We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Very Best in Truckee - Best Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pianeta Ristorante

Pianeta Ristorante
10096 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-0314
+1 530-587-4694
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 95 restaurants in Truckee
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bridge Street
Description: Pianeta is a cozy and inviting restaurant located in the heart of historic downtown Truckee, California. Since 1998, we have specialized in creating delicious Italian foods and homemade pastas while offering a stellar dining experience. Our menu features nightly specials inspired by the delicious cuisine of Northern Italy and boasts an impressive wine collection from California vineyards as well as classic Italian wines. At the bar, you will find an inviting atmosphere backed by premium liquor, aperitifs and one of the most popular happy hours in town (5:00-6:30 Monday thru Friday). Finally we pride ourselves on our welcoming friendly staff, warm eclectic old world ambiance and consistently remarkable cuisine. We always recommend reservations and we can accommodate larger parties, please call for more information.
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the Very Best in Truckee - Best Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Pianeta is excellent!

It's an Italian bistro. The food is outstanding, and atmosphere is authentic Italian.

Service is also top rate, from the greeting at the door, to the bartenders, to the waiters. They all really are there to serve and please.

The food is really top quality, and this is from an Italian who generally prefers to eat Italian food at home since it's better quality. Everything I've had there has been very good -- I've eaten at Pianeta about 5 times before.

The atmosphere is casual, yet upscale Italian. You can wear jeans and a cowboy hat, or a jacket and tie. After all, it's Truckee, Tahoe and California :)
Great place for a quiet romantic dinner.

Very good wine selection, and knowledgeable waiters about the wine.

My recommendations for the best quality food in Trukee

Best overall -- Stella
Best Italian - Pianeta
Best broad food selection - Moody's (and has excellent entertainment)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    75
    31
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the drive from Incline Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hubby and I drove over from Incline Village based on the other reviews and were not disappointed. The dining room was completely sold out so we ate at the bar. We started with the crab cakes and caprese salad, both were flavorful and fresh. The crust on crab cakes was cooked to perfection and served with arugula which was a wonderful pairing. Our entrees were chicken Marsala and ravioli with bolognses sauce. The chicken was cooked perfectly, tender and moist and the bolognses was rich and full bodied. The portions were large and we had no room for dessert. The service was prompt and we were well taken care of even though the Resturant was full. We will return again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth repeat visits!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Love the carpaccio, Caesar salad the Bolognese is fabulous with rich deep flavors, and the Tiramasu one of the best I've had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“One of Truckee's best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

That said, the bar in this small mountain tourist town is not very high. On the plus side, I had a seasonal heirloom tomato salad that was as good as you can get. A ragu of various meats with polenta was more than decent, if not memorable. Curiously the dish was hotter than any food I have ever been served in a restaurant, a temperature I did not think possible with normal cooking. A ravioli dish was also good. On the negative, service was indifferent, a feature I took to be a residue of the restaurant's considerable popularity. Note that the ambiance is loud - not big-city loud by any means - but louder than I am looking for on a mountain vacation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Now that's Italian!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We just enjoyed an outstanding dinner at Pianeta. The atmosphere is marvelous. The house red wine was delicious. The housemade Italian sausage and veal meatballs in pesto with housemade pastas were both wonderful. The fresh Truckee sourdough bread was great. The service was excellent. We can't wait for our next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pianeta Ristorante also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Pianeta Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pianeta Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.