We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Northstar-at-Tahoe

Northstar-at-Tahoe
Truckee, CA 96160
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #2 of 31 Activities in Truckee
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
410 helpful votes 410 helpful votes
“Expensive, but Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Northstar is owned by Vale Resorts as of 2011. It has a very nice village area that has lots of shops, restaurants and a skating rink. There are fire pits around the skating rink with nice cabana style seating areas and 2 bar areas to get a warm drinks.

The skiing/snowboarding is mostly intermediate with some nice long single blacks on the backside. They also have a lot of park features and very large superpipe. There are 3 lodges on the mountain. 1 at mid mountain at the top of gazebo and 2 on the top including the new Zephyr Lodge. The food is good but like everything else its expensive.

There are 2 major downfalls with this resort. 1. You have to park a long ways from the resort and take a shuttle bus. 2. You basically have to take the gondola to get to the top. This can be a major pain because it gets crowded. So be prepared for long lines. This is why I give it 3 stars. I prefer Sierra at Tahoe or Kirkwood.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    72
    23
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great time - excellent resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

What a wonderful place! My family and I skied at Northstar and had a wonderful time. Everything was perfect. From the slopes, to the service staff (always cheery and always smiling), to even the guys who manage the chair lifts. To top it all, they serve cookies and drinks for skiers to munch and drink at the bottom of the lifts. What a nice touch. Would definitely return. In fact we are already looking to come back next winter.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Good skiing and dining. We love all the facilities skiing, iceskating, good sushi, good hot dogs!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“who needs natural snow?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had a great time on man-made snow. Food was great. Condo was perfect.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great snowmaking, helped save our snowboard vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Visited Northstar 4 days out of 12 (the other 8 at Heavenly) and was very impressed with the resort.
Northstar supply daily grooming reports on piste maps which enable you to see what is actually open at a glance (Heavenly could learn from this).
I found the staff to be very friendly and the snowmaking was really good. (around 20% open)
Quieter than Heavenly and handy if you fancy a shopping trip to Reno after a day on the mountain.
It is only 45 minutes in the car from South Lake Tahoe and is really worth a visit. If it ever snows this season it will be even better.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northstar-at-Tahoe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Northstar-at-Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northstar-at-Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.