We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Inn is a Keeper!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee
11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This Inn is a Keeper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Beautiful, comfortable rooms. Go for the King Suite if you are staying for a few nights - the gas log fireplace is great! We loved our 2nd floor room overlooking the pool and pines. Excellent value, super clean, friendly attentive staff - even took a group shot of the family in the spacious breakfast room area. Hot breakfast was delicious. This hotel is a very short drive to Lake Tahoe, without all the traffic congestion. It was so nice to come back after a day of hiking and relax in the peaceful pines! Hear there is a resident bear, but we never got to see him! But we will surely go back and get another chance. This inn is a keeper!

Room Tip: King Suite is beautiful - not your ordinary hotel room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and all the wonder things you had to say. Its nice to know that our efforts are appreciated and we have made someone happy.

I've heard that our bear has found a new home so its doubtfull that you will see him/her on your next trip.

Your Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    94
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
113
96
18
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were here for a meeting. The conference room facilities were great and the rooms upstairs were very comfortable. A hot breakfast was included. Staff was very warm and friendly.
Internet was included and nice big TV. Four machines and TV for gym facility. Right off the 80 freeway so very accessible to Tahoe and other travels.

Room Tip: We liked the 3rd floor with a view of the airport and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your nice review.

I have made sure that our staff saw your comment about them being "warm and friendly" and they appreciated the compliment.

Again, Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We get up to Truckee/North Lake Tahoe/Reno several times a year because of our timeshare and occassionally need a place to stay for a night or 2 outside of our little condo. WHY I have never thought to stay here, I don't know, but this will definitely be our go-to place in the future when we need a hotel in the area.

RESERVATIONS: Made online. Easy and received a CSAA discount for a reasonably priced room.

ARRIVAL: We have noticed this hotel every time we drive through the area and thought it looked very pretty on the outside. Driving up, we were struck by how lovely the hotel and grounds were. It looks like a lodge and is appropriately designed for the area. The staff greeted us warmly and were very efficient.

ROOM: Though the room was a little dark (we had a back, corner room) with no view, it was perfect for what we needed. It wasn't very large, but just 2 of us were travelling and we didn't stay in the room except to sleep. It had the typical amenities that all the chain hotels have these days....blow dryer, iron, refrigerator, etc. Great bathtub/shower combo...fabulous water pressure.

The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean. We had a peaceful and quiet night's sleep. And my biggest joy...the comfortable bed! I didn't have to use the mattress topper that I carry with me when I travel.

BREAKFAST: They offered a very nice complimentary breakfast that included cereal, make-your-own-waffle station, eggs, breakfast meats, coffee, juice, tea, toast, pastries, etc. The breakfast area had plenty of seating and items were kept well-stocked.

FACILITIES: We didn't use any of the hotel amenities (pool, etc.) so we can't comment on that.

CHECK-OUT: Again, the staff was very warm and friendly and made us feel as if they appreciated the fact that we stayed there. This is always a HUGE plus when I travel.

This is NOT a new hotel, but you would never know it. The facillties are well-maintained. I have stayed at a couple of Hampton Inn's and always been satisfied. However, this is NOT your typical HI...it is quite a few steps above the rest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, at length.

We are happy that everything was to your satisfaction and yes, we do appreciate that you stayed with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel and I was really impressed. It was very clean and well maintained throughout the property. The staff was very professional, attentive and friendly. I would certainly stay here again if in the area and can recommend to others!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your great review.

What we stress to our staff, you recognized. We can be many things but if the hotel is not clean and maintain - nothing else matters. Our mature staff realizes each guest is an individual and treats them as such. Most of our guests are on vacation; others travel here for work and we are able to serve both equally.

Thank you again.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

clean, comfortable,friendly. Truly enjoyed our stay. Great choices for included breakfast. A little pricey but would stay here again,love the cleanliness and friendliness. Quiet, not much of a view but the rest makes up for lack of view

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights for Tough Mudder and the hotel is clean, convenient and the breakfast was great.

The property is very close to Northstar and it is well maintained. The included breakfast was more than the typical rolls and juice. They have a waffle maker and provide hot eggs and breakfast meats in addition to pastrys, juice, coffee and cereal.

My room was quiet and the houskeeping was prompt.

There is no restaurant or bar on site, but there is a development with a microbrewery, sushi bar and several other places to eat and drink less than a mile up the road. There is also a mini-mart right in front of the hotel for any incidentals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Ohio, USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently stayed there for two nights with our two kids (2 and 4). We stayed in a 2-queen suite. Check in was fast and Bianca (I apologize if I got the name wrong) mentioned that all our requests had been taken care of. I love it when hotels are professional enough to not only acknowledge our requests but to take care of them. My son has a peanut allergy so we had asked for all bedding to be switched and for the room to be extra clean. We also asked for a top-floor room next to another room we had reserved and that request was met too. We received a call shortly after getting to the room to see if the room was satisfactory. Upon walking in the fridge/microwave area with granite countertop was on our right with a kitchen sink and a roll of paper towels. Then there is a full-sized couch that is a sofa sleeper on one end of the room with a coffee table, fireplace, and end tables. Everything is in one room, but it seemed so big and the kids were happy they were finally free of the plane seats and car seats. There is a flat screen TV in the middle of the room on a turn table and then the two queen beds. The bedding was definitely crisp and fresh, the room was spotless, the bathroom was a decent size with very clean tiles and grout, and the sink to the bathroom was outside of the shower/tub and toilet area...also granite countertop. There were plenty of towels and being that we have two kids we needed lots. At one point we asked for more and the front desk gladly gave us some more right away. Basic toiletries (soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion) were provided and a pleasant surprise that most hotels don't do anymore was a sign next to the toiletries that stated that if we forgot anything like a comb, a razor, or if anything else, we can ask for them at the front desk at no extra charge. It's a small gesture and most hotels I stayed at lately seem to have a sign that states they have a store that we can find the items at instead of providing them to the guests for free. Small things go a long way. There's also a desk across from the TV for anyone who needs a desk to work on. When I say spotless, I mean spotless. I am very particular about hotel cleanliness, since we have two kids, one with allergies. This is probably one of the cleanest rooms we stayed at. The hotel is modern with a rustic twist. The rooms are nicely decorated. The breakfast was great and the ladies kept the area stocked. Juices, hot water, coffee, creamers, milk, cereals, eggs, sausage, waffle maker, muffins, toaster, etc. The breakfast area next to the lobby was beautiful. We used the pool once, it was cold but the kids wanted to get in. The pool was clean, and towels were provided in the gym. When we asked for recommendations for dinner after we arrived, the lady turned around, got a map, highlighted the route for us, and also gave us a card with directions out of a little box. Impressive! There is a little min mart and gas station right in the parking lot of the hotel...very convenient. The hotel is a short drive to a hiking trail, short drive to the north beach and tahoe city. We stayed there to attend a wedding in Alta...we asked for a late checkout and they were able to accomodate that request as well. I would gladly stay here again if we visit Tahoe again. The relaxing, clean, friendly, modern hotel made our whrilwind trip from OH to CA with two kids enjoyable! Highly recommend anyone looking for a nice hotel to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee

Address: 11951 State Highway 267, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee Hotel Truckee
Hampton Inn Hotel Tahoe
Hampton Inn Truckee
Truckee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.