We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee
11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Run down hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in the king suite, suppose to be nice, but this place is pretty run down and lack maintainence. Definitely need to put some money back into this hotel. Breakfast is just OK, very nice employees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

I apologize that the suite was not to your expectations. And I thank you for pointing out that our employees are very nice; it’s appreciated and will be passed on.

We can always do a better job maintaining our property. We do have a full time staff to repair, paint, replace wall covering, shampoo carpets, and take care of the many items that need attention. Our goal is provide a perfect experience, in every way for our guests – from the greeting to checkout. In your case we did not meet your expectations or ours.

Again, I am sorry and would like to make things right. Please contact me at the hotel at your earliest convenience. I await your call.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    87
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
108
89
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kings Beach, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here for one night this past weekend and was very impressed. The hotel has unique decor with a mountain feel, while at the same time it is very modern. The room was impeccably cleaned and everything in the suite felt brand new.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. They even have fresh baked cookies at the desk when you check in. The hot breakfast was great and had a wide variety of choices.
I would definetly recommend this hotel. It is close to Northstar, and a short drive to downtown Truckee and Squaw Valley. Also they have a very nice outdoor hot tub which is perfect after a day on the slopes!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We appreciate your kind words and glad you were impressed.

Most importantly, we are happy that you found our hotel clean and how you felt that the suite was brand new. We can be friendly and provide a nice breakfast and many other things but we must be clean.

We are expecting a few snow falls in the next 10 days so the slopes are awaiting you.

Thank You again,

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmont
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We checked in a little early, I asked if they had a room away from the highway. At the time they did not have one ready so we decided to take our chances and take the room they had available. We were in our room for ten minutes when the phone rang, it was the front desk inquiring about our room, asking if we were satisfied.She then offered a room on the third floor in the back. We decided just to stay put. We were very impressed with the customer service. We weren't there more than a few minutes and they were already making sure we were happy!
We had no problems with noise from the highway, in fact had a great nights sleep. Beds were super comfortable.
The breakfast was good, I brought a few items of my own and fixed them up with goodies from oatmeal condiments.
The staff here is beyond nice, they made us feel welcome.
We will be back to stay at the Hampton Inn next Thanksgiving while visiting family!
Highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Clean comfortable and very friendly.

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitve you may want to request a room in the back of the hotel away from the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review.

We believe we have a very good team here and they listen and understand our guest needs. But its always nice to hear from those that stay with us.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you again before Thanksgiving.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Beautiful, comfortable rooms. Go for the King Suite if you are staying for a few nights - the gas log fireplace is great! We loved our 2nd floor room overlooking the pool and pines. Excellent value, super clean, friendly attentive staff - even took a group shot of the family in the spacious breakfast room area. Hot breakfast was delicious. This hotel is a very short drive to Lake Tahoe, without all the traffic congestion. It was so nice to come back after a day of hiking and relax in the peaceful pines! Hear there is a resident bear, but we never got to see him! But we will surely go back and get another chance. This inn is a keeper!

Room Tip: King Suite is beautiful - not your ordinary hotel room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and all the wonder things you had to say. Its nice to know that our efforts are appreciated and we have made someone happy.

I've heard that our bear has found a new home so its doubtfull that you will see him/her on your next trip.

Your Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were here for a meeting. The conference room facilities were great and the rooms upstairs were very comfortable. A hot breakfast was included. Staff was very warm and friendly.
Internet was included and nice big TV. Four machines and TV for gym facility. Right off the 80 freeway so very accessible to Tahoe and other travels.

Room Tip: We liked the 3rd floor with a view of the airport and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your nice review.

I have made sure that our staff saw your comment about them being "warm and friendly" and they appreciated the compliment.

Again, Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We get up to Truckee/North Lake Tahoe/Reno several times a year because of our timeshare and occassionally need a place to stay for a night or 2 outside of our little condo. WHY I have never thought to stay here, I don't know, but this will definitely be our go-to place in the future when we need a hotel in the area.

RESERVATIONS: Made online. Easy and received a CSAA discount for a reasonably priced room.

ARRIVAL: We have noticed this hotel every time we drive through the area and thought it looked very pretty on the outside. Driving up, we were struck by how lovely the hotel and grounds were. It looks like a lodge and is appropriately designed for the area. The staff greeted us warmly and were very efficient.

ROOM: Though the room was a little dark (we had a back, corner room) with no view, it was perfect for what we needed. It wasn't very large, but just 2 of us were travelling and we didn't stay in the room except to sleep. It had the typical amenities that all the chain hotels have these days....blow dryer, iron, refrigerator, etc. Great bathtub/shower combo...fabulous water pressure.

The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean. We had a peaceful and quiet night's sleep. And my biggest joy...the comfortable bed! I didn't have to use the mattress topper that I carry with me when I travel.

BREAKFAST: They offered a very nice complimentary breakfast that included cereal, make-your-own-waffle station, eggs, breakfast meats, coffee, juice, tea, toast, pastries, etc. The breakfast area had plenty of seating and items were kept well-stocked.

FACILITIES: We didn't use any of the hotel amenities (pool, etc.) so we can't comment on that.

CHECK-OUT: Again, the staff was very warm and friendly and made us feel as if they appreciated the fact that we stayed there. This is always a HUGE plus when I travel.

This is NOT a new hotel, but you would never know it. The facillties are well-maintained. I have stayed at a couple of Hampton Inn's and always been satisfied. However, this is NOT your typical HI...it is quite a few steps above the rest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, at length.

We are happy that everything was to your satisfaction and yes, we do appreciate that you stayed with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel and I was really impressed. It was very clean and well maintained throughout the property. The staff was very professional, attentive and friendly. I would certainly stay here again if in the area and can recommend to others!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your great review.

What we stress to our staff, you recognized. We can be many things but if the hotel is not clean and maintain - nothing else matters. Our mature staff realizes each guest is an individual and treats them as such. Most of our guests are on vacation; others travel here for work and we are able to serve both equally.

Thank you again.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Address: 11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#1 Best Value Hotel in Truckee
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee Hotel Truckee
Hampton Inn And Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Hampton Inn Hotel Tahoe
Hampton Inn Truckee
Truckee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.