We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee
11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montrose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having never stayed at a hampton in before, we were very impressed with the nice rooms, the style of the hotel, the friendly service and the complimentary breakfast. The hotel was not too far from Sugar Bowl where we were snowboarding the next day, and very close to a small town with restaurants and a movie theater. They also had a Jacuzzi outside which was a great touch!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello in Montrose-

We appreciate the especially nice review. Thank you so much.

And thank you for trying Hampton and hopefully you make us your hotel of choice from now on. We do take pride in our service and breakfast as well our rooms. So, your comments are truly valued.

We hope see you again soon and checkout Northstar and Squaw next time you're here.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    96
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
122
98
18
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have been staying here year round for a couple of years now. The Inn is run in a very professional way with the front desk staff being very helpful. I noticed this past week that the general manager was walking around in a suit asking guests how they were doing. I don't see this at hotels I stay in around the country for business!
The rooms are decorated quite nice and are very clean and organized. All of the employees seem to be quite well trained.
If you need anything at the hotel or a suggestion for dinner, ask the front desk. They will even arrange cab service into downtown Truckee.
Breakfast is included in the price, which is above average for a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Tom C-

Thank you for the great review.

Hiring the right people can be a challenge especially in a small mountain town. But we agree with you that we have a strong, professional team that does the big things as well as the small things right.

We appreciate your comments and will pass them on.

Thanks again.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were delighted when this property opened a few years ago as Truckee was really in need of a quality chain property. We've stayed here 2x now and both times were great. As others have noted, the front desk staff is always courteous and helpful, and checkin is lightning fast. The rooms are much bigger than some you'll find at nearby "luxury" hotels and resort rooms that sell for 2-4x more. Unlike downtown Truckee there is no train noise here - it is super quiet. Plus a free hot breakfast for the entire family, not just cold cereal and cheap muffins. Best of all the location is great for skiiers - <5min from Northstar and I-80, not to mention all the great restaurants in Truckee. So easy to access even during blizzard conditions. Also free parking, free wifi and a nice kitchenette with refrig and micro that is great for families. Also part of the Hilton program so you can earn and use HH points, and they treat HH elites very well. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
"Boraxo"

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and especially in such a positive light.

Our staff takes pride in their job and make sure our guests have a great stay. Although maybe not a big deal to some but I have made a point of making checkin as seemless as possible.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is very well maintained inside and out and appears new. The management team has done a wonderful job in selecting hotel staff- some of the most helpful and knowledgable staff we have ever met at a hotel. Breakfast was above average for a Hampton Inn- we were surprised to see staff members cooking fresh waffles for the guests and assuring everyone was taken care of.

Room Tip: Overall, the location is very quiet. Our room faced the airport but we did not hear any aircraft or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
JC-

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We understand that breafkast is the most important meal of the day. We get a chance to meet our guests, provide for them and get them off to a good start both physically and mentally. So if we can do a little extra - we will.

Please look me up on your next visit, so I can personally thank you and ask about Morgan Hill.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Located minutes from Northstar Resort and minutes from Interstate 80. We had a warm and comfortable king bed suite. The free breakfast was delicious and diverse. Will definitely stay here again when skiing Lake Tahoe.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Judge Jim,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We especially appreciate that you enjoyed our breakfast.

We look forward to your next visit.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The thing you first notice is the friendly attention from the staff at check-in. The hotel is kept in attractive condition in both the public rooms and our room accomodations. Breakfast menu changes daily and is very nice with some hot dishes and the usual cold fare.

Our King room is good sized and pleasantly decorated. The bed was a bit soft, but comfortable.

We'll stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the main wing which was very quiet and has a view of the airport runway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
James,

Thank you for great review. Our staff takes pride in their service and making sure everyone feels welcome. We're glad you had a wonderful visit.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you for staying with us.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The service is nice, the breakfast was okay, but definitely not what you would expect for $500 for two nights. The mattress and bedding were not good quality and we had a hard time watching a movie online because it kept pausing from the slow connection. My husband and I went there to snowboard at Northstar, so we would have stayed there except it was full. It's pretty close though so it's a good plan B. I will probably look for a different place next time but it's okay it you're just staying 1 or 2 nights. They have really good chocolate chip cookies at the front desk, but they weren't there during the weekend for some reason.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Although for the most part your message was favorable- your stay was not to your expectations or ours. If you have the time please call me, I would like to discuss your stay and to ensure your satisfaction.

Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Address: 11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
#2 Business Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee Hotel Truckee
Hampton Inn And Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Hampton Inn Hotel Tahoe
Hampton Inn Truckee
Truckee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.