We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee
11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is very well maintained inside and out and appears new. The management team has done a wonderful job in selecting hotel staff- some of the most helpful and knowledgable staff we have ever met at a hotel. Breakfast was above average for a Hampton Inn- we were surprised to see staff members cooking fresh waffles for the guests and assuring everyone was taken care of.

Room Tip: Overall, the location is very quiet. Our room faced the airport but we did not hear any aircraft or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
JC-

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We understand that breafkast is the most important meal of the day. We get a chance to meet our guests, provide for them and get them off to a good start both physically and mentally. So if we can do a little extra - we will.

Please look me up on your next visit, so I can personally thank you and ask about Morgan Hill.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    75
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
97
81
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Located minutes from Northstar Resort and minutes from Interstate 80. We had a warm and comfortable king bed suite. The free breakfast was delicious and diverse. Will definitely stay here again when skiing Lake Tahoe.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Judge Jim,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We especially appreciate that you enjoyed our breakfast.

We look forward to your next visit.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The thing you first notice is the friendly attention from the staff at check-in. The hotel is kept in attractive condition in both the public rooms and our room accomodations. Breakfast menu changes daily and is very nice with some hot dishes and the usual cold fare.

Our King room is good sized and pleasantly decorated. The bed was a bit soft, but comfortable.

We'll stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the main wing which was very quiet and has a view of the airport runway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
James,

Thank you for great review. Our staff takes pride in their service and making sure everyone feels welcome. We're glad you had a wonderful visit.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you for staying with us.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The service is nice, the breakfast was okay, but definitely not what you would expect for $500 for two nights. The mattress and bedding were not good quality and we had a hard time watching a movie online because it kept pausing from the slow connection. My husband and I went there to snowboard at Northstar, so we would have stayed there except it was full. It's pretty close though so it's a good plan B. I will probably look for a different place next time but it's okay it you're just staying 1 or 2 nights. They have really good chocolate chip cookies at the front desk, but they weren't there during the weekend for some reason.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Although for the most part your message was favorable- your stay was not to your expectations or ours. If you have the time please call me, I would like to discuss your stay and to ensure your satisfaction.

Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent 3 winter nights in this pleasant hotel. We wanted a friendly and clean atmosphere with a nice mountain feel and this hotel was pretty good. It is situated for easy jaunts to downtown Truckee, Reno, Squaw Valley, Alpine and Northstar. I was glad to have a room that didn't over look the gas station. Some drawbacks were no music in the fitness room, luke warm water for 3 showers taken. Very nice to have shuttles to the ski mountains and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: ask to be have a room away from gas station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in the king suite, suppose to be nice, but this place is pretty run down and lack maintainence. Definitely need to put some money back into this hotel. Breakfast is just OK, very nice employees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

I apologize that the suite was not to your expectations. And I thank you for pointing out that our employees are very nice; it’s appreciated and will be passed on.

We can always do a better job maintaining our property. We do have a full time staff to repair, paint, replace wall covering, shampoo carpets, and take care of the many items that need attention. Our goal is provide a perfect experience, in every way for our guests – from the greeting to checkout. In your case we did not meet your expectations or ours.

Again, I am sorry and would like to make things right. Please contact me at the hotel at your earliest convenience. I await your call.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Beach, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here for one night this past weekend and was very impressed. The hotel has unique decor with a mountain feel, while at the same time it is very modern. The room was impeccably cleaned and everything in the suite felt brand new.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. They even have fresh baked cookies at the desk when you check in. The hot breakfast was great and had a wide variety of choices.
I would definetly recommend this hotel. It is close to Northstar, and a short drive to downtown Truckee and Squaw Valley. Also they have a very nice outdoor hot tub which is perfect after a day on the slopes!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We appreciate your kind words and glad you were impressed.

Most importantly, we are happy that you found our hotel clean and how you felt that the suite was brand new. We can be friendly and provide a nice breakfast and many other things but we must be clean.

We are expecting a few snow falls in the next 10 days so the slopes are awaiting you.

Thank You again,

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Address: 11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee Hotel Truckee
Hampton Inn Hotel Tahoe
Hampton Inn Truckee
Truckee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.