying in a beat up ski lodge. Also, the location was easy to find, about midway between Hwy 80/the town of truckee and Lake Tahoe, and the Hwy it is on has enough traffic that the snow is cleared. We loved the 24 hr hot chocolate and coffee, and it was nice that there are a few games and puzzles in the breakfast area to pass time if the weather is too bad to go out.

Room Tip: Full suite rooms have double doors, which cane be opened for a huge room feeling, or closed to let k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello South Bay Dad-

Thank you taking the time to write a review and a great one at that!

Unfortunately for us, Mayra is taking some time to be with her new baby, we hope she returns soon. As you pointed out she does a wonderful job- but we think our whole team does. I will pass on your comments when I see her.

We will continue to have chocolate and coffee and will update our games and puzzles in the lobby for summer.

Please say hello on your next visit.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having never stayed at a hampton in before, we were very impressed with the nice rooms, the style of the hotel, the friendly service and the complimentary breakfast. The hotel was not too far from Sugar Bowl where we were snowboarding the next day, and very close to a small town with restaurants and a movie theater. They also had a Jacuzzi outside which was a great touch!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello in Montrose-

We appreciate the especially nice review. Thank you so much.

And thank you for trying Hampton and hopefully you make us your hotel of choice from now on. We do take pride in our service and breakfast as well our rooms. So, your comments are truly valued.

We hope see you again soon and checkout Northstar and Squaw next time you're here.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have been staying here year round for a couple of years now. The Inn is run in a very professional way with the front desk staff being very helpful. I noticed this past week that the general manager was walking around in a suit asking guests how they were doing. I don't see this at hotels I stay in around the country for business!
The rooms are decorated quite nice and are very clean and organized. All of the employees seem to be quite well trained.
If you need anything at the hotel or a suggestion for dinner, ask the front desk. They will even arrange cab service into downtown Truckee.
Breakfast is included in the price, which is above average for a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Tom C-

Thank you for the great review.

Hiring the right people can be a challenge especially in a small mountain town. But we agree with you that we have a strong, professional team that does the big things as well as the small things right.

We appreciate your comments and will pass them on.

Thanks again.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were delighted when this property opened a few years ago as Truckee was really in need of a quality chain property. We've stayed here 2x now and both times were great. As others have noted, the front desk staff is always courteous and helpful, and checkin is lightning fast. The rooms are much bigger than some you'll find at nearby "luxury" hotels and resort rooms that sell for 2-4x more. Unlike downtown Truckee there is no train noise here - it is super quiet. Plus a free hot breakfast for the entire family, not just cold cereal and cheap muffins. Best of all the location is great for skiiers - <5min from Northstar and I-80, not to mention all the great restaurants in Truckee. So easy to access even during blizzard conditions. Also free parking, free wifi and a nice kitchenette with refrig and micro that is great for families. Also part of the Hilton program so you can earn and use HH points, and they treat HH elites very well. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
"Boraxo"

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and especially in such a positive light.

Our staff takes pride in their job and make sure our guests have a great stay. Although maybe not a big deal to some but I have made a point of making checkin as seemless as possible.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is very well maintained inside and out and appears new. The management team has done a wonderful job in selecting hotel staff- some of the most helpful and knowledgable staff we have ever met at a hotel. Breakfast was above average for a Hampton Inn- we were surprised to see staff members cooking fresh waffles for the guests and assuring everyone was taken care of.

Room Tip: Overall, the location is very quiet. Our room faced the airport but we did not hear any aircraft or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
JC-

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We understand that breafkast is the most important meal of the day. We get a chance to meet our guests, provide for them and get them off to a good start both physically and mentally. So if we can do a little extra - we will.

Please look me up on your next visit, so I can personally thank you and ask about Morgan Hill.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Address: 11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee Hotel Truckee
Hampton Inn Hotel Tahoe
Hampton Inn Truckee
Truckee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.