We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Top Five Meals...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pianeta Ristorante

Pianeta Ristorante
10096 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-0314
+1 530-587-4694
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 95 restaurants in Truckee
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bridge Street
Description: Pianeta is a cozy and inviting restaurant located in the heart of historic downtown Truckee, California. Since 1998, we have specialized in creating delicious Italian foods and homemade pastas while offering a stellar dining experience. Our menu features nightly specials inspired by the delicious cuisine of Northern Italy and boasts an impressive wine collection from California vineyards as well as classic Italian wines. At the bar, you will find an inviting atmosphere backed by premium liquor, aperitifs and one of the most popular happy hours in town (5:00-6:30 Monday thru Friday). Finally we pride ourselves on our welcoming friendly staff, warm eclectic old world ambiance and consistently remarkable cuisine. We always recommend reservations and we can accommodate larger parties, please call for more information.
Placerville, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the Top Five Meals...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Honestly, this HAS to be one the top five meals I've ever eaten.

This wasn't my wife's fresh baked bread...
This wasn't my mom's home cooking (don't ask, it involves Spam, just trust me, its amazing)...
This wasn't a juicy burger with extra crispy peppered bacon...
This wasn't a chicken garlic deep dish pizza from Chicago Fire...

But hands down it was the best, most authentic Italian meal I have ever had.

Great meal, great bar, great atmosphere, friendly attentive servers, what more could you ask for?

We will definitely be repeat customers, every time we go to Truckee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    75
    31
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Our old favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is where we eat when we are passing through Truckee. Our most recent meal was excellent, as always. I had the chicken cannelloni and it was fantastic. My husband had the veal meatballs with pasta, and they were actually a little too spicy. The service is always very good, and last night was no exception. They have an extensive wine list, several offered by the glass, and more varieties of beer than one can imagine. The ambiance is comfortable and intimate, especially if you are able to sit in one of the booths. This is a very good choice for eating out in Truckee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
1 review
“Fave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Simply my fave restaurant in Truckee. The quaint rustic setting, candle lite, great wine selection. Yum.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great restaurant + great company= wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The service was extremely attentive and friendly. We share d a delicious bottle of Sauvignon blanc recommended by our server (and it was not the most expensive bottle on the list!) Our food was really good. Our one vegetarians was pleased with his meal (but then he had been here many times before and knew what he liked!). For me, It was the first time. The atmosphere is very romantic. My food was very good. I definitely recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This small Italian place has a good first impression. The atmosphere is nice and the waiting staff are friendly. The only down side is the price of the food. It is defiantly overpriced. Overall, this restaurant might be worth a visit.

PS Get the ribeye

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pianeta Ristorante also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Pianeta Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pianeta Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.